Letters to the Editor

Letter: Grand Avenue bridge plan is sheer madness

August 25, 2014 — 

Further to the question of the proposed new Highway 82 bridge over the Colorado River, I submit that funneling all the valley’s traffic through downtown Glenwood Springs would be like running I-70 down Colfax Avenue in Denver. Sheer madness. Don’t do it.

Jim Breasted

Learn more »

Letter: Use your head, don’t be a pain in the rear

August 25, 2014 — 

To those of you choosing not to wear helmets when biking:

Yes, you’re right, it’s your choice to increase the risk of head injury or death. But it’s a selfish one. Think about your young child or children who need you the way you are, not a vegetable. No young kids? Think about your friends and family who you would be burdening with your helplessness or breaking their hearts by dying on them.

Learn more »

Letter: Vote for Sullivan

August 25, 2014 — 

Voting for Michael Sullivan makes sense to me after reading Monday’s Post Independent articles titled “Oil and Gas conversation” and “How Colorado came to a fracking compromise.” My wife and I attended Saturday’s “Oil & Gas conversation” forum finding it both informative and constructive. There are several take-aways for me.

First it is vital to have local stakeholders sitting at the proverbial table when discussing mineral extraction and its consequences. Secondly, it is just as vital that these same participants approach that table with civility and respect for one another. It is a must to hold local discussions for stakeholders because as several of the presenters on Saturday’s panel pointed out, every health concern, every well and well pad, every mineral company, and every location is unique and will present unique problems. The “Colorado compromise” article tells me that when stakeholders sit down together in a civil and informed environment compromise can be reached.

Learn more »

Letter: Turn your backs to Grand Avenue

August 24, 2014 — 

I have lived in Glenwood Springs nearly 20 years, five of those in the downtown core. I moved here in 1995, taking a job as the Garfield County land use planner. While I no longer do that job, I have been an active and passive participant in land use planning projects locally and regionally.

The first thing they teach you in “planning school” is to put all ideas and options on the table for consideration. Then whittle those ideas down, for whatever reason — too wacky, too costly, not politically expedient, etc. — and what is left is the solution.

Learn more »

Letter: Junior Achievement’s successes need support

August 24, 2014 — 

In the 2012-13 school year, Junior Achievement provided financial literacy programs in 126 classrooms in the Roaring Fork Valley, impacting 2,621 local students. Our goal is to raise enough funds and recruit volunteers to impact even more classrooms with Junior Achievement programs in 2013-14.

Students who have Junior Achievement in their classrooms will have the benefit of meeting outstanding leaders from our business community. These leaders serve as consultants to meet with the students for five sessions of 30-45 minutes. These volunteers are supplied with prepared educational material that correlates to what is being taught in the classroom, while using hands-on activities to make learning fun. They share real-life situations they have experienced, bringing the work world to the classroom.

Learn more »

Letter: Elected officials need a common-sense test

August 24, 2014 — 

This is in regard to the recent complaints about the DMV office in Glenwood Springs.

I recently discovered that my driver’s license had been expired for over one year, so I drove to the Glenwood Springs DMV office to have it reissued. I waited for about two hours and was informed that I would have to take the written and driving tests as well as the eye test, even though I have had no traffic violations or accidents for over 30 years, have been a citizen of this country for all of my life, have no disabilities and never been convicted of a crime and have over 50 years of driving experience.

Learn more »

Letter: Cartoon misrepresented Missouri events

August 24, 2014 — 

If the cartoon of Aug. 20 represents your current assessment of law enforcement in America, what cartoon are you going to run when the officer has been found justified in defending himself? Six foot four and 290 pounds is NOT a child.

Your reporting of the progressive media’s representation of the events in Missouri is so obviously obfuscated that it contains no credibility regarding the actual events. I truly hope you never need a police officer. If you do, is he/she allowed to have a gun?

Learn more »

Letter: Children at the border shrink our slice of the pie

August 24, 2014 — 

After reading “Illegal immigration has placed our country on trial” I wish to thank Mr. Kellogg for his well-researched article. He speaks for the majority in America, which includes legal immigrants here.

Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) is 100 percent an Obama amnesty creation.

Learn more »

Letter: Stopping Grand Avenue bridge won’t build a bypass

August 22, 2014 — 

Thanks to the Post Independent’s recent editorial, and to Colorado Transportation Commissioner Doug Aden, for clearly pointing out what most of our community already knows: A State Highway 82 bypass is an unrealistic “fantasy” which, if it ever was feasible, long ago ceased to be a viable option for Glenwood Springs.

Here are just a few reasons:

Learn more »

Letter: Impressed by publisher’s personal responsibility

August 22, 2014 — 

It took a load of guts and a deep well of conviction for PI Publisher Mike Bennett to write his column that appeared Aug. 20. Talk about taking personal responsibility…

Gad, I’ve still got a lump in my throat after reading and re-reading it, and then pinning it to my bulletin board here at work.

Amy Barr

Rifle

Letter: Welcome back, Mary Boland

August 22, 2014 — 

It was a pleasure to hear (see?) Mary Boland’s clear and powerful voice back in the Post Independent. Fair mindedness, concise logic, true patriotism and concern for human welfare have always characterized her writing, and apparently they still do. Welcome back, Mary. I missed you.

Ron Kokish

Carbondale

Letter: New bridge means havoc for Glenwood

August 22, 2014 — 

I disagree with the conclusions of the Post Independent, Gov. Hickenlooper, CDOT and director Don Hunt, all the governments of Pitkin, Eagle and Garfield counties and especially the Glenwood Springs City Council.

As a lifelong resident of Glenwood Springs, I wish to remind people that Glenwood Springs was a robust destination resort when Aspen was a ghost town. As Aspen became the place in Western America to display your intellectual and financial success, it grew. The social costs of Aspen’s prosperity are flushed down to the communities below. Aspen requires many workers and tradesmen and has little housing for them. This load each day from downvalley to Aspen and back in the evening causes a gridlock on Grand Avenue and filters through our residential neighborhoods.

For at least 30 years, CDOT has been aware of the traffic problems on our Grand Avenue. The solution was to nibble away at the fronts of homes and businesses that line Grand Avenue. CDOT has spent somewhere between a half billion to a billion dollars in building a four lane highway to Aspen, a dead end. All this effort without doing anything about the constriction of traffic passing through 20 blocks of the historic townsite of Glenwood Springs. I think CDOT and Mr. Don Hunt are guilty of malfeasance.

We citizens beat an attempt some years ago to build a new bridge knowing it would end any effort to build a bypass. Today Glenwood’s city government and City Council are particularly weak, and present CDOT with a ripe opportunity for a new bridge. The citizens of Glenwood who live in the historic townsite have no friends in government. It is difficult to have a viable community with 27,000 cars and trucks passing through the core each day.

The new bridge will make the pass through Glenwood seconds faster in three years, but it will cause havoc to our citizens, tourists and businesses. The 20-block route through the town core will not change much, so today’s congestion will be there when the bridge is completed, except the traffic will increase in volume.

Our only defense, as citizens, is to accept CDOT director Don Hunt’s challenge and tell CDOT to build a bridge in some other deserving community. Let us not accept this attempt to mask 30 years of planning and budget errors with a non-solution solution.

So stand in the way of the new bridge until something concrete has been done to build a bypass.

“They brought death to our hometown boys, death to our hometown.”

— Bruce Springsteen

Gregory Durrett

Glenwood Springs

Letter: Rail corridor is not abandoned

August 22, 2014 — 

I believe that the majority of our citizens would like to see a bypass for Highway 82, as would I. The recent editorial in the Post Independent correctly stated that this is a long-term project that is not on the horizon at this time.

I do want to point out some facts about Mr. Prosence’s position about rerouting 82 onto the rail corridor. First that corridor is not abandoned, as Mr. Prosence believes. It is rail banked, which means that it must be maintained in a condition that would allow for reactivation of rail service in the future. While this may seem unlikely, it is necessary to preserve the entire corridor intact.

Secondly the corridor is owned by the Roaring Fork Transportation Authority, not the city of Glenwood Springs or the Colorado Department of Transportation, and decisions about it are made by the RFTA board of directors. Glenwood has one seat on that seven-member board, and the Colorado Department of Transportation has none.

Thirdly I’m told that condemnation cannot be used against a governmental entity like RFTA, so the corridor cannot be acquired by an eminent domain action.

Ted Edmonds

Glenwood Springs

Letter: A bypass is not the right solution

August 22, 2014 — 

I am following the evolution of the new Grand Avenue Bridge design with great interest and am a bit surprised at the recent surge in anti-bridge/pro-bypass sentiment. I certainly had my doubts at first but think the current design will be a great boon for Glenwood and our downtown in many different ways. I’m excited to see it happen.

More than a decade ago, I, too, was a bypass supporter because I loved the notion of less traffic downtown. The bypass was a hot topic during my campaign for City Council back then and so I spent considerable time researching the bypass by reading through piles of CDOT files and talking to many folks around town. I found that most people loved the idea of less traffic downtown, but I’d say most folks with whom I spoke did not support a bypass once we dug into the pros and cons. Like them, I decided a bypass simply wasn’t a good option for Glenwood.

For me a bypass is like heating Grand Avenue in order to keep it snow-free — sure it would be wonderful for limited times, but the environmental impact, cost to install it, and worse yet, the cost to maintain it, would be outrageous. The pros simply outweigh the cons by a large margin.

The nail in the coffin for me was the overwhelming evidence that building more traffic lanes to reduce or relocate congestion has proved over and over again to not only be futile, but punishing to the future generations that will foot the bill in terms of financial liability, compromised quality of life and environmental impact.

To me building a bypass sounds like a great solution, but it really simply kicks the transportation can down the road without solving much. I say let’s move on.

Dan Richardson

Carbondale

Letter: Elevated Highway 82 bypass is what’s needed

August 22, 2014 — 

Glenwood Springs needs an elevated Highway 82, running parallel with the east side of the Roaring Fork River from the Grand/Glen Avenue “Y,” over a new Colorado River bridge, to a reconstructed I-70 interchange. It’s been several years since the last cost estimate, but it was floating around in the neighborhood of $200 million.

Instead, the Colorado Department of Transportation wants a stunningly disruptive, and largely unproductive, reconstruction of the Grand Avenue Bridge — in large part because they have only $60 million to work with.

I don’t mind Doug Aden telling the community the state doesn’t have enough money for a bypass, but why doesn’t he tell them the difference could be made up with a regional transportation authority? For a fraction of what the valley spends on RFTA (organized as an RTA), all highway users would benefit in a proportion about 30-40 times the number of bus riders.

The environment created by removing through-traffic from the middle of downtown Glenwood Springs would probably return the cost of bypass construction just in increased property values.

Glenwoodians — stop dinking around down there and do something amazing.

Jeffrey Evans

Basalt

Letter: Downtown planning needs to consider pedestrians

August 22, 2014 — 

The bridge across the Colorado River involves many hours of planning from the input of specific interests. It will not be changed at this point.

Many voices speak. It is the planners with the money that talk. The conversation is skewed. So, live with the results, and build on what is.

For and in the interest of the citizens of downtown Glenwood, a simple mantra should hold: “Pedestrianize downtown.”

In the meantime, the new bridge will end at Eighth Street, in keeping with the rhythm of bridge progression up Grand Avenue. In that case, an extension or a new bridge in the future will supersede the business area completely, and effectively make downtown pedestrian-friendly.

As stated in a recent Post Independent article: Go with what is offered. Possibilities are still options, and don’t necessarily preclude vehicular accessibly and an Eighth Street extension to Midland.

At this point, despite awards, Glenwood would not be a candidate for Parade Magazine’s “America’s Best Main Street.”

Fred Stewart

Grand Junction

Letter: The business of community events

August 18, 2014 — 

Putting on public events is easier said than done. That feel-good rush of sharing talent and good times with a community soon loses its youthful blush and gives way to an angry shade of gray. It’s an interesting phenomenon that eventually creeps its way into passionate places.

Take the example of my good friend Bryan. He moved down-valley with his wife and soon had a family on the way. He loved Carbondale but, most importantly, he had to make money to support his family. He didn’t have time to volunteer or involve his clients in community as ways to market themselves. (He is in marketing).

Slowly, the Carbondale way bit him in the foot and he started observing the vibrancy that community events attracted and saw the value to involving himself, and his clients, in these events. This kind of marketing is a win-win situation and Bryan and his clients dove in deep. They went to meetings, volunteered their time, donated product and money and supported the community in ways they were asked. And it worked. Their businesses grew, Carbondale events grew as well.

Then a funny thing happened. Some people decided that all this visibility for these few businesses was not good, or they didn’t like the sponsorship banners at events or the noise or the choice of music or … you get the picture. You think you are doing something good and Its the classic ”I feel I am trying to help so why are all these folks angry at me”? feeling.

I have experienced this with Summer of Music concerts, James Surls has been on that end most recently and now my buddy Bryan. What concerns me in this most recent situation is the perception that a Crystal River Spas or Sopris Liquor and Wine banner is a negative thing. These are our local businesses who are investing in our community, as well as in their futures. These are businesses that we want to be successful. Even better, these are businesses that are willing to invest in community events. Yes, invest.

All these events take money to pull off, especially if the price tag is “free to the public.” The Town of Carbondale is a generous and wonderful partner in many of these events, but i can’t cover all the costs. This leads to the necessity for sponsorship and donations in covering the rest. Thank goodness we have businesses like the Village Smithy, Mi Casita, Pour House, Crystal River Spas, Sopris Liquor and Wine, Bonfire and The Agency, which put their money where their mouth is, not to mention hours of unpaid work to grow great events that attract folks and business to Carbondale.

Now we want to eat them alive for showing off their logo or banner during these events as if it is an affront. We promote “Buy Local” and believe in local business, so where is the disconnect? More importantly, where is our gratitude? Carbondale is a lovely melting pot of creativity, business, arts, nonprofits and humanity. Our strength is in our collaborations and respect for each other. Lets keep it that way.

Amy Kimberly, executive director

Carbondale Council on Arts and Humanities

Letter: Citizens to Save Grand Avenue weighs in

August 17, 2014 — 

The editorial that appeared in the Aug. 11 Glenwood Springs Post Independent on the Grand Avenue Bridge deserves a response.

It correctly states that “Trucks and other traffic still will disrupt the pedestrian friendliness and tourist ambiance of our downtown main street,” but fails to acknowledge that it is likely to destroy the lifeblood of Glenwood Springs’ economy. It also claims that a Highway 82 alternate route is not going to happen any time in the foreseeable future. This will be especially true if CDOT spends $110 million to accomplish its sole objective of getting the Grand Avenue bridge off its list of non-complying bridges.

Sure, CDOT is getting regional support for this project — Aspen and the Aspen Skiing Co., Pitkin and Garfield counties, Basalt and Carbondale are all for it. Its no skin off their noses, and they couldn’t care less about the damage Glenwood Springs will suffer, so long as the traffic keeps flowing for them. But will it? Wedding Highway 82 traffic to Grand Avenue (which the bridge project will perpetuate) will not relieve the congestion plaguing Grand Avenue — which is bound to become an even bigger problem than it is now.

There are only two ways to resolve the challenge of trying to move ever more Highway 82 traffic through Glenwood Springs: Eliminate the traffic signals on Grand Avenue and raise the speed limit to 40 or 50 mph; or construct additional lanes through town. Sooner or later, CDOT will be forced to make that choice. Which will you support? Incidentally, in its own Corridor Optimization Plan, CDOT has already acknowledged the need for additional traffic lanes through Glenwood Springs within the foreseeable future.

The editorial repeats CDOT’s scare tactics of river scour of the present bridge footings, the structural integrity and age of the bridge, and the hazard presented by the narrow lanes. The river scour problem can easily be solved by building a cofferdam and covering the footings with concrete. CDOT cannot be very concerned about the structural condition of the bridge, because it has no load limit placed on the trucks crossing it. Most of the bridges still serving the New York City area were built more than 80 years ago, including the Brooklyn Bridge, which has had it 130th birthday. And aren’t the 9-foot-8-inch lanes an effective traffic-calming device for Grand Avenue — just what everyone (except CDOT) wants to achieve? As for the proposed reconstruction of the Sixth Street area, who do you expect is going to pay for that, and how far into the future do you think it is likely to happen?

The advice the editorial offers to Glenwood Springs’ residents, visitors and businesses is like telling the victims of rape, “Oh, just get used to it.”

John Haines

chairman, Citizens to Save Grand Avenue

Letter: Money is there for Front Range projects, not Western Slope

August 15, 2014 — 

The question of cost for relocating SH 82 onto the railroad corridor keeps coming up with all sorts of wild figures offered. Back in 1979 the Centennial Report estimated the cost at less than $20 million. The portion of that project from 23rd Street to the river would be relatively low, mostly spent on retaining walls. The big cost is in redoing the interchange, which should be done anyway, as evidenced by the inclusion of interchange work in the long-range planning document for improvements to the I-70 corridor.

All of the above is the basis for some of us to argue that the river corridor alternative should be included and costs estimated as required by the Environmental Policy Act.

Money surprisingly becomes available for projects such as the twin tunnels at Idaho Springs, so why not for a badly needed project on the Western Slope?

Dick Prosence

Meeker

Letter: Sadly ... au revoir Derek Franz

August 15, 2014 — 

My heart is sad at the news of the demise of Derek Franz’s column.

There is a loss in this decision that goes deeper than the obvious one. Yes, Derek Franz is a good writer and good writing is becoming less and less prevalent in the news. But far more important is the loss of inspiration emanating from the freshness of expressed vulnerability.

When we are exposed to the authenticity of this our soul is nourished and we derive a boost of trust in these qualities in ourselves. Over time, we grow more brave in living from this center.

I have lived a long and rich life and I can attest to the immense value found in living life from the core of an authentic heart.

I anticipate a prolific writing career for Derek Franz and I shall follow its progress with great interest.

However, this newspaper has closed the window to the invigorating soul oxygen we experienced in Open Space.

For this I say, shame on you.

Michele Ermel

Glenwood Springs

Letter: Rethink the bridge; go around, over or under instead

August 15, 2014 — 

Thank you for publishing the letter from Nick Aceto on Wednesday, Aug. 13, decrying the proposed Grand Avenue bridge. I continue to oppose the construction of this bridge and agree with Mr. Aceto that, if it is indeed built, it will be the death of downtown Glenwood Springs.

The other day I took my first ride up the Glenwood Caverns gondola just to look at the view of the city. Clearly there should be a bypass for Highway 82 around, over or under the original townsite by an elevated highway along the slopes of Lookout Mountain or through a tunnel.

On Monday, Aug. 11, your paper opined that we should all just get behind the proposed new bridge construction and stop our bitching.

You should be ashamed of your sheer boosterism. The bridge as designed to carry Highway 82 traffic long into the future should not be built. The Aspen area will continue to attract people from all over the world and Grand Avenue should never be used to carry all the ensuing traffic for years to come.

Instead of cheerleading, the Glenwood Post Independent should be calling for a rethinking of transportation planning for the entire area at the confluence of the Roaring Fork and Colorado Rivers.

Jim Breasted

Carbondale

Letter: What if everyone in Garfield County voted?

August 15, 2014 — 

Tresi Houpt’s letter in the Aug. 8 issue pretty much told it like it is. I had previously read the Sullivan article as well and, sad to say, neither article surprised me. I expect many folks in Garfield County feel the same way when you have county representatives like we now have who have private meetings in adjoining states. Who twist, turn and deny their road repair intentions up Four Mile is simply to repair the needed road and bridges for safety, certainly not because a caravan of water trucks and oil tankers will be using it to promote oil and gas exploration in this contested location. When it is obvious their strong support by the oil industry is shown in their actions and they actually seem proud of it.

The rights of the citizenry as they have expressed through these actions pretty much says it all. Their first, second and last consideration seems for the oil industry, individual rights be damned.

The real question is: Why are they holding those offices they rule from? Do their backers carry that much clout when it comes to individual voting? Are people of Garfield County really supporting these individuals? Since they continue to be elected it must be true. Or is it simply a fact that people are not interested unless it personally effects their daily lives in a way they can see and feel it. It’s a busy world and most of the working class are working twice as hard and just don’t have time to be involved or concerned.

What if everyone actually performed their rightful duty as citizens and did actually vote? In order for our great democracy to function it was founded, protected and framed around the votes of the American people. So what if the overwhelming majority of legal voters in Garfield County actually cast their vote in elections? I doubt seriously you would be reading this article today. Why don’t we give it a try in the future? I think it would surprise everyone.

Jim Childers

New Castle

Letter: Grand Avenue bridge overdue for replacement

August 15, 2014 — 

Excellent editorial on the Grand Avenue bridge project. Concise, complete and a good reality check on the project. Ultimately, the bridge is overdue for replacement and catastrophic failure is a poor option.

Susan Rhea

Glenwood Springs

Free Press Letter: The question of morality

August 13, 2014 — 

In a recent letter (FP, 8/8/14), L.W. Hunley suggested that ink and paper could be saved if Robyn Parker’s liberal biased column was shortened. Hunley, using forced sarcasm, also asserted that Parker believes liberals to be morally superior to conservatives.

Having raised the question of morality, I decided to test Hunley’s assertion. For the test I compared crime statistics for Grand Junction, a decidedly conservative city, with Boulder, Colo, ostensibly a liberal city. Using 2013 crime statistics from each city’s police department, 13 crimes were judged comparable. In terms of absolute numbers, Grand Junction led Boulder in: Murder, rape, robbery, auto theft, fraud/forgery, vandalism and weapon violations. When adjusted for differences in population size, Grand Junction (pop. 59,868) also led Boulder (pop. 101,824) in burglary, assaults, DUI, and liquor violations.

Of the 13 crimes compared, Grand Junction led Boulder in 12; Boulder led Grand Junction only in aggravated assault. These data show overwhelmingly that conservatives are much more likely to commit immoral acts (i.e., crimes) than liberals, and therefore Hunley’s sarcastic claim (that conservative hold the moral high ground) is incorrect.

The value of an opinion depends on the evidence that supports it. Otherwise it may not be worth the ink and paper required to print it.

John Jenkins, Ph.D.

Grand Junction, Colo.

Letter: Balance needed on climate change

August 12, 2014 — 

I see a educational session is scheduled on climate change for Aug. 12. Someone should organize a parallel program pointing out the fallacy of “human-caused” global warming. It’s only fair.

Dick Prosence

Meeker

Letter: Bridge will be demise of downtown Glenwood

August 12, 2014 — 

The proposed Grand Avenue Bridge in Glenwood should be a case study in what not to do.

The proposed bridge, really a Robert Moses style flyover, will almost certainly completely decimate any semblance of urban vitality in the GWS core.

If the average driver exiting I-70 is patient enough to navigate the sprawling pretzel of ramps and roundabouts they find themselves zooming several stories above the former Sixth Street retail corridor and Colorado River at 50 miles per hour only to be deposited to what’s sure to be a glut of rumbling, carbon belching motors at the upvalley end of Glenwood. I shudder to think about the poor, unlucky few pedestrians waiting in vain to cross the new Glenwood freeway. Those willing to wait long enough to cross may find themselves deep in the dusty, groaning no-man’s land between the elevated roadway and,what will likely become mostly empty, faceless storefronts due to lack of visibility and unwalkable sidewalks.

As an urban designer, it’s hard not to draw parallels between the 1960s era freeway overpasses that famously bisected and ultimately segregated so many American cities in favor of the automobile. Most planners and designers today would agree that walkability is key to the success of cities large and small. This overpass, if realized, will almost certainly be the demise of downtown Glenwood.

All this and only a $100 million price tag. A real shame when a better solution would cost merely a fraction while enhancing the pedestrian-retail environment and making downtown safer and more attractive. I’m sure there are more than a few local design firms, including my own, more than willing to share ideas if we could just find leaders willing to listen.

I encourage business owners, citizens, and city leaders to please take another look at the proposed overpass and ask CDOT to reconsider alternatives before it’s too late.

Nick Aceto

Basalt

Letter: Veterans open house set in Carbondale

August 12, 2014 — 

The Western Slope Veterans Coalition invites valley veterans and the community to attend our open house from 4:30-6:30 p.m. Tuesday, Aug. 19, at the Third Street Center, 520 Third St., Carbondale. The event is sponsored by the Center for Independence and Rocky Mountain Human Services/Western Slope Veterans Coalition. Join us to celebrate the opening of our new office and the expansion of services in the Roaring Fork Valley.

Come to explore our veterans support programs for PTSD, traumatic brain injury, homelessness and suicide prevention.

Our staff will be present to inform attendees how community members can get involved in supporting our returning military veterans. For more information, contact Dick Merritt at 970-927-5178 or John Pettit at 970-379-0165.

Lt. Col. Dick Merritt

Basalt

Join Lassy Village to help find missing kids

August 10, 2014 — 

In October 2012, our state’s heart broke at the loss of Jessica Ridgeway. She was a sweet, 10-year-old fifth-grader at Witt Elementary School in Westminster and was kidnapped on her way home from school.

​Unfortunately, this story is very common in the world today. About 800,000 children go missing each year.

Now, we have the power to protect children from abductions with The Lassy Project.

​Here are some definitions:

You (noun): A person willing to stop what he or she is doing to help locate a missing child nearby. A group of you make up the Lassy Village.

Lassy Village (noun): A group of people who form an instant search and rescue team for a missing child. They are notified in seconds and can drastically increase the chances of finding the child quickly.

The Lassy Project is a free application for your iOS or Android smart phone. At the press of a button, parents can have hundreds of people looking for their missing child.

Parents program their child’s route to places like school, the park or a friend’s house.

The Lassy Project will alert parents immediately if a child goes off route.

If the child is missing, parents may escalate the alert to notify the Lassy Village.

The Lassy Project will notify villagers near the missing child to help find the child quickly.

The bigger the Lassy Village, the safer the child. Protect kids from child abductions and join today.

It’s vital that we’re all involved and part of the Lassy Village.

Carli Dean

Glenwood Springs

Letter: Willey made big contribution to Kiwanis show

August 8, 2014 — 

I have been reading through the great article about the many contributions from Bob Willey to our community. There is one thing not mentioned in the article that I’d like to share. Glenwood Springs Kiwanis Club has been putting on the Stars of Tomorrow for quite a few years. Bob has been the emcee of the show for most of those years.

We’d like to give a big thank-you to the family for Bob’s participation and talent in this venue as well. Working backstage with Bob for many of those years, it was apparent he had prepared his remarks/material/timing ... all to make the show memorable for all who participated.

We’ll miss the Ollie and Sven jokes, the one-liners (all family friendly) and the stage presence that kept all of us on track.

Thanks again, Bob, from all of us.

Clayton Collier

Glenwood Springs Kiwanis Club

Letter: Look at alternatives to Grand Avenue bridge

August 8, 2014 — 

Your July 31 news article about the proposed new bridge in town should have been headlined “Bridge replacement now estimated to cost over $100 million.” Makes spending a few million on safety improvements to the existing bridge a real attractive alternative.

A terrible result of spending all that money on the wrong solution is that in the future 40,000-50,000 vehicles every day will be locked onto Grand Avenue, including 4,000-5,000 trucks, many carrying loads of hazardous materials to destinations up the Roaring Fork Valley. A very logical alternative exists using the abandoned railroad right of way. A proper design would provide a grade for a future railroad, if desired, a greenbelt from 23rd Street to the river, into which would be included a relocated bike/pedestrian path far superior to the current bikeway.

Wake up, Glenwood Springs citizens, in time to keep CDOT from destroying your town permanently.

Dick Prosence

Meeker

View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top