Letters to the Editor

Letter: Jordan Cover project needed

April 29, 2016 — 

We would like to thank both Blaine Pritchett, the Project Director for the Pacific Connector Gas Pipeline with Williams Company, and Bob Braddock, the senior project adviser for Jordan Cove LNG, for taking the time to update us on the progress of their project at the most recent Grand Junction Chamber of Commerce Energy Briefing.

As CMU students working toward a business degree with an emphasis in energy and land management, this matter concerns us greatly — as the future of the industry in the Western Slope is uncertain. The energy industry has been in decline over the last few years and has had an incredibly negative impact on the region’s economy. With the approval from FERC and other government regulatory entities, the construction of the connector pipeline and the LNG facility in Jordan Cove could revive the energy industry and bring back many of the jobs that have been lost in recent years.

Learn more »

Letter: Be kind to bees

April 29, 2016 — 

It’s spring and honey bees are on the move.

They’re going to spend the next month or so looking for new places to live as they swarm out after a long winter. Swarms are not dangerous and are considered docile, unless you try to hurt them, like any creature.

Learn more »

Readers Say Thanks

April 28, 2016 — 

RIDE gives a big thank you

Riding Institute for Disabled Equestrians says thank you to all the people who supported the fundraiser- documentary Playing with Magic at the Ute Theater. Special thanks to Alpine Bank, Vicki Lee Green Realtors, Columbine Ford, Mountain Waste and Recycling, and WingNutz. The Ute Theater is a great place to hold activities for the community. It was a heartwarming night, great food and the support was fantastic. The producer- Wayne Ewing was there to support us and discuss the film. We hope that RIDE continues to be an intricate part of this community and presents opportunities for everyone to participate in horse therapy.

Learn more »

Letter: Caloia doing poor job

April 28, 2016 — 

I wholeheartedly agree with Garfield County Sheriff Lou Vallario that DA Sherry Caloia is doing a poor job.

How many drug dealers has Lou busted that Sherry has set free by asking for ridiculously low bail? I haven’t read about any of them showing up for their day in court much less being convicted.

Learn more »

Letter: Excellent field trip

April 28, 2016 — 

Trajectory. We spend most of our parental life putting our kids on a trajectory for success. Success cannot be guaranteed, but we sacrifice and educate and show them through experience what a wonderful world they live in.

Glenwood Elementary School invited my volunteer wife and I on a field trip with third-graders to visit ACES and the Aspen Art Museum. Fifty children on a bus to Aspen is not for the faint of heart, but it is exciting and fun-filled with nonstop talking and laughing.

Learn more »

Letter: Upvalley free ride

April 27, 2016 — 

While people who live in Aspen wait 10 minutes to catch a bus to Snowmass Village, for free.

I live in Rifle and must wait hours at a time and pay $3 to go the same distance one way. Does it seem legit that $46.2 million was spent to give people who live in Aspen and Snowmass a free ride?

Learn more »

Letter: Vallario's real problem

April 27, 2016 — 

Let’s be honest. The only problem Lou Vallario has with the DA’s office is Sherry Caloia is a Democrat and he is a gun-toting tea partier.

If Sherry was a conservative, this issue would have never surfaced. It’s unfortunate that elected officials like Vallario can’t keep their political views from hindering them from performing their job without prejudice.

Learn more »

Readers Say Thanks

April 26, 2016 — 

Andy Lietz family appreciates community support

Renate and Martin Lietz, mother and brother of Andy, thank all of his friends in the Glenwood Springs and Carbondale community. Your prayers and love have helped to ease our loss. We would especially like to thank all the staff of The Orchard church, Habitat for Humanity, Sunsense Solar, Chamber of Commerce, nurses, doctors and Hospice. 

Learn more »

Letter: Allow ski school competition

April 26, 2016 — 

Dear Madame Secretary Penny Pritzker: As a billionaire, current commerce secretary and regular speaker at the Aspen Institute, you stated recently on NPR that President Obama wants the feds to encourage “competition.”

Great! If the president is really sincere, then start with telling White River National Forest bigwig Scott Fitzwilliams to allow multiple competing ski schools here in Aspen, Snowmass, Buttermilk, Aspen Highlands, Vail, Beaver Creek, Keystone and Breckenridge like the feds do in the Pacific Northwest on public lands.

Learn more »

Letter: Just subsidize housing

April 26, 2016 — 

Mr. Anderson makes some very valid points in his thoughtful objections to issuing large-scale variances and impact-fee reductions to the proposed Oasis Creek housing development (GSPI, April 20). Citizens have spoken time and time again about their goal to preserve our small-town character: high-rise housing and parking overflows are not compatible with this vision.

We must face the fact that this area is just not conducive to the production of low-cost housing which, by nature, must be high density and high rise. Further, distorting our normal fee structures and building requirements to facilitate low-cost housing merely hides costs from the public and inflates costs for normal free-market housing.

If we truly want, or need, to subsidize housing let’s be honest and transparent about it and have a line item in city and county budgets titled “housing subsidies.” From this pool of money would be issued monthly checks to those whom we felt qualify for assistance. In this manner we can preserve not only our desired community character but also transparently achieve our desired level of housing subsidy. A corollary benefit of such a program is that it allows the subsidy recipient to live in the home of their choice and not be constrained to live in a government-designated location.

We do not need a grand public/private coalition of housing-related entities to fix the “housing crisis,” as suggested by the Post. All we need is the political will to define then enact a program that meets the community’s needs. We just voted money to subsidize teacher housing, so it seems the will is there.

Finally, let’s recall that the citizens of Aspen ultimately became so exasperated with their city issuing character- and neighborhood-destroying variances that they voted to severely restrict the city’s ability to do so. I hope it doesn’t have to come to that in Glenwood.

Michael Larime

Glenwood Springs

Letter: Kudos to Roaring Fork Youth Orchestra

April 25, 2016 — 

There is an extraordinary organization, the Roaring Fork Youth Orchestra, that provides the youth of this valley an opportunity to express themselves and achieve excellence. Their program has three levels of string ensembles to accommodate a broad range of ages, skill levels and locations. Children can study violin, viola, cello and bass. These students rehearse once a week in two locations in the valley.

They recently gave their spring concerts, free to the public. Each group performed, playing with such quality and professionalism. And they touched the hearts of the audience. Their final piece, played by everyone, created such a wonderful, warm sound to make the room vibrate.

If you have children in elementary grades to high school, please consider this wonderful organization for them. Led by Bill Capps, music director; Sarah Graf, Nancy Thomas, Brittani Brown and Ross Kribbs, mentors, all professional musicians, they bring a high level of education to their teaching. For more information, please visit the website: http://www.roaringforkmusicsociety.org.

Deborah Barnekow

El Jebel

Letter: Tipton ignores constituents

April 25, 2016 — 

Our communities have been working for years to engage Congressman Tipton in an effort to conserve valuable public lands in the Thompson Divide area. We’ve sent thousands of letters and emails to his office, but Congressman Tipton has ignored our concerns every step of the way.

Rep. Tipton has chosen to side with some of his largest campaign contributors — out-of-state oil and gas speculators — over the men and women he was sent to Washington to represent. He’s ignored our calls and our emails, and he’s chosen to move forward without us.

Just this month, Tipton circulated a draft bill for the Thompson Divide area that ignored our concerns once again. He’s proposing a giveaway to Texas oil companies that would simply shift the Thompson Divide problem from one community to another. He’s disregarded the thoughtful input and suggestions provided to him by Western Slope counties, and he seems intent on moving forward without local consensus.

Tipton has had six years to work with our communities. For six long years he’s refused to work with our communities to resolve our concerns. Why is it that he’s suddenly interested in pursuing legislation? The answer is clear to me: election-year politics.

Republicans and Democrats, ranchers and mountain bikers, hippies and snowmobilers have all weighed in with their support for protecting the Thompson Divide area. But Tipton has been absent from the conversation until now.

Stop playing politics with our local economies, Mr. Tipton.

Jason White

Carbondale

Letter: Save the planet; skip meat

April 24, 2016 — 

With the 47th annual observance of Earth Day just past, this is a great time to explore more effective ways of slowing climate change and conserving Earth’s natural resources for future generations.

A 2010 UN report charged animal agriculture with 19 percent of man-made greenhouse gases — more than all transport — and recommended a global shift to a vegan diet. A subsequent World Watch study placed that contribution closer to 50 percent. Meat and dairy production also dumps more water pollutants than all other human activities combined. It is the driving force in global deforestation and wildlife habitat destruction.

Last fall, England’s prestigious Chatham House declared that reducing meat consumption is critical to achieving global climate goals. A report from Oxford University found that global adoption of a vegan diet would reduce greenhouse emissions by two-thirds. The 2015 U.S. Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee has recommended reduced meat consumption and an environmentally sustainable diet.

Just as we replace fossil fuels by sustainable energy sources such as wind and solar, we must replace animal foods with the more sustainable vegetables, fruits, and grains. Being mindful of this can help us make better choices at the supermarket.

Fred Stoddemeyer

Glenwood Springs

Letter: Keep Glenwood's cleanup

April 23, 2016 — 

I am never short of amazed at how public officials continue to have grandiose ideas about what their constituents need without listening or consulting us first — case in point the acting city manager, Mr. Andrew Gorgey, who recently announced what a great idea it would be to get rid of the city of Glenwood Springs’ annual curbside cleanup. Mr. Gorgey was quoted as referring to this service as time-consuming and costly, referring to the labor by city workers and the cost to the city, which was approximately $100,000 to $135,000 a year according to his recent analysis. His solution is simple: Get rid of this service.

I would simply like to know how many local residents Mr. Gorgey interviewed before making his comments, because everyone (about 50 people thus far) that I have talked to believe that the annual trash pickup is a great service and it would be ridiculous to stop it. This is the city’s one opportunity to have its residents help clean up the entire city. As stated in a previous letter to the editor, it is an excellent help for the elderly, the handicapped and those who have issues in either lifting or transporting items to the city’s dump; their only opportunity to do their part in beatifying the city of Glenwood Springs.

Also, in regards to the man hours and labor of city workers, isn’t this the slow period for city workers — that is, between plowing snow and the summer when their work picks up? Besides, aren’t we the ones who are paying their salaries already? Also, what can $100,000 buy in this economy? I would much prefer using it to clean up the city.

Finally, I would like to complement the code enforcement officer for the job that she does and believe that this service could only make her job a little easier (by the way, I understand that the city is presently conducting interviews for a second code enforcement officer — if that is true, then wouldn’t this annual curbside service make it a little easier for both officers in the future? This service is a not a bad idea; it’s a great idea, and if Mr. Gorgey would simply ask a few people their opinions, then he would quickly realize how good this service is and how everyone is in favor of it. The idea of removing one more of the few free services that the city offers its residents does not hit me as a very good idea. I’m sure that, sooner or later, the city will make up for the cost of this service through taxes as it has always done in the past.

Joe Infascelli

Glenwood Springs

Letter: Capturing methane pays

April 23, 2016 — 

It’s April and we’ve just gotten through tax season. We might grumble and complain, yet every year tens of millions of dollars of our resources are wasted from inefficient oil and gas operations on public lands. This is real value taken out of the pocket of U.S. taxpayers.

The loss, or wastage, of methane — vented, flared or allowed to leak from existing oil and gas operations — has prompted the U.S. Bureau of Land Management to put a rule in place to make sure taxpayers get a fair return off minerals severed from the public domain.

In Colorado, oil and gas operators have already been required by the state to control their methane waste. Without the rule, Colorado taxpayers still lose out in tens of millions in federal revenue, from more than $36 million of missing royalties in wasted gas over the last five years. With the rule, those funds would be split 51 percent to the federal treasury and 49 percent to the states. Colorado benefits by ensuring a fair return across all public lands in the West.

A majority of Colorado voters, of all political affiliations, favor a strong methane waste rule. Most probably don’t love filing tax returns. The prudent use and stewardship of our resources has broad and bipartisan appeal. The captured methane would pay a royalty to the American people.

Taxpayers would benefit from the revenue that returns to state and local governments from limiting waste and ensuring Americans gets a fair return.

Pete Kolbenschlag

Paonia

Letter: Heck of a prom gift

April 22, 2016 — 

Last Friday evening, my son and his date decided to drive from Rifle to Glenwood for dinner at The Pullman before his senior prom. When he returned home, he shared the story of a couple who gifted him and his date with paying for their dinner.

I just want to express my sincere thank you for contributing to my son’s senior prom with a generous and kind gesture that you did. It made his memorable evening more special, and I sincerely am grateful to you for that.

Jeff Krebill

Rifle

Letter: RFTA's future with Garfield County

April 22, 2016 — 

Soon-to-be gone Roaring Fork Transportation Authority board member and Carbondale Trustee John Hoffman’s outburst against Garfield County Board of Commissioners (“Official: Cut off Garfield County,” Post Independent and Aspen Times, April 15) along Aspen Mayor Steve Skadron’s belligerence in stoking the hot coals hotter just wasn’t my cup of tea as other RFTA board members lost control of their ids.

When I had my chance to speak to the RFTA board members on the issue I excoriated them in defense of the Garfield County Board of County Commissioners. Also I explained to them the principles of reasonable initial negotiating at the table and viewing and accepting things from the Garfield County official stance.

Of course, I foresee the possibility of the RFTA board, if they are wise enough, shifting substantial power and influence from the Aspen socialist collective to the deserving and fiscally prudent board of Garfield County commissioners led by the erudite John “Wyatt” Martin.

Why? Any academic can note the signs of the Aspen-Pitkin County axis waning sustainability as the region’s power, money influence and vigorous business capital formation shift in favor of Garfield County.

Garfield County is the undeniable regional start-up engine for dynamic economic and cultural growth for tomorrow.

RFTA’s future is with Garfield County, not Pitkin County.

Emzy Veazy III

Aspen

Letter: 'They only want to win'

April 22, 2016 — 

I just watched “Confirmation” on HBO. I was riveted by the re-enactment of the proceedings that I still remember quite well from 1991 of the Clarence Thomas/Anita Hill Senate Hearings. The question at the time was “Who did you believe?” I know that I believed Anita Hill, and could not believe that the Senate could confirm a man to the Supreme Court after the very credible allegations made against him.

But now, with 25 years more of watching the political situation in this country I understand why the Senate did. It was stated in the show. “They don’t care. They only want to win.” The party who nominated Thomas continued to support him only because he was their guy. It had nothing to do with whether he was fit for the position of a Supreme Court justice. Instead they looked for ways to discredit the victim – someone who didn’t want to come forward to begin with and had no agenda.

I am not giving the other side of the aisle a pass on this, either – they didn’t want to address this issue for their own reasons, which did not include addressing the truth of the matter or the integrity of the nominee.

We need people in government who will do the right thing – not the right thing for their party, or what is politically expedient for themselves. I hope we all can agree on that, liberal or conservative.

Donna Yost

Glenwood Springs

Letter: Cut methane waste

April 21, 2016 — 

Living in Battlement Mesa, I am very familiar with the impacts of oil and gas development, including the utter waste of this resource that occurs when operators flare excess gas off their sites. In 2011, we could see a flare in Parachute that probably burned off enough gas in one day to power our community for a month. It is hard to believe that the rules allow for such waste while at the same time the companies are seeking to drill in our community, threatening people’s health and wellbeing, developing the same resource that was treated as waste.

In 2014, people across this state came together and passed some of the strongest air quality rules to curb methane waste in this country. These rules have been effective and affordable to implement for industry.

However, as we are making strides to clean up our air in Colorado, we cannot do it alone. Unless strong nationwide rules are enacted, pollution from neighboring states with active industry easily crosses into our air shed. All residents of our country should benefit from improved rules to cut emissions and to stop the unnecessary waste of our nation’s natural resources.

Greater health studies about the impact of well production chemicals point to possible negative effects on human health. We can’t forget that other chemicals, like the BTEX group, are also released into the air from a gas pad. While a release from one well may not seem problematic, what are the cumulative impacts from thousands of wells? More science is needed; so reducing methane waste is a needed cautionary action.

In conclusion, we appreciate the BLM for proposing these rules. However, we believe that the rules could be strengthened in four key areas:

1) Requiring quarterly inspections of sites to prevent leaks.

2) Ensuring operators are using the best available technologies.

3) Increasing the limits on flaring and tightening exemptions.

4) And ensuring that there is a strong plan to enforce these rules.

Betsy A. Leonard

Parachute

Letter: The good, the bad and the ugly

April 21, 2016 — 

The good: Citizens of Garfield County decided years ago to elect a sheriff who would protect and serve us. I’m sure many of you were skeptical at first, as was I, but if we can remember back when Lou Vallario was elected, the county was under a fast-paced growth spurt. With growth naturally comes a crime spurt.

Lou was able to build a Sheriff’s Office that kept up with the growth and the crime and now Garfield County Sheriff Department is known nationwide as one of the best. He will tell you it’s not him — it’s the people he has hired, which is the truth. Our deputies are highly trained for the worst-case scenarios imaginable, down to helping you change a flat tire on some backcounty road.

The bad: Citizens and visitors to our county are all for a DA like Sherry Caloia who doesn’t prosecute crimes that our Sheriff’s Office has brought to her desk. Crime is business and if criminals know they can conduct business and not get punished for it, that will create more business for them, which will bring more crime to our county.

The ugly: The I-70 corridor runs right through the middle of our county, which brings ugly things from both directions. We have a strong Sheriff’s Office that will protect us from the ugliness trying to get into our county, but it needs our support in electing someone who will prosecute the crimes that they make arrests for.

If you read the front page of the Post Independent on April 15, you will see that our sheriff and our deputies are frustrated and annoyed knowing that they are ready and willing to put their lives on the line for us making arrests only to see a lot of these criminals walk away and not be prosecuted. The Garfield County Sheriff’s Office has had our back and now it’s time for us to have their back and elect a DA standing for “district attorney” like it’s supposed to and not “don’t arrest.”

Bill West

New Castle

Letter: Oasis apartments needed

April 20, 2016 — 

Glenwood Springs is being presented with the opportunity for a very financially capable private developer to provide a solution for a dire need in our community. Richmark, which has already purchased and greatly improved the Antlers Best Western Hotel in Glenwood, is now offering to build a 116-unit apartment building comprising one- and two-bedroom units specifically designed to meet the needs of our workforce. As you are all aware, the extreme lack of housing for our workforce since the recession has placed our community in a difficult position.

My firm employs several dozen administrative staff and maintenance personnel to whom we pay in some cases high wages to offset the distance these folks often times must travel to get to our offices. Many of these folks and other employees in our market in similar roles come from Parachute, Dotsero and Gypsum because they can’t find housing in Glenwood or Carbondale. This is difficult for them and drives up the cost of living here for everyone as these higher wages are simply passed on to the consumers in market. You are all aware of the problems for all employers that this is causing and how limiting this is to our economic stability.

While the density of the proposed Oasis Creek project may be greater than City Council members may have initially envisioned for this site, this complex is desperately needed by our business community as well as by teachers, police, fireman and all manner of critical services employees in our community. I urge you to allow this project to go forward and to encourage Richmark to go as quickly as possible to bring this needed housing to our workforce, who will be deeply grateful for a place to live that is so centrally located, on a bus route and close to great schools and fine churches.

I know councilors are keenly aware of the housing crisis in our community and I know all of them want to solve this problem. They are presented with a private developer who can offer significant help solving this challenge and I know they all will do what they can to make this work for all of us.

Craig R. Rathbun

President and managing broker, Fleisher Real Estate

Letter: Praise for Chief Wilson

April 20, 2016 — 

Thank you, Police Chief Terry Wilson, for taking time out to have coffee with and meet the Glenwood Springs citizens last week in front of the library. I enjoyed talking with you and have known you for many years.

I commend you for this public event taking time out of your busy schedule. I know you do not have a “cushy” 9-to-5 job, five days a week like most of us citizens have. Yours is a 24/7 because crime is a 24/7. I know you have capable assistants who fill in for you so you can have a family life, but I have seen you involved in every action and police case as the diligent servant you are.

We citizens would be wrong to tie officers’ hands in the administrating of their duties during a crime. An officer has a fraction of a fraction of a second to decide whether to pull his gun, his Taser or use physical force to control the perpetrator, which could result in a debilitating leg injury from being kicked, he could be fatally shot or have the citizens upset with him for “cruelly” using a Taser.

I would not want that choice. So citizens of this great city, please let the officers protect and serve us as we require, but in their own trained ways to protect themselves and us citizens. I challenge each city council member to rotate their service to have a cup of coffee moment in front of the public library once a week for two hours so we can ask you the questions that Police Chief Wilson was asked, but he had nothing to do with that department in question. You do, city councilors.

Irvin Tilley

Glenwood Springs

Letter: Oasis is out of scale

April 19, 2016 — 

Are you aware there is a good chance that a massive residential development is coming to Glenwood Springs? The unprecedented size and density of the Oasis Creek Apartments should concern everyone with a stake in the future of Glenwood Springs. Our City Council is considering granting code variances that will allow the developer to proceed and build structures that are extremely out of scale for our small town.

The proposed development will be located where the Terra Vista motel once stood. The parcel lies at the intersection of Donegan Road and Highway 6 & 24.

Of the 11 variances the developer has applied for, two are especially notable. Currently the maximum building height that can be attained on the property is 35 feet. The developer is asking to build up to 61 feet, or 26 feet higher than the code allows. That is nearly double the height allowed by law. The developer has stated that without the extra stories in height, the project will not be profitable.

The second variance request is just as bad. While asking for more height, and thus more bodies, the developer is asking for a reduction in parking spaces. According to code regulations, he is required to provide 280 parking spaces for the proposed 116 apartments. The developer is requesting a reduction to 185 parking spaces. That’s 95 fewer spaces than code provides. The bordering streets, Highway 6 & 24 and Donegan, are two highly traveled streets that do not accommodate on-street parking.

City staff and the Planning and Zoning Commission have rejected the developer’s variance requests. It now goes to the City Council and, incredibly, there are councilors who would grant the variances and allow the project to proceed.

I don’t share the belief that more is better regarding our quality of life in Glenwood Springs. Stacking people in high rises will not make our town a better place to live. The council should consider what is best for Glenwood Springs and re-examine the “housing crisis.” This project, should it pass, will set negative precedents in our zoning and design codes as well as for unforeseen projects down the road.

If this causes you concern, I urge you to contact your council representative. Better yet, attend the April 21 council meeting.

Rob Anderson

Glenwood Springs

Letter: RFTA math problems

April 19, 2016 — 

In a recent PI article, RFTA stated that the Maroon Bells bus system needs to be subsidized $88,000 per year. It also stated that last year, 174,202 people rode the bus. So $88,000 divided by 174,202 is a 50-cent per person shortfall.

In the same article, they are saying 1) RFTA is considering raising the tickets approximately $3-$4 per person, and 2) some families might not be able to afford the new price.

If RFTA raises the price by $3 each (six times as much as the $0.50 per-person shortfall), RFTA will receive more than $520,000 more if one assumes the same ridership numbers – which is a lot more than the subsidy of $88,000 (again, about six times as much). In addition, if one assumes a family of four, the increase is $12 for the entire family, or a total of $32 for them to ride the bus (two adults two kids at $9 and $7 each).

The Glenwood Caverns & Adventure Park charges $50 per adult and $45 per kid, for a total of $195 for this same family of four to visit the park. That’s six times as much as the family bus trip to Maroon Bells. Yet multitudes of families apparently can afford the park.

I’m pretty sure $32 is affordable for a family of four to visit the Maroon Bells. But the real question is this: Where did they come up with the $3-$4 increase? Seems like funny math to me.

Dave Heyliger

Glenwood Springs

Letter: Republicans are pro-woman

April 18, 2016 — 

Hillary Clinton says “We lose 90 people a day from gun violence.” So we must go after the NRA. Planned Parenthood murders 3,000 babies a day and Hillary says we must give them half a billion dollars of taxpayer money a year. Make sense to anyone?

Pro-abortionists believe “it” is not a baby but just a fetus. With that thinking, Hillary Clinton’s daughter is only pregnant with a fetus. Hillary is the proud grandma to a “fetus.” I wonder if Hillary would support her daughter if she opted for an abortion?

An abortion dismembers the body of a baby inside the womb. The remains are then disposed of by means of a red hazardous waste bag or a toilet.

I once worked at a sewer plant in Silverthorne. The workers were all laughing and called me over to look. There was a huge balloon bouncing along with the sewage. They explained to me it was a condom that was flushed down the toilet. With all the twists and turns the air had blown it up. Since you know where I’m going with this, I don’t need to say it. Sewer plant workers see a lot of things floating by them and it’s not just raw sewage.

This is not a pretty picture, but neither is the pre-birth of a baby that doesn’t have a chance at life.

There are many options for women with an unwanted or an unplanned pregnancy. All you have to do is look in the Yellow Pages. The first listing in any phone book is for “abortion alternatives.”

Democrats say that they are pro-woman and Republicans are anti-woman. The exact opposite is true. Republicans respect life for all races, ages and genders. They respect all life including those in the womb.

If pro-woman is the mantra for the Democrats why are they not also pro-man? Why aren’t men complaining for equal time with the Democrats?

Life is the same for Hillary’s grandchild or any other baby. Life is precious, we have only one life to give.

The pre-born also need respect, not a mere flush.

Judy Campbell

New Castle

Readers Say Thanks

April 18, 2016 — 

On March 26th, our family and friends held a benefit for my son Peter Kreft-Mercer at The Eagles Club F.O.E. #215 in Glenwood Springs. Our goal was to offset the expenses related to Peter’s diagnosis and subsequent treatment for a malignant brain tumor. The benefit was a tremendous success, and the entire family would like to thank the many caring groups, businesses and individuals who offered their support by attending the benefit, by their generous donations, by their participation in the silent auction, and through their personal contributions of time and effort, without which the benefit would not have been possible. The entire family thanks you for all that you did to make the evening a success – and more importantly – for reminding us all of the amazing results that can be achieved when the community comes together to help one of their own. 

While it would impossible to thank everyone involved by name, we do want to mention the following: The Eagles Club F.O.E. #215, who donated their facilities for the benefit; The Eagles Ladies’ Auxiliary, who prepared over 100 delicious spaghetti dinners; both The 19th Street Diner and Uncle’s Pizza, who donated the food for the dinners; The Fifty/50 Band (with guest performer Louis Girardot, of Louis & the Lizards) who provided musical entertainment; Dave Malehorn, of Professional Auto Body for sponsoring advertising related to the benefit; KDNK, KMTS, KSNO, KUUR and The Sopris Sun for airing radio spots and publishing ads for the benefit; Berthod Motors, Glenwood Caverns, Iron Mountain Hot Springs, Ski Sunlight, The Redstone Inn, The Village Smithy, The Crystal Theatre, Long Tall Mike’s Home for Wayward Guitars, Rosi’s Little Bavarian Restaurant, Downtown Drug, Sopris Liquors, Glenwood Brewpub, Starbucks, Carbondale Car Care, Glenwood Music, Kanpai Sushi, The Timbo Family, Ironbridge Golf Club, and the many other individuals and businesses who, through their generous donations, made the silent auction an incredible success! Special thanks to Marny Nedlin, Schei Adams, Janet Muttillo, Tammy Reynolds, and Peggy DeVilbiss for their love and special help.

With our deepest appreciation,

Tom Mercer, on behalf of Peter’s entire family

Letter: Congrats to Silverstein

April 17, 2016 — 

Congratulations to the newly elected Carbondale town trustees (“New Carbondale trustees in town,” Post Independent, April 6), especially Marty Silverstein of the U.S. Postal Service.

Why?

Marty Silverstein graduated from DeWitt Clinton High School in the Bronx. He adds himself to the illustrious roster of hundreds of DeWitt Clinton H.S. graduates like these guys.

Here we go: William Kunstler, Burt Lancaster, Laurence A. Tisch, Charles Rangel, Countee Cullen, Bob Kane, Sherwood Schwartz, Sugar Ray Robinson, Stan Lee, Judd Hirsch and Ralph Lauren.

Go on Marty Silverstein from DeWitt Clinton High School in the Bronx, New York. Congratulations, my man Marty! We applaud you.

Emzy Veazy III

Aspen

Letter: Thanks to the Glenwood City Council for wisely deciding to continue the city's annual spring cleanup

April 17, 2016 — 

Yes, it’s expensive, and occasionally subject to abuse. No doubt it can be improved and streamlined.

But I suspect most residents would agree that, for the most part, it’s money well spent, and one of the most tangible and appreciated benefits we receive each year from the city. It leaves our community cleaner and healthier for those of us who live here, and more attractive for the many visitors who help to support our local economy.

Much of the branches and organic matter that are collected are shredded and composted for reuse, while by consolidating the materials collected into fewer, larger truckloads, dozens of smaller vehicle trips to the city landfill are avoided.

The cleanup also fosters a small industry of industrious recyclers, who cruise the neighborhoods ahead of the city’s collection trucks salvaging lawnmowers, lumber, furniture and other household items that can be repaired, reused or repurposed. In my neighborhood, in fact, we often call it the annual “swap.”

As for improvements, we can probably do better at limiting the time collectibles can be left on the curb before pickup, although the current schedule allowing a mere two or three days for most cleanup zones seems a bit restrictive. Perhaps a week is enough time?

Likewise, we can all help by keeping an eye out for those unloading debris in front of other people’s homes (get their license number if possible), and by monitoring nearby piles for tires, TVs, paint, motor oil and other hazardous materials. Violators can be reported to the city at springcleanup@gwsco.gov or by leaving a voicemail at 384-6336.

Meantime, let’s all be sure to show our gratitude to city crews when they arrive to clear our neighborhoods. They’re under pressure to get the job done quickly and thoroughly, and anything we can do to make their jobs easier would no doubt be appreciated.

Russ Arensman

Glenwood Springs

Letter: Making our community better

April 16, 2016 — 

Last month English In Action held its annual tutor celebration dinner. I’d like to take a moment to offer my deepest gratitude to the 160 individuals who volunteered for English In Action last year. Our volunteer tutors meet for approximately an hour a week one-on-one or in small groups with adults community members who want to improve their English skills.

Although the time commitment is minimal, we see measurable improvement in the language skills of 95 percent of our participants. Our students also tell us that, as result of their improved English, they are able to get better jobs; becoming more involved in their children’s education; earn GEDs or citizenship; and much, much more.

While our valley has significant cultural divides, our volunteers break down those barriers each day by making a connection with a person of different background. I am reminded of a quote I recently found on volunteering by an unknown author:

“Volunteering is the ultimate exercise in democracy. You vote in elections once a year, but when you volunteer, you vote every day about the kind of community you want to live in.”

English In Action’s volunteers are truly helping to make our community a better place for all of us. Last year our volunteers worked with more than 260 students, but they had a positive ripple effect on thousands of family members and community members who come into contact with our students each day.

That said, with no advertising on our part, English In Action currently has a waiting list of more than 130 people who would like a volunteer tutor. We have launched a campaign to train up to 70 new tutors in 2016 in order to reduce the time that people spend on our waiting list.

For information, call 970-963-9200 or email info@englishinaction.org if you are interested.

Lara S. Beaulieu

Executive director, English In Action

New support group

April 16, 2016 — 

I am happy to share with everyone I’m starting a new support group in Glenwood starting May 18.

It’s called PAL — Parents of Addicted Loved Ones. This group will meet from 6:30-8 p.m. Wednesdays at the First United Methodist Church at 824 Cooper Ave.

The group has a great education aspect to it. You are not alone. I am the mother of a meth addict. It has been a tough eight-year journey.

I really struggled with how to help my daughter until I finally realized I need to fix myself. Addiction is a tough disease and the problem is only growing. I am so very happy to be able to offer my time to help the families that are struggling through this.

Linda Pierson

Basalt

View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top