Letters to the Editor

Letter: Bravo to 'Fiddler on the Roof'

November 24, 2015 — 

Our local thespians have knocked it out of the park again. We are so lucky to have such incredible talent in our community — and this is a wonderful example of it.

Thanks for all the hard work of the entire crew — well done.

Learn more »

Letter: Have a cruelty-free feast

November 24, 2015 — 

While President Obama is pardoning two turkeys for Thanksgiving, every one of us can exercise that same presidential power by choosing a nonviolent Thanksgiving observance that spares a turkey’s life.

And here are some good reasons:

Learn more »

Letter: Awaiting a Third Great Synthesis

November 24, 2015 — 

This is a time of synthesis — a time of coming together as the heart of humanity opens to the sacredness and oneness of all life inspired now by the crises that separation and the negation of life have brought forth onto the world stage.

The three-day harvest celebration at Plymouth Plantation in 1621 and the 54 years of peace and friendship that followed between the Mayflower Pilgrims and the Pokanoket Wampanoag Indians was an extraordinary exception to human behavior before or since. It was the First Great Synthesis that gave birth to American democracy and the American mind and spirit; an inspiring origin story of what has yet to become a great nation that lives up to its vision and its promise.

Learn more »

Readers Say Thanks

November 23, 2015 — 

Great care from pool, hospital, EMTs

Thank you Valley View Hospital and Hot Springs Pool Lifeguards and EMTs.

Learn more »

Readers Say Thanks

November 22, 2015 — 

Brickell fundraiser helps GSHS wrestling program

Thank you Glenwood Springs and the Roaring Fork Valley. As the 2015-16 GSHS wrestling season gets under way, we wanted to take this opportunity to thank all of you for your support and donations to the Cody Brickell Memorial Miniature Golf Fundraiser in September. We raised around $5,000, which will be spent on travel, scholarships, uniforms and equipment. It would be almost impossible to run this program without your assistance. Competition and winning in the sport of wrestling has been very evident in the GSHS wrestling program over the years, but the main purpose of the GSHS wrestling program is to use the sport of wrestling as a vehicle to teach young men and women about the virtues needed to succeed in life. Your support helps make this happen. It was so good and comforting to see so many familiar faces from the past members of the “wrestling family” and current ones, as well. For those of you that came and played miniature golf, it sure made for a fun, family-oriented day. The owners of Johnson Park were very gracious in allowing the wrestling team to use their facility for this fundraiser. What a wonderful community we live in, and thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

Learn more »

Letter: Costs of abortion

November 22, 2015 — 

Front page news headline: Planned Parenthood crowdfunding nears $24K.

According to plannedparenthood.org, an abortion “Costs up to $1,500 in the first trimester, but often less.” Some simple math tells us that this $24,000 could be used for 16 human abortions. Of these 16, one could have grown up and invented something you need. Of these 16, one could have grown up and protected your freedoms. Of these 16, one could have become a doctor who someday saves your life.

Learn more »

Letter: Barbaric choices

November 21, 2015 — 

I would personally like to thank each of the Garfield County commissioners for their decision to defund Planned Parenthood. I can hardly believe the negative letters featured with large headlines in the Glenwood Springs Post Independent. I can’t help but believe that the majority of citizens who have seen the recent reports concerning Planned Parenthood would agree with their decision. However, it appears that ones who disagree seem to have plenty of money to spare to fund whatever they choose, so even if the barbaric business had not been exposed, it shows that taxpayers’ money was not needed.

No culture has lasted long once they lose all moral consciousness concerning the sacrifice, torture and killing of their innocent and most vulnerable children. Is this not barbaric? Do the supporters of Planned Parenthood really understand that over 55 million unborn babies have been needlessly and mercilessly murdered in the last few decades in the USA?

Learn more »

Letter: Praise for 'Fiddler'

November 20, 2015 — 

Defiance Community Players have presented another blockbuster musical.

It is difficult to grasp the measure of love, talent and energy expended by Wendy and Bob Moore, Chip Winn and Mike Wells, Jeanetta Howell and 60 or 70 others of all ages. “Fiddler on the Roof” is a musical for all time, but especially for this time with the world in turmoil.

Learn more »

Letter: Drive responsibly

November 20, 2015 — 

On Nov. 16, I was road raged by an R&A Enterprises truck.

You must have been asleep at the wheel to not notice the horrible driving conditions and the fact that everyone was going extra slow. Educated people know you can’t go very fast for very long on days like this.

Learn more »

November 20, 2015 — 

Readers Say Thanks

November 19, 2015 — 

Glenwood Police keep our community safe

On Nov. 11, a man was spotted dressed in black. He jumped our fence after hours, so 911 was called and my excited rant was handled calmly and professionally. Glenwood Police responded in minutes and caught the man in the parking lot of the shopping center next door after a short foot chase. Jim and Ingrid Hawkins and the tenants of Glenwood Self Storage thank all involved for making our community a safe place to live.

Jim and Ingrid Hawkins

Glenwood self storage

Another successful Ghost Walk

The Frontier Historical Society would like to thank everyone involved in making our 16th annual Ghost Walk a fabulous success. We were able to present living history to more than 700 visitors and locals over the three weekends of performances in October. Thank you to our sponsors Iron Mountain Hot Springs, High Country Gems & Minerals and the Glenwood Springs Tourism board.

Our appreciation goes out to so many people who made this all possible: Bob Boyle, Brendan Cochran, John Comerford, Tom Cochran, Lisa Domer, Paul Hamilton, Merrilee Hindman, John Hines, Bill Kight, Michael Miller, Patricia Stark, Emma and Sandy Stoltzfus, Hope Waibel, Tony Kornasiewicz, Justin Forman, John Gacnik, Julie Tinker, Steve Vanderleest, Anna Cochran, Jackie Skramstad, Sharon Graves, Roger Hindman, Jim Hawkins, Chrissy Ziegler, Ann Maggard, Bev and Bob Zanella, Nancy Page and Carter Page, Connie Lewis, Greg Jeung, Karen Harris, Sharon Haller, Christine Porter, Tim Porter, Jan Walsh, Cindy Svatos, Charlotte Cunningham, Carol Opeka and Suzy Alcott.


Cindy Hines

executive director, Frontier Historical Society and Museum

Letter: Praise for Hickenlooper

November 19, 2015 — 

I wanted to thank and honor our governor, John Hickenlooper for being one of the governors in the country to openly state that he would welcome Syrian refugees. In a time when every political move is basted in partisanship and lobbyism, it is deeply encouraging to know that the leader of our state remembers the history of our world and our country, not to mention the engraving on a certain tall, toga-clad resident of Ellis Island.

Every year, I teach a unit called “Voices of the Holocaust” to my eighth-graders, and every year, they ask how something like that could happen. Every year we have discussions and they express complete confusion about why America didn’t do something for the Jewish refugees.

In a time when news traveled slowly (1930s), there may be some little weight to the fact that our citizenry did not understand the extent of the horror that was occurring in Germany and Eastern Europe. Today, however, with instant social media updates and access to photos of the faces and families involved, we, Americans, are out of excuses. The parallels cannot be denied, and we promised we would always remember.

Support Hickenlooper and encourage our lawmakers to be vocal and bold in their support of the people who have lost their home and their future to war. In this country, we all have so much to give that we cannot afford to act out of fear.

“The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.” — Edmund Burke

Letter: Thanks, commissioners

November 19, 2015 — 

Thank you, Garfield County commissioners, for defunding Planned Parenthood.

Letter: Why such a big raise?

November 19, 2015 — 

The state Legislature has decided that there could be a 30 percent increase in pay in county positions. The county commissioners could accept this raise or opt for no increase, a 10 percent increase or a 20 percent increase.

Mesa county decided on no increase, but Garfield County decided on a 30 percent increase in the following positions: Commissioners, Sheriff, Treasurer, assessors and clerks and coroner.

This takes a lot of gall when citizens are facing increased costs in health-care premiums, other insurance premiums and the senior citizens getting no increase in Social Security.

We should look our commissioners in the eye and ask them why they think they and all other county elected officials deserve such a big raise. State legislators also get the 30 percent increase.

This decision should be by vote of the people.

Letter: Satisfied Auto Glass customer

November 18, 2015 — 

It’s important to let those with whom you do business know that you notice and appreciate superior customer service. This letter is to thank Auto Glass Specialist in Glenwood Springs. With incomparable rates, friendly staff and exceptional service, I highly recommend this business to anyone looking for a great experience with all of your auto glass needs.

I am now a very satisfied customer and happy driver with my new windshield and restored headlight lenses; I can actually see the road again, it’s amazing. Thank you, Austin and the crew.

Letter: In support of diverse opinions

November 18, 2015 — 

Should we be eating meat? Dr. Greg Feinsinger thinks not, citing both individual health and environmental arguments to support his position. Frank Daley, former Cattlemen’s association president, said of Dr. Feinsinger’s 10/26 column (letters, 11/13/2001), “It is disappointing to see the Post Independent print something that is utterly lacking in fact, and erroneously inflammatory to the economic backbone of this community.”

Rancher Dan McCarty attacked Feinsinger similarly in his 10/31 guest column. Each alleged certain facts supporting their positions. But Dr. Feinsinger did not offer misinformation. And neither did his two critics. Rather, as the PI’s editor wrote in brief response to Daley, each offered hand-picked facts supporting cherished positions and omitted facts contradicting their positions.

The editor also cited a more balanced discussion at http://www.tinyurl.com/WaPoFood. I read that Washington Post column and recommend it most enthusiastically. Using less than 1,650 words, author Tamar Haspel summarized arguments on various sides of the “what shall we eat?” issue, made it clear that abundant facts support varying positions and when taken in totality, confusion rather than a clearly correct position flows from those facts. Haspel also addressed humanitarian concerns and demonstrated how these can conflict with one another and with environmental concerns, thereby making the best way forward even less certain.

What any of us advocates is never influenced by facts alone but also, and perhaps primarily, by values we hold. While my own values are pretty close to Dr. Feinsinger’s, I’m afraid we will have stumble forward together with others who, like Messrs. McCarty and Daley, see things rather differently. I appreciate the PI publishing varying points of view. It’s a shame to see Mr. Daley asking to silence those he apparently considers his opposition.

Letter: Focus on Carbondale fire election

November 17, 2015 — 

We have another election to prepare for that is extremely important to all the citizens within the Carbondale & Rural Fire Protection District.

There will be two open seats on the Carbondale Fire District board for the upcoming election in May 2016. This vote will decide who will represent you and your tax dollars for the future of your fire, ambulance and rescue services.

The need for top-quality representation and leadership is great in areas of business, planning, financial oversight and implementation. Who do you know who would make a quality board member? There already is an excellent Master Plan study in place to provide direction to the future board.

We need folks with successful business and financial backgrounds willing to commit some time for the benefit of the fire district and all of you, its citizens.

We are blessed here with many forward thinking, diverse, proactive residents.

I am encouraging all of us to take this election seriously, and let’s join together as a community to support our fire district with the best board members we can find.

Jeff Wadley


Letter: Bring your own fork

November 17, 2015 — 

Should students who bring their lunches to school be allowed a plastic disposable fork if they forget one from home?

Parents in the Re-2 school district, Rifle High School in particular, should be aware that if your student forgets to pack silverware with their lunch they can forget about getting one from the school.

According to the head of Rifle High School’s lunch department they are “self-funded.” Oh, really? I don’t think so. The lunch program is a federally funded program that gets paid by the government for each meal it serves. Who do you think the government gets its money from? That’s right, you and me, the taxpayers.

I was actually told on the phone, how dare we expect the lunchroom to hand out plastic silverware to students who bring their own lunches?

More than 50 percent of students in the Re-2 school district qualify for free lunches, and I commend the program that makes sure children get a healthy lunch, but God forbid (can I say God when talking about schools?) a student not in the program needs a fork.

What is wrong with our school administrators? I am so glad that my children will soon be out of this system, and I pray (if I’m allowed to) that all current and future students don’t forget their utensils.

Eileen Cummings


Letter: Hide tanning time

November 16, 2015 — 

Well, it’s that time of year again where Elks around the country ask hunters to donate the hides of animals they harvest during hunting season. The hides we collect are sent to tanneries to have them turned into leather, and after that they are made into gloves for disabled vets who need them to protect their hands due to having to use wheelchairs or crutches.

Some of the leather is also used for leather pouches for wheelchairs, smaller utility pouches, I.D. badge holders, and craft kits that are used for occupational and recreational therapy. Many fine pieces of arts and crafts have come from these kits.

The best part of this program: This is given to the vets free of charge. All costs, after the Elks receive the hides, are borne by the Elks Association. This is something not budgeted by the Veterans Administration and therefore would not be available if not for this amazing program.

So if you are a hunter, or know a hunter, we would appreciate the donation of any animal hides collected during hunting season. We accept elk, deer, antelope, pig, sheep and cattle hides. Last year the Colorado Elks Association collected over 1,400 hides. Here locally we collected over 100. I think we can beat that this year, so help me get the word out.

Please, if you want to donate to this cause, hides must be brought to an Elks Lodge or contact me for a pickup. Any barrels or other drop-offs are not part of this program.

If you have any questions, need more information, or want to help with the collection, salting or transporting of hides to the Denver area, please contact me at 970-948-9127 or at team-regan@hotmail.com.

Thank you for your past and continued support of this important program.

Tom Regan

Colorado Elks Association Veterans Leather Committee

Letter: What would Jesus say?

November 16, 2015 — 

I wonder what Jesus’ reaction would be to being handed his grande triple shot low foam, no whip mocha at Starbucks in a plain unadorned red cup?

I think it would probably be, “Thank You!”

JM Jesse

Glenwood Springs

Letter: Thank you, commissioners

November 16, 2015 — 

I would like to commend the courage and character of the Garfield County commissioners for rethinking their policy of funding the controversial Planned Parenthood with taxpayers’ money.

Honoring the taxpayers who are horrified that their tax money is going to an organization that causes tremendous emotional and physical harm to women and takes the lives of innocent children is greatly appreciated.  

Let’s continue to support services in our community that bring life and health to all of our members, even the most vulnerable.  

Ramona Talbott

New Castle

Readers Say Thanks

November 15, 2015 — 

Buddy Program cooks up a storm!

We at the Buddy Program have much to be grateful for this time of year and always. We live in a generous community where talented volunteers contribute in a multitude of ways to the positive development of local youth.

We’d like to extend thanks to Francis Stuckens of Green Cuisine. Last week Francis donated his time, ingredients and his expertise to teach a cooking class to 15 local teenage youth. Under his tutelage, students gathered at the Basalt Middle School kitchen to prepare two kinds of soups, roast chicken, pasta with homemade sauce, roast vegetables and apple puff pastry for dessert.

This is the third annual Cooking Workshop offered by the Buddy Program in partnership with professional local chefs, and as one high school student said, “This event is my favorite thing!” Thank you, Francis, and all our amazing volunteers for taking time to make a positive difference in the lives of our valley’s youth.


Brooke Bockelman

Buddy Program LEAD Programs Director

Thank you for keeping our community safe

On Wednesday, November, 11, 2015 a man was spotted dressed in black. He jumped our fence after hours so 911 was called and my excited rant was handled calmly and professionally. Glenwood Police responded in minutes and caught the man in the parking lot of the shopping center next door after a short foot chase. Jim and Ingrid Hawkins and the tenants of Glenwood Self Storage thank all involved for making our community a safe place to live!

Jim and Ingrid Hawkins

Glenwood Self Storage

Letter: Visit Planned Parenthood

November 15, 2015 — 

To everyone against Planned Parenthood, I encourage you to actually go into a Planned Parenthood and see all the resources pertaining to sex education. Men can benefit as well. You might actually learn something.

I have been to PP before and received excellent help in regards to general health at a fraction of the cost anywhere else, even with insurance and the Affordable Care Act. It seems silly that removing funding from this is on the table.

Shame on Garfield County. It’s not about abortion, it’s about reducing STDs, catching cancer early. Preventing unwanted pregnancy in the first place would be ideal, After all, “A world of wanted children would make a world of difference.”

Sarah Lubin

Glenwood Springs

Letter: How depraved we have become

November 15, 2015 — 

I have been observing with interest the furor over the Garfield County commissioners’ token withholding of $1,500 from the deceitfully named “Planned Parenthood.” It should be known for what it is, “Murder Incorporated.”

Since Roe v. Wade, 55 million preborn children have been slaughtered in the womb, most of them by so-called “Planned Parenthood.” Are you really comfortable with that? Isn’t it about preventing conception rather than after the fact killing the conceived but unwanted child?

If the child is not wanted, it’s a fetus or blob of tissue, but if it’s wanted, it’s a child. How is that? Back in the day, women carried their child to term and then adopted them out if they weren’t prepared for parenting. Now, people have to go abroad for adoptions because there are virtually no children available for adoption in the U.S. Adoption is still the best option for all, and it does not involve killing.

According to Wikipedia, the total deaths from all wars our nation has been involved in from the Revolutionary War to the present is 2,852,901. Fifty-five million is 20 times that number. How many is enough, just a few more?

“Planned Parenthood” is an abortion mill and, according to the testimony of its head, testifying before a Senate Committee recently, it does not perform mammograms. It does, however, sell body parts of aborted children and apparently without guilt or remorse. Are you are not offended by this practice? What sort of women’s health services does it provide that are not available elsewhere to women with lower incomes?

Apparently for Planned Parenthood, it’s about the money after all, and a general culture of death and hate.

Are you opposed to the death penalty for criminals? You know a developing child in the womb is innocent and helpless. The death penalty for the unborn shows a bizarre, twisted morality. Psalm 6:17b says, “God hates hands that shed innocent blood.” We are all going to die, and after that the judgment (Hebrews 9:27). Do you really believe that there is no justice in the universe? They can’t speak, they have no power, they have no money, and they can’t vote. They’re inconvenient. How depraved we have become.

Don’t even try to claim this is about women’s health. Also don’t try to frame it as men against women. We men put this practice in place so we could just walk away and let you women take care of it. I repeat, how much blood is enough?

No one can abide this sort of evil without permanent damage to their own soul, regardless of any spiritual belief. When will we stop this horrific practice, after we self-destruct as a nation? With this practice, we are well on our way down that road. Stand up for life.

Lance Allee


Letter: Council, where's my $1M contract?

November 14, 2015 — 

Instead of hiring three full-time officers for foot patrol, why not contract with Colorado Mountain College and create a student police officer program in synchronization with CMC’s law enforcement study programs?

This would allow the CMC students to be deputized for part-time summer work wearing GWS police uniforms while the student/officers ride mountain bikes with only cell phones and pepper spray and patrol all of the sidewalks and pathways of GWS.

Furthermore, the 2016 budget does not fund the Downtown Development Authority to hire me as an independent economic development consultant to begin the process of financing, engineering and constructing my proposal for a 20-block toll road that will bypass the downtown core, to be funded by the DDA issuing tax-exempt, limited obligation, toll-road revenue bonds.

The initial funds needed to hire me, bond counsel, special tax-counsel and engineers is $1 million. I suggest this could be funded as a loan from cash reserves to the DDA with the condition the $1 million will be repaid by the DDA with the DDA issuance of bond anticipation notes within 18 months.

Letter: Build for the future

November 14, 2015 — 

Hey Mr. Developer man: Don’t just build to leave your children a great inheritance. Build something that your grandchildren will be proud of. Let them know that you are/were a progressive builder who believed in passing a sustainable future onto them.

This of course means going beyond the current building code for insulation and windows. This means LEED Platinum certification. It stands for Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design. Read inhabitat.com/infographic-everything-you-ever-wanted-to-know-about-leed/. Or visit those geniuses at the Rocky Mountain Institute down in Basalt. And FYI, you get a better rate of return on your investment. But, you have to tell your architects to do it, only you can specify this.

As Albert Einstein said, “We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them.”

Letter: Things lacking in I-70 work

November 14, 2015 — 

On Nov. 6, returning from business in Eagle via westbound I-70 for the first time since it reopened after five months of summer repairs, I was appalled at the condition of the asphalt in areas that were not in the locations repaired. There were potholes, entire chunks of pavement missing, and numerous cracks in need of filling and sealing.

Since these are repairs normally associated with CDOT crews and not outside contractors, I have to wonder why CDOT didn’t make these repairs while the lane closures were in place and during warmer weather, which makes such repairs easier and longer lasting due to warmer pavement temperatures — not to mention safer for workers.

While I understand that some repairs may be deferred due to future long-term projects, the repairs that I speak of are germane to public safety as well as the bridge surfaces beneath the asphalt.

On a different note, the Glenwood Canyon section of I-70 would probably be about a billion-dollar stretch of highway in today’s dollars, thus it seems intolerable that repairs take so long. CDOT needs to be held to task to keep a billion-dollar highway fully operational for more than seven months out of the year. This means that contractors need to be held to much tighter timelines using more crews and equipment than have been used in the last several projects.

Perhaps Garfield County commissioners taking note that “The Empire State Building was built in just 410 days” should be more concerned with urging the state legislature and CDOT into finding more expeditious means of repair to Glenwood Canyon sections of I-70 rather than pulling county funding from Planned Parenthood in a county that has the highest teen birthrate in the state of Colorado. Just a thought.


November 13, 2015 — 

It has become quite cliché to say ”thank you” to our veterans; and for the last several decades, that’s all I’ve really wanted to hear, until I recently realized how shallow words can be when they aren’t followed up by actions.

Let me explain. When every politician begins their term and a military person commits their life to serve the United States they “… swear to defend the Constitution against enemies both foreign and domestic.” It is difficult to quantify a service member’s commitment in defending the Constitution, however, the constitutional voting record of every U.S. senator and representative is available, albeit quite hidden from the voters for numerous obfuscating reasons. Several other voting records are often available (as the country collapses) concerning the environment, wilderness, taxes, guns, welfare, minimum wage, education, energy, etc.

The majority of the last two generations in the U.S. don’t understand the original intent of the Founding Fathers in writing the Constitution to keep the states strong and the central government in D.C. limited in its role to defend the nation, settle interstate disputes through federal courts, enter into treaties with other nations, levy tariffs and a few other, less significant duties. The proof of the misunderstanding is in the citizens’ voting and their humanist worship as they pray, “Our father, who art in D.C.; FedGov be thy name…” as they vote for the next Santa Claus.

If you care to learn more about how to become “more constitutional” and please this veteran, go to www.TheNewAmerican/Freedom-index and check out the constitutional voting record of your representatives. The summary of all votes appears when the page is opened. Click on the 114-1 Freedom Index PDF tab to view the first six months of the 114th Congress ending on June 30, 2015. Sen. Bennet at 10 percent (F-) is far behind Sen. Gardner at 80 percent (C-), while Congressman Tipton is at 44 percent (F), trailing all the other Republicans in Colorado.

We have now been in Afghanistan five years and five months longer than Vietnam. And there’s no end in sight to the political insanity. Absolutely nothing has changed since I left 13 years ago. It’s almost as if both parties are controlled by the infamous Giant Military Industrial Complex and Wall Street. For the sake of our once-free nation’s future, please continue to tell our veterans, “Thank you” … and add, “I vote against all the un-Americans who have less than 70 percent (D-) constitutional voting records.”

I don’t expect perfection, but I do want my country back. The standard bearers are George Washington and his peers; not the D or R wimp who keeps meeting halfway on issues.

Reader opinions on Planned Parenthood, beef and more

November 12, 2015 — 

Sanders the idealist

There is a secret to being a supporter of Bernie Sanders. It is something that totally escapes the thinking of most Democrats and Republicans. It is the mental understanding that Sanders is fighting a war that most people are not. It is the war between corporations and the people.

Unless you are fighting the war as we are, you cannot possibly understand how important it is to vote for Bernie, not Hillary. This is not about Hillary or Bernie; it is about fighting your real enemies, the multinational corporations who are trying to control this nation and the world.

Hillary, during her husband’s first term was one of my greatest heroes, a progressive battling for health-care reform, an issue on which she was soundly defeated; but since that time she has become much more of a politician; a realist, as she says, rather than the idealist she once was, and Bernie Sanders is. Hillary is taking, or has taken, money from big pharmaceuticals, the oil and gas industries, Wall Street and the private prison companies.

She has served on the board of directors of Wal-Mart. She has waffled so many times on the Trans Pacific Partnership and the Keystone pipeline that no one has any idea where she stands, or what she would do if elected president. The best answer lies in following where she gets her money from: big pharma, big oil, big banks. That is what being a political realist is. Nothing to do with serving the people…everything to do with her personal ambitions.

Bernie, on the other hand, is an idealist. He wants the office so that he can do the right thing for the people he will be serving. He has held consistent positions against the Trans Pacific Partnership and the Keystone pipeline, and in favor of breaking up big banks and repealing Citizens United. Bernie is and idealist, a person you can trust. Hillary has recently absorbed many of Bernie’s positions, but will she stick to them? The record shows otherwise.

Bob Bogner


Dangers of ‘smart’ meters

Electric utilities are installing “smart” meters without customer’s knowledge or consent, and in late July they even started denying that what they had installed were “smart” meters.

There are significant health problems from “smart” meters identified by dozens of scientists. The pulsed microwave radiation emitted from the meters is harmful to health, causes DNA breakages and a myriad of symptoms.

Our bodies are bio-electric, as measured by EKGs and EEGs. Interference from microwave radiation can alter the electrical activity that regulates the function of our hearts, brains and other organs. Heart rhythm disturbance, sleep disruption and headache are only a few of the common symptoms.

“Smart” meters are wireless digital devices that record the amount of energy you use in your home and send this information to the utility company. They provide two-way communication to send your usage data between your home and the utility. They are being installed around the world for multiple reasons, not one of which benefits you the user.

They can be read remotely, and a primary reason for their installation is that they can match electricity consumption with the real time demands on the grid. In other words, the “smart” meter can track the time the energy is being consumed with the amount of electricity consumed. You will be charged higher rates for using electricity during peak demand times. Generally, electric bills double when the utility implements this feature. Your information is open to thieves and hackers.

Each electric appliance you use has a particular “footprint,” and the utility can remotely shut down or dampen any appliance at any time.

Ask yourself: Does this benefit you more or the utilities more?

There is no law forcing us to accept “smart” meters or to pay “opt-out” fees.

Traditional analog meters track total consumption, period. And they do not put out extremely dangerous pulsed radiation, plus they are not vulnerable to cyber attack. The former CIA Director James Woolsey says the “smart” grid’s security vulnerabilities make it a “really, really stupid grid.”

Learn more tonight at 7 p.m. tonight at the Carbondale Library.

Marilyn Shettel

Glenwood Springs

Outraged by commissioners

It is with spitting outrage that I see three senior white men pull funding from Planned Parenthood in Glenwood Springs, when you clearly have no idea what goes on there because you are not a woman.

I went there from the age of 16 until 30, to get Pap smears (which check for cervical cancer, in case you don’t know), checkups of woman parts, and birth control so I didn’t have to be a teenage mother or have an abortion. I couldn’t afford to go anywhere else; Planned Parenthood has a sliding scale for young women and poor women, the least capable of having an unwanted pregnancy.

For God’s sake, where is your common sense and a vision for the future? How about a future full of teenage mothers and back-alley abortions because of lack of affordable care for the other sex — the one that isn’t yours.

I’m sure you waited until marriage until having sex, and I’m very complimentary for your superior morals, but it is unrealistic to expect your fellow men, especially those 16-30, to abstain. When they don’t, it always falls to the woman to either prevent the pregnancy, or deal with it when things go wrong; hence the multitude of single mothers and absent irresponsible fathers.

Every man out there should be blessing Planned Parenthood, because one way or another, that organization has covered their butts and corrected their mistakes. Except you, of course. Don’t make this horrific error by taking their support.

P.S.: According to the poll on the Post Independent website as of Nov. 5, 68 percent of the respondents agree with me that you are making a grave mistake.

Rebecca Driscoll


Beef, it’s what’s sustainable

It is disappointing to see the Post Independent print something that is utterly lacking in fact, and erroneously inflammatory to the economic backbone of this community. This region of the state has a long and proud history in beef production, and it’s disheartening to read this type of misinformation in such a respectable publication.

The beef industry has taken great strides to evaluate and refine its impact on, and, yes, even contribution to, the environment. There are a number of scientifically based sources of information available regarding the sustainability of our industry, including a life cycle assessment analyzing the environmental impacts of a given product by accounting for all the impacts that occur throughout the entire production chain. The results from this study can be found at Beefresearch.org.

Our industry is proud of the fact that since 2005, there was a nearly 7 percent decrease in the environmental and social impact of the beef value chain, resulting in a 5 percent improvement in overall sustainability.

Our industry has and will continue to evolve with the times. The knowledge we have gained through modern technology has allowed us to better assess the impacts we are having on our environment and make the necessary adjustments to keep our businesses thriving for the next generation of ranchers and businesses in our local community.

ExploreBeef.org and FactsAboutBeef.com provide science-based information about beef production and the care ranchers take with our planet’s precious resources.

Frank Daley

New Castle, past president, Colorado Cattlemen’s Association

Editor’s note: In addition to the Doctor’s Tip arguing that animal products have a significant environmental impact that the author is criticizing, the Post Independent published a rebuttal by local rancher Dan McCarty. Statistics and arguments on this issue vary; we disagree with the assertion that the Doctor’s Tip was “utterly lacking in fact” or “erroneously inflammatory.” Quite often, the facts a person cites, groups together or chooses to ignore depend on the case the person wants to make or believe. The Washington Post did this examination of related questions: http://tinyurl.com/WaPoFood.

Grinding axes and beef

In response to Dan McCarty’s guest opinion (10/31/2015): Mr. McCarty begins by accusing Dr. Greg Feinsinger of spreading misinformation in behalf of a biased agenda. Yes, Greg has biases and an agenda. He’s pretty open about it. However, given that Dan makes his living from ranching, it seems disingenuous for him to imply that he is less biased and more agenda-free than Greg. We all have an ax to grind. Here’s how Dan McCarty grinds his.

Dan bragged that feedlots of 1,000 or more are federally regulated, but conveniently omitted that according to the USDA, the vast majority of feedlots have fewer than 1,000 head. But these many small facilities produce only about 5 percent of U.S. beef, so we appear to have a great many unregulated facilities spread hither and yon, generating considerable pollution while producing relatively little food.

And water consumption? Dan claimed 441 gallons to produce a pound of beef, a figure he neglected to say comes from a single, cherry-picked study. The U.S. Geological Survey says it takes 1,800 gallons, so there’s obviously room for argument, but let’s not argue. According to Dan’s own claim, my single-use ¼-pounder consumed 110 gallons during production.

Dan also wrote that producing one T-shirt uses 713 gallons. So if I wear my shirt only 40 times, each wearing cost 18 gallons and I have some pretty good rags afterward. Producing a car takes 40,000 gallons, wrote Dan. So, if the car has a useful life of 150,000 miles (pretty modest nowadays) each mile consumes about ¼ gallon of water. With average vehicle occupancy of 1.67 and average trip length at 9.7 miles, my average automobile trip uses about 1½ gallons of water. (Statistics from U.S. DOT.)

In summary; Car trip: 1.5 gallons. Shirt: 18 gallons (minus rags). Burger: 110 gallons. This “unbiased” information supports beef as environmentally friendly compared to cars and T-shirts? These are strange comparisons to begin with, but if you’re going to make them, Dan, do the arithmetic.

Ron Kokish


Build for the future

Hey Mr. Developer man: Don’t just build to leave your children a great inheritance. Build something that your grandchildren will be proud of. Let them know that you are/were a progressive builder who believed in passing a sustainable future onto them.

This of course means going beyond the current building code for insulation and windows. This means LEED Platinum certification. It stands for Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design. Read inhabitat.com/infographic-everything-you-ever-wanted-to-know-about-leed/. Or visit those geniuses at the Rocky Mountain Institute down in Basalt. And FYI, you get a better rate of return on your investment. But, you have to tell your architects to do it, only you can specify this.

As Albert Einstein said, “We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them.”

Tom Mooney


Letter: Bleak future in Battlement

November 11, 2015 — 

We were told to be speaking only about the issues at a recent hearing, and Ursa being a good, reputable company was not one of the issues. Many subcontractors spoke on the integrity of Ursa, but that was not an issue for this meeting. The pope could be drilling those wells and we still would not want them on our PUD. I believe it will have a devastating effect on residents being able to sell their property, also many other issues — air quality, noise, etc.

The PA system there is a complete joke. I realize my hearing is bad, but others complained it was very difficult to hear everyone who spoke. When they handed a microphone to Morgan Hill and her associate, I could easily hear them. As a taxpaying citizen, I find this unacceptable.

New York state has banned fracking, apparently they feel it’s unsafe and they do not need the revenue — that’s what it’s all about here and we are just collateral damage.

Energy companies make a point to tell the public that their employees live in the community also, but when they are through drilling and move on, the companies buy their employees homes and then the company writes it off as business expenses — win-win for them. The energy company that developed this PUD should be buying our houses — they probably have the lion’s share of the mineral rights here on Battlement Mesa and they pulled a dirty trick on us, as it wasn’t disclosed — recorded for many years that several pads had been approved from the beginning for this PUD.

As homeowners in Battlement Mesa, our future looks bleak — our Colorado dream has turned into a nightmare.

View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top