Letters to the Editor

Letter: English in Action exceeds goal

August 4, 2015 — 

Our mission at English in Action is to provide one-on-one tutoring to adults who want to learn English and to “build community two people at a time” — but our latest fundraising challenge was a huge success as a result of the effort of nearly 130 people working together.

We set out to raise $20,000 in honor of our 20th anniversary. If successful, it would become $40,000 on account of a challenge grant from a local donor. The response has been overwhelming thanks to the amazing support and generosity of this community. Unexpectedly, we have surpassed our goal, and have now raised more than $50,000 with an additional $5,000 challenge gift that set the bar higher in our final push to the finish line. Far more than “two people at a time” have rallied together to support our efforts. Gifts of all sizes helped us get there and ranged from $13 (given by children under 10) to $5,000.

Learn more »

Letter: What's up with gas prices?

August 4, 2015 — 

I hate to complain — but, has no one noticed the slow but steady price creep of gasoline? I seem to remember about a year ago when oil prices had “collapsed” to a C-note per barrel and gas prices registered a corresponding decrease to a paltry few pennies above $2/gallon.

The other day I heard that oil was selling for under $50 per barrel (NPR doesn’t lie, right?). One might expect a similar reduction in gas prices, but instead gas gone the opposite direction to around $3/gallon.

Learn more »

Letter: Fluoride and thyroid trouble

August 4, 2015 — 

With fluoridation of city water in the news lately, those who support this practice might consider the news that a study published in February in the Journal of Epidemiology and Community Health showed new evidence that people drinking fluoridated water have twice the amount of hypothyroidism as those drinking nonfluoridated water.

The scientists found their results credible and plausible to call for complete re-evaluation of water fluoridation.

Learn more »

Letter: Day shelter and 'soup' must be open to all

August 3, 2015 — 

Once again a call to close Feed My Sheep? Heard it many times before. Mostly from clients who couldn’t get their own program together. Blame the few resources battling the fallout of modern mechanized society. All addictions are thus. A means to negate culture that turns one into cogs in the machine.

In the bakers dozen of years I spent involved with Feed My Sheep co-dependence (faltering back and forth, over the line between loving help and enabling) ebbed and flowed. Numbers were usually the problem. However it usually ebbed when the clients themselves realized the resource is much more than a free lunch and took upon themselves the responsibility to protect it from those who didn’t give a damn. Cleaning up their own house on the streets. Stop enabling the seasonal wayfarers with their own complacency. A thing I must remind you is a given in every strata of society. Not just among us on the street. Every tier of social living suffers thus. And heals from within.

Learn more »

Letter: Thanks for COGCC approach

August 3, 2015 — 

On behalf of the Piceance Energy Action Council, I would like to thank the Colorado Oil and Gas Conservation Commission and Executive Director Matt Lapore for visiting with local government representatives in Rifle last Wednesday to discuss proposed new rule changes and to hear from the local communities.

I would also like to thank those local county and municipal officials who attended to make sure the voices of those communities whose economies depend on oil and gas development were heard. I especially want to thank Garfield County Commissioner John Martin for helping to facilitate the meeting.

Learn more »

Letter: Viva el gato

August 2, 2015 — 

Years ago my young daughter had a cat named Whitey. The cat was almost totally nocturnal.

One night about 2 a.m. I was awakened by a loud squawking noise. When I went out to investigate, I found Whitey standing over a half-dead chicken. I quickly went into the house and got a hammer with which I quickly dispatched the chicken with one quick blow to the back of its head.

Learn more »

Letter: Keep cats away from birds

August 2, 2015 — 

It’s been a long time since I’ve sent a letter in to the editor, but I feel so strongly on the issue of free-range cats I just had to chime in.

I’ve loved cats my whole life. For most of my adult life, the cats I’ve had have been indoor/outdoor cats.

Learn more »

Letter: Support needed for Rifle Rotary Ball Drop

August 2, 2015 — 

Support needed for Rifle Rotary Ball Drop

The Rifle Rotary Club is proud to have been a member of the Rifle community for more than three decades and is devoted to doing meaningful things to help improve the quality of life in our community. Our club is made up of volunteers, who have a common goal — to improve the community. Some Rotary efforts include:

Learn more »

Letter: CRMS blocks access to Crystal

August 1, 2015 — 

As a resident of Carbondale and a long-term advocate of public access to both streams and trails for non-motorized use, here is my opinion on the issue of the public road running through the Colorado Rocky Mountain School as discussed in the Post Independent on July 27.

As a boarding school for teenage girls and boys, CRMS has a rational security interest in preventing public access to its central campus where these young people live. CRMS thus has a legitimate reason to oppose a public road or trail running through the heart of its campus.

Learn more »

Letter: Hallucinating about pot ads

August 1, 2015 — 

In regards to Mr. Stapleton’s letter about “the skull and crossbones” being eliminated from pot ads. I’ve never noticed that before. Are you sure you’re not hallucinating?

JM Jesse

Glenwood Springs

Letter: No place like Bonedale

August 1, 2015 — 

It is amazing how a community can get together and throw such a wonderful festival/ I’m talking about the Carbondale Mountain Fair.

I am a volunteer and have been for many years. It is a great feeling when you put that volunteer shirt on, and start to meet and greet the patrons.

During that weekend We are ambassadors of our community, and it is a joy to bring smiles to the faces of both adults and children, and to see people from 1 to 100 dancing and having a great time. I would like to thank each and every one who volunteered.

Without you, Mountain Fair could not exist as it is. This is a time to see old friends dance, eat and be merry. I’ve lived in many communities and there is none like Bonedale. It is a special place and I can’t wait for next year. Thank you, volunteers.

Joseph Raatz

Carbondale

Letter: Missing the Reagan days

July 30, 2015 — 

The shortest letter in history: How sad is it that only 71 percent of the people who voted for B. Hussein Obama for president in 2012 regret voting for him. Second, if Ronald Reagan were president, ISIS would be called WAS-WAS.

This tells us that at least 29 percent of the voters should not vote.

Doug Meyers

Glenwood Springs

Letter: The rights of churches

July 30, 2015 — 

All right, let’s put federal government on the table to stop Aspen City Hall and all its cronies, “the no” petitioners, from messing with St. Mary’s Catholic Church’s new construction plan.

There is the “Religious Land Use And Institutionalized Persons Act of 2000” (RLUIPA) to be enforced by the U.S. Department of Justice:

“The land use provisions ... protect individuals, houses of worship, and other religious institutions from discrimination in zoning and landmarking laws ... The Department of Justice can investigate RLUIPA violations and bring a lawsuit to enforce the statue. The department can obtain injunctive, but no monetary, relief. Individuals, houses of worship, and other religious institutions can also bring a lawsuit in federal or state court to enforce RLUIPA.”

Go on and make your move against St. Mary’s Catholic Church in Aspen. Aspen City Hall and you petition vampires won’t win.

Furthermore, a while ago I sent substantial information on this subject to St. Mary’s Catholic Church, Aspen City Council members, construction industry-related firms and many houses of worship from Aspen to Glenwood Springs.

Also remember St. Mary’s Catholic Church can be delisted from historic preservation lists if you’re not a bunch of yahoos thinking you’re Don Quixotes chasing windmills for renewable energy. If you know what I know about the U.S. electrical power grid, you’d stop the con game on folks.

How many houses of worship and their congregations in the Roaring Fork Valley will pray, sing, and say, “Amen Emzy Veazy III?” Mmmmmm....Oh yeah, is anybody out there grateful to me? Amen.

Emzy Veazy III

Aspen

Letter: Close Feed My Sheep

July 29, 2015 — 

In September 2014, I was unlawfully evicted from a West Glenwood basement apartment and suddenly this 66-year-old man became homeless on the streets of Glenwood Springs. Eventually I found my way to Feed My Sheep in the basement of Catholic Charities and I supped Monday through Friday in the basement of the Methodist Church.

Given those facts it is with great difficulty that I now recommend to the civil body politic of GWS that Feed My Sheep be closed and the Christian benevolence of the Methodist Church (through Lift-Up), with its nightly hot meals, come to an end.

The reason for this recommendation is the increase in meth among the homeless of GWS. Known on the street as “tweekers,” meth addicts and the meth trade is enabled by Feed My Sheep with its lack of an addiction program and also by the Methodists, by allowing Lift-Up the use of their basement, these good folks are also unknowingly feeding the local meth trade.

That said, an underutilized commonwealth asset of GWS is the old and vacant library directly behind the Methodist Church. This public building should become a senior center not unlike what the City of Rifle has created. It could also be used by organizations such as American Legion. However, until the meth and public drunkenness is cleaned out of the GWS homeless population, the immediate area is not safe for our seniors or our children.

The homeless population of GWS knows me up close and they know my adamant and vocal objections to their public drunkenness and also their toleration of the tweekers amongst them. Therefore, if the homeless population of GWS wants to see Feed My Sheep and “soup” remain open, then clean out the tweekers from among you and send them back to Denver. If not, I will continue to speak to the civil body politic of GWS to have Feed My Sheep and “soup” closed permanently.

Letter: Let them hate us for free

July 29, 2015 — 

Noticing recent reports that once again there will be no cost-of-living increase for Medicare recipients this year and other programs being decreased in coming years, while still sending billions to other countries, let’s stop lending money to other countries and just let them hate us for free. Just a thought.

Readers Say Thanks

July 28, 2015 — 

Springers Track Meet a success

The Glenwood Springers’ annual Community Track meet was held on Thursday, July 9. The meet was a chance for families and friends to see the accomplishments that the 70-plus boys and girls in the Glenwood Springers’ Track Club have made over the season.

We could not have put on the meet without our many volunteers. Thank you so much! Also, thank you to our sponsors who made our meet possible: Bank of Colorado, Bighorn Toyota, Glenwood Springs Ford, and Glenwood Springs Subaru. We also had numerous corporate relay sponsors: U.S. Bank, Auto Glass Specialists, Glenwood Insurance, Earth-Wise Horticulture, SGM, the DeHerrera Family, Fairway Mortgage, Barsness Law Firm, the Hollenbaugh family, the McPherson family and the Risner family.

Further, we would like to send a huge thank-you to the team parents who helped at practices, at the Springers’ meet, and at the different meets all over the state. This year, the club qualified eight athletes for the regional USATF Junior Olympic meet and one for the national meet.

We would also like to thank our volunteer coaches and assistant coaches for their support. We are blessed to have the continued support from Jenny Cutright, who has been a volunteer for the program for many years; thank you, Jenny!

Finally, we owe a great deal of our success to Mike Kishimoto, our retiring president of the board, who has been volunteering for this track club for the past 29 years. Thank you, Coach Kishimoto!

Sincerely,

Coach Abbey Walters Ehlers

Glenwood Springers’ Track Club

Letter: Contempt for our leaders

July 28, 2015 — 

Washington Irving said this in his 1809 book “Knickerbocker’s History of New York”:

“It is certainly of the first importance that a country should be governed by wise men: but then it is almost equally important that the people should think them wise; for this belief alone can produce willing subordination.

“To keep up, however, this desirable confidence in rulers, the people should be allowed to see as little of them as possible. It is the mystery which envelopes great men, that gives them half their greatness. There is a kind of superstitious reverence for office which leads us to exaggerate the merits of the occupant; and to suppose that he must be wiser than common men.

“He, however, who gains access to cabinets, soon finds out by what foolishness the world is governed. He finds that there is quackery in legislation as in every thing else; that rulers have their whims and errors as well as other men, and are not so wonderfully superior as he had imagined, since even he may occasionally confute them in argument.

“Thus awe subsides into confidence, confidence inspires familiarity, and familiarity produces contempt.”

Is our country governed by wise men?

Consider the government just inked a deal with Iran that undoubtedly will allow them to obtain a nuke, freed up billions of their frozen assets, and they still chant “Death to America.”

Our national debt is over $17 trillion yet they keep raising taxes, spending more money on bridges to nowhere. Health care insurance premiums and deductibles are rising in spite of promises they wouldn’t.

They are shutting down the coal mining and power industry, which provides 60 percent of our electricity with no replacement possible for many years.

Millions of illegal immigrants roam our streets, including thousands of convicted felons who have been released from prison, yet our borders remain wide open.

I could go on but I think you get the picture. The answer to my above question is obviously no.

Do I feel contempt? You better believe it.

Bob Anderson

Glenwood Springs

Letter: Praise for Bells buses

July 28, 2015 — 

I just heard that RFTA has extended bus service to the Maroon Bells to include all weekdays in September. In the 1970s, Wilderness Workshop lobbied to get the first bus service to the Bells to reduce pollution and traffic. It’s great to see RFTA continuing to expand this service.

For the past several fall seasons, Forest Service rangers have been pulled away from important duties in the backcountry to direct traffic and parking at the Bells. For an already understaffed organization, this has meant reduced trail work, less visitor education and difficulty ensuring compliance with regulations like requiring bear-proof containers in the backcountry.

More buses to the Bells means our Forest Service rangers can get back out in the woods to help manage and protect our trails and public lands. It also means fewer cars, reduced carbon emissions and less air pollution. Sounds like a win-win to me.

Thanks to RFTA for all it does in our valley.

Will Roush

conservation director, Wilderness Workshop

Letter: Uplifting story on yo-yo champ

July 28, 2015 — 

Thank you, Stu Dearnley for the well-written feature story about Taylor Noyes, Colorado’s yo-yo champ. Life is difficult for those who don’t fit into societal norms, but voices like Taylor’s need to be heard.

Kudos to you for printing a compassionate piece about a unique and inspiring young man.

Jennifer Grant

Carbondale

Letter: To the Silt dog thieves

July 27, 2015 — 

This letter is for the people who stole my friend’s dog out of its own yard in broad daylight. You’re pretty smug now aren’t you? Smug that you have the power to take someone’s pride and joy, or better yet, a life from someone. After all, pets are family, right? Thinking that you did the right thing, feeling righteous that you are above the law, above religion perhaps? I’ll hazard a guess that you’ve done this sort of thing before.

I’ve got news for you: Karma is real, very real, and you might want to be very afraid of it. One little slip-up is all it will take to expose you.

I know this letter won’t bring the dog back or it won’t make you feel guilty or remorseful, or even sorry for what you did. My intent is to shame you and maybe embarrass you, knowing several thousand people will read this letter and those several thousand people now know what you did with an innocent little dog that has no idea why its life has been turned upside down.

Chris Classen

Silt

Letter: Stop at crosswalks. Really

July 27, 2015 — 

We are all familiar with the yellow signs in the middle of crosswalks in nearly every downtown area of Colorado. You know, those pesky signs so many motorists whiz by while some kid, old lady or other pedestrian looks on with one foot off the curb just trying to get to the other side of the street. Those bothersome signs that say “ State law, Stop for pedestrians in crosswalk.” They even have the picture of a stop sign with a stick person for the more literacy-challenged of folks out there.

Recently I stopped for a little girl at one of those signs in front of the library in New Castle. Guess what? Another driver chose to ignore the sign and just cruised through, striking that poor little girl with his pick-up truck. Yup, hit a kid with his truck, smack, head on. A child knocked down and laying on the pavement of Main Street.

Folks, I implore you, please slow down a bit going through town. Pay attention to what you are doing. Give your vehicle a brake and at least stop for the kids. Is it really that much of an inconvenience to pause for the briefest of moments and let somebody just simply cross the street. Slow down a little, it is small-town America, after all.

Thankfully the little girl was OK. A little shaken, scared and scraped up, but OK.

Brian Vandermark

New Castle

Letter: Gridlock

July 27, 2015 — 

What do the cities of Rifle and New York have in common? Answer — 25 mph speed limits throughout.

With record numbers of vehicles stalled to enter Aspen, hundreds of new housing units proposed for El Jebel, and day-long traffic jams on I-70, maybe it’s time to heed Glenwood Springs Police Chief Wilson’s plea to “Back off, slow down, be patient” (PI, April 21).

Hmm, 25 mph throughout, including Grand Avenue. Glenwood can do its part for traffic calming, if we can still breathe.

Dean Moffatt

Glenwood Springs

Letter: New image — not

July 27, 2015 — 

Why have pot advertisements eliminated the skull and crossbones from their ads of late? Have you noticed that they don’t use the word marijuana anymore? Are they trying to change their image? Good luck with that one.

Howard M. Stapleton

Peach Valley

Letter: Release of immigrants

July 26, 2015 — 

There was an interesting column in the July 19 Denver Post with some surprising statistics.

The Obama administration has been releasing tens of thousands of criminal illegal aliens into our communities.

Just like some softhearted (headed?) local judges who set ridiculously low bails for all the illegal alien coke dealers busted by Lou Vallario and Co. Say Lou, any of those perps show up for their day in court? No? I haven’t read anything in the court news.

But back to Barack; between 2010 and 2014, 121 criminal illegal aliens were released who then were involved in homicides. From 2008 to 2012, Obama released 424 sex offenders who didn’t have to register as sex offenders due to a lack of communication. In 2013 Obama released a total 36,007 illegals with criminal convictions. In 2014, the number was 30,558.

Kathryn Steinle was killed in San Francisco recently by an illegal alien with seven prior felony convictions. Because San Francisco is a “sanctuary” city, they refused to notify ICE of his release.

Last year Obama’s open border policies allowed tens of thousands of illegal alien women and children to invade our country. Our tax dollars are now providing “free” food, shelter, clothing, teachers, entertainment and high-priced lawyers. When was the last time Barack gave you or your kids anything free?

The president has made a mockery of our immigration laws by rewarding criminals with work permits and defacto amnesty, even though illegal aliens are the main cause of income inequality.

Unfortunately the rich can never have enough poor to satisfy their greed. That’s how Aspen manages to pay maids less today than 35 years ago.

Bruno Kirchenwitz

Rifle

Letter: Impact of climate change

July 26, 2015 — 

Here on the Western Slope of Colorado the agriculture industry is crucial. Farm and ranch operators depend on their ability to grow and sell world-class fruit, pastured-raised beef, hops, hay and more to support a livelihood most love.

No, climate change will not destroy the Earth, but it could make a lot of people’s jobs and lives more difficult. How much climate change will cost, and how humans and other lifeforms fare if we don’t take action now to reduce carbon emissions, remain unanswerable questions. But storms, droughts, floods and other natural disasters are much more intense now with global temperatures rising. Already, as a result, people are suffering. And agriculture and life on the Western Slope could be impacted greatly.

Working on a farm has never been easy work, but it has become even more difficult due to the unpredictable weather. This year the Western Slope had an unseasonably warm winter followed by an abruptly cold, frost-stricken spring. That extreme weather pattern managed to kill a large portion of fruit trees and other crops. Another result of climate change is low snowpack. Snowpack in Colorado is still below average in some areas despite a historically wet May. Snow melted in these areas faster than it accumulated due to warm temperatures.

It is clear that the way we choose to live and the way we choose to produce energy needs to change drastically if we want to maintain viable farm and ranch businesses and communities in western Colorado. Please support the Clean Power Plan to reduce carbon emissions and as a step toward mitigating our contributions to climate change.

Scott Horner

Paonia

Letter: Freedom to marry

July 25, 2015 — 

I would like to comment Mr. Kellogg’s column on 7/21 that accuses liberals trying to “invalidate traditional marriages.” It is offensive and far from fact. How can you possibly say that upholding of the pursuit of happiness is a ploy by “big government liberals?” What facts do you have to support this? As a humanitarian, how can you deny someone the right to share their lives with another person? It’s not hurting anyone.

Gays and lesbians have been around longer than the Christian Bible. In fact, by not allowing them to marry would be government oppression dominated by Judeo-Christian belief. This is, in my opinion, a major reason why the justices decided to pass it. I see this as a separation of church and state. They have the right to love and be loved.

What does it cost you? Nothing. In fact we will probably see a rise in state revenue from all the licenses being processed. Maybe in 30 years we will have more divorce lawyers, too. If anything we have opened a door to opportunity. Happier people means more productively, we might be higher up on the world happiness scale, and more focused on what we need to be doing to be a leader in human rights.

You have the right to the freedom of religion but not the right to dictate to others what is right. Jesus taught love and acceptance. While I’m not sure how it invalidates my marriage to my husband I am certainly excited to see my family friends express their true love for one another in New Orleans next year.

Letter: Whose word of God?

July 25, 2015 — 

James Kellogg’s 7/21 column about gay marriage is filled with twisted legalisms and logic, half truths and misunderstanding of marriage.

“The religious-based concept of marriage is a time-tested cornerstone of family structure,” Kellogg wrote. Well, yes. But which religion, which time-tested concept? There are countless branches of just the three Abrahamic religions. Some allow for divorce, some not. Some allow multiple spouses. Some have been performing same-sex marriages for decades. Some still refuse to do so.

Kellogg seems to be pouting because the court did not support his particular Christian sect. Apparently he does not understand that while marriage is a religious institution, it is also (and in this country, perhaps primarily) a legal institution and it is only the legal institution the court addressed. The court required all civil authorities to issue civil marriage licenses without regard to gender. No minister is required to perform a particular marriage ceremony. No religious liberties are impacted except the liberty to impose personal religious beliefs using the law.

Kellogg asserted that 80 percent of Americans believe in God. Yes, but not necessarily the Word of God according to Kellogg.

Supreme Court decisions are no popularity contest, but April polls did show as much as 61 percent of those same Americans supporting same-sex marriage with 35 percent opposed and 4 percent uncertain. (Support declined slightly after the decision.)

Kellogg asserted that same-sex couples have equal protection via civil unions. But civil unions have no federal standing, so no state is required to recognize unions from another state. Unlike divorce, partners joined in one state cannot dissolve their union in another state. Tax benefits accruing to married couples are unavailable to civil partners. Civil partners cannot petition immigration authorities on behalf of non-citizen spouses, they cannot claim Social Security benefits based on a partner’s earnings, insurance companies sometimes treat civil partners differently and they cannot always be recognized as next of kin. This is equal protection?

Anyone as intelligent and educated as Kellogg had to know these things when he wrote his column. Shame on him for blatantly violating the Ninth commandment.

Letter: Snowmass: Reconsider fluoride vote

July 24, 2015 — 

At the Snowmass Water & Sanitation District Board meeting July 17, three members of the board voted to discontinue water fluoridation. One board member voted “no,” and one board member was not in attendance. This measure impacts children’s health and adults’ health, as oral health is integral to overall health. The board president Joe Farrell was against this decision, and he suggested the importance of reaching out to the customers of Snowmass Water & Sanitation for a public meeting where scientific information would be presented. I once again offered to bring in Dr. Bill Bailey, who is Professor and Delta Dental Endowed Chair for Early Childhood Caries Prevention, University of Colorado School of Dental Medicine, Anschutz Medical Campus. Dr. Bailey is a former U.S. assistant surgeon general, and he is an expert on water fluoridation.

This policy decision was made without a formal mention of a vote on the agenda, and I feel that this vote should have been publicly announced so Snowmass residents would have had an opportunity to learn more and provide their perspectives to the debate.

Aspen to Parachute Dental Health Alliance is promoting access to care for all residents in Pitkin, Garfield and Eagle counties. This is a blow to Pitkin County, which is already facing an access-to-care shortage for its residents. I would urge the Snowmass Water & Sanitation District Board to recall this vote and reinstate water fluoridation until the public has an opportunity to learn more about the science and peer-reviewed research. This policy decision impacts all the residents, and it makes APDHA’s efforts as well as the work of our wonderful dental community that much more difficult.

Letter: Don't miss Wildfest

July 24, 2015 — 

Summer in these parts is all about having fun in the great outdoors. The Roaring Fork Valley and surrounding public lands offer world-class hiking, biking, fishing, rafting, climbing — the list goes on. I think we can all agree that we are enormously lucky to live, work and play in central Colorado.

Saturday, Aug. 1 from 1 to 11 p.m., Wilderness Workshop is hosting a huge happening, Wildfest, to celebrate our common love of surrounding public lands. Wildest will feel a bit like the Deaf Camp picnics of yore and build on success of the Maroon Bells Birthday Bash last summer at the base of Highlands. We are going all out for a day and night of fun for the whole family.

Wildfest will unfold on the historic Other Side Ranch in Old Snowmass. It’s a spectacular setting for the awesome live music lineup, including our headline act the neo-bluegrass band Head for the Hills. Local chef Hayden Dudley will be teaming with the Humble Plum food truck to set up a Locavore Café with locally sourced veggies and Crystal River Meats. Coffee, teas and local beer and spirits will be served all day. There will be workshops and panel discussions, including one with former wildlife manager Kevin Wright. Fred “Lightning Heart” Haberlein will be leading participants in communal mural creation. Kids under 12 get in free and will enjoy the fun and games in the Kids Zone. And much more.

One and all, please come join us. Find out more online at www.wildernessworkshop.org/wildfest or on the Facebook Wildfest event page, or simply by calling the Workshop at 970-963-3977.

Tickets are $30 in advance or $35 at the door. We’re also looking for volunteers. I hope to see you there.

Letter: Others who make the Ute click

July 23, 2015 — 

Thank you for the wonderful story following an interview by Jessica Cabe that I enjoyed very much. I appreciate the Post Independent’s support of our efforts at The Ute Theater in Rifle, and am humbled and flattered at the nice piece.

While it is true I do a lot of stuff at the theater myself, it’s important to note that there are some other folks essential to making the theater a success. The Rifle Parks and Recreation Department is instrumental in helping me with the theater’s upkeep and maintenance. They are amazing. The Rifle planning Department has been instrumental in helping the theater in so many ways, to be successful, as well.

And I really want to make sure everyone realizes the role The New Ute Theater Society (NUTS) plays in the success of the Ute, from countless volunteer hours and help they have given me to the passion and vision that got this all started.

Once again, thank you for the thoughtful story. I just wanted to make sure the proper people got credit for the success of Rifle’s new gem, The Ute Theater.

Don Chaney

city Of Rifle special events manager

View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top