Letters to the Editor

Letter: Don’t give federal land to state

July 23, 2014 — 

As a big game hunter who (like over 90 percent of Colorado sportsmen) hunts public lands, the recent push by some elected officials and big-industry groups to transfer our federal public lands to state ownership, or to sell them off outright to private interests, is more than a little troubling.

Here in Colorado, legislation sponsored by Rep. Jerry Sonnenberg and Sen. Scott Renfroe is aimed at “transferring” our federal lands to the state. All such proposals are bad for sportsmen, bad for wildlife and bad for anyone who recreates on public lands. Transferring public lands to states would mean less hunting and fishing opportunities for the average American, because:

Learn more »

Free Press Letter: Monument vs. Park issue brings up questions

July 23, 2014 — 

There is irony in the status quo regarding Colorado National Monument. Would “The Monument” ever have come about without the efforts of John Otto? Would that have been opposed as well?

Monument status is a first step in the concept of protecting and sharing its natural beauty. If this status was inadequate, then it might require a change in status. Is there?

Learn more »

Free Press Letter: Support for Israel

July 22, 2014 — 

For the past several years, day in and day out, the people of Israel have had to endure rocket attacks coming from the terrorist organization that runs Gaza called Hamas. This terrorist organization indiscriminately targets Israeli civilians and uses innocent Palestinians as human shields. The world should demand that Hamas immediately renounce the use of violence and recognize Israel’s right to exist as a Jewish and democratic state.

No one should expect Israel to stand idly by while its citizens are the targets of continued rocket attacks. Every country’s and every government’s primary responsibility is to protect its citizens. The government of Israel and the people of Israel should not be held to any other standard. If we, in the United States, had missiles being fired onto our innocent civilians from across the border, we would move across the border to stop those terrorists from killing our people and do what we could to prevent those attacks from happening again. That is what Israel is doing.

Learn more »

Letter: The secretive return of a hero

July 21, 2014 — 

The shadows of the past have begun to resurface, unaccompanied by dread and regret, but rather joy and excitement.

Throughout town (A La Carte, Alpine Tires and probably more that I haven’t seen yet) my childhood idol has been seen posing in front of the sun, or has simply been cutting through too many closing windows. Either way, I did not see Peter Pan’s shadow connected to any significance until the other day, when I saw at the Glenwood Springs Community Center a poster advertising his infamous return to the stage by the grace of Stage Door. Creative and entertaining, the secret build up to this production has been discovered and commended.

Learn more »

Letter: Library should reinstate book sale, magazine exchange

July 21, 2014 — 

To date, two letters to the editor have questioned the need for a consultant to determine the direction the library needs to go, and one letter supporting hiring JVA Consulting.

I would like to add my thoughts, and they are free. We have a beautiful new building with lots of amenities, yet it is lacking two things that made the old library work.

Learn more »

Letter: What misguided border policies have created

July 20, 2014 — 

The open border advocates can now see firsthand what their misguided “humanitarian” policies have created.

They say we can’t deport the 11 million illegals hiding in this country. By presidential fiat Obama gave the “dreamers” de facto amnesty. And for goodness’ sake, we can’t break up any illegal families, the bleeding hearts cry.

Learn more »

Letter: Willey Coyote 5K an enormous success

July 20, 2014 — 

When we first heard about Bob Willey’s medical complications, we knew the best way to support him was to plan a community fundraiser 5K event. Among the many hats Bob has worn, he has been a running icon for decades and has frequented countless local races. He has always been one to provide love and support in our community. The success of this race is really a mirror of the love that he has shown to all throughout the years. He uplifts everyone around him, and it was impossible to not feel truly touched as you looked out into the sea of runners all there for Brother Willey.

The Willey Coyote 5K was an enormous success. 270 people ran in the race, many in costume, and countless others made donations totaling around $10,000 to help the family with medical expenses. Many people donated their time to make this event possible, and a few people truly went above and beyond to bring this race to fruition. Dr. Paul Salmen, Jenny and Alex Cutright, Jenna Cook, Mary Peplin, Amber Wissing, Rich Houghton, Mike and Connie Kishimoto, Mike Schneiter, Jeanne and David Sheriff, Mike Vidakovich, Sandy DeCrow, and the GSMS staff all stepped up to make this event a true victory.

Learn more »

Letter: Support enabled 300 to be at Storm King event

July 19, 2014 — 

On behalf of the South Canyon 20th Anniversary Commemoration Committee, we would like to thank the following organizations that were critical to making the event a success: The Colorado National Guard, Colorado Fallen Firefighter Foundation, Upper Arkansas Valley Wildfire Foundation, Dalby Wendland & Co., the National Smokejumpers Association, as well as all the individuals who donated to the Alpine Bank account set up for the event.

As a result of this support, nearly 300 family members of the 14 firefighters killed on Storm King Mountain in 1994 along with survivors were able to reconnect with each other, reach the site of the fatalities and join the hundreds of community members who attended the public commemorative event at Two Rivers Park. We also want to thank Kenny Frost, Ralph Holtby, Ron Milhorn and Doug Self for their participation in the commemorative event. Many family members and survivors expressed to us their appreciation to the community for keeping the pledge it made 20 years ago to never forget the Storm King 14.

Learn more »

Letter: The root cause of Mideast conflict

July 19, 2014 — 

Israel is doing a great job of turning the rest of the world against them: for occupying foreign territory, human rights violations, military interventions that violate international law (Just like us!). The Palestinians have been evicted from their homes, watched them be demolished along with their wells, no access to water, no civil rights to assemble or vote.

It’s encouraging to see so many Jewish-Americans speaking out against this policy, not unlike South Africa’s apartheid: arrest and imprisonment without charge or trial, searches without warrants, and ... torture. If you want the facts, from a true “insider,” listen to Mika Peled (“The General’s Son”) on YouTube.

Learn more »

Letter: Why not monitor for seismic activity?

July 18, 2014 — 

Here’s what I don’t get. Ursa has an opportunity to prove that injection wells don’t cause seismic activity and slightly ease the minds of residents at the same time. All the company has to do is monitor its site, openly and transparently. And it doesn’t. Makes a curious mind ask why — if there is nothing to hide.

I don’t know if there is a link or not between injection wells and earthquakes, but if I was trying to prove there wasn’t one, gain the public trust or set the standard for getting gas and oil with environmental integrity, I’d be begging someone to come monitor my site (for everything). I have no comment for why the commissioners wouldn’t want monitoring for us. A missed opportunity for all.

Carol Turtle

Glenwood Springs

Letter: Do libraries really need a consultant?

July 18, 2014 — 

I agree with Emily Miller of Glenwood Springs who wrote in reference to the Garfield County library system hiring JVA Consulting. I have no doubt that JVA is an excellent consulting firm, but do our libraries really need to hire an organization to tell them what to do? Couldn’t that money be better spent on books?

The main purpose of any library is to house collections of books, periodicals and sometimes films and recorded music for people to read, borrow or refer to.

As I live in Carbondale, I am only familiar with the Carbondale library. There are, simply stated, not enough books. There aren’t enough new books, fiction and non-fiction, and our stacks are not full. I read a lot and I depend on my local library to have (or obtain) books that I want to read. Many of my reading friends have voiced the same concerns.

Carbondale, as I will never tire of saying, is a wonderful, vibrant community and is unique in the Roaring Fork Valley. We are a creative, engaged, active, thoughtful community. I believe that our library’s collections should reflect all of our unique qualities as should each branch library cater to the requirements of its own community. Carbondale’s needs and interests are different than those of Rifle or Silt. All well-reviewed literary fiction and topical non-fiction must be a paramount part of Carbondale’s collection.

I want to thank Molly and staff for the jobs they are doing. I love walking into our library and seeing many young people there and I love the programs that are offered for both young and old. The library should and can be a community hub and still fulfill its purpose.

Ro Mead

Carbondale

Letter: Storm King mother: You didn’t forget

July 17, 2014 — 

A big thank-you to all the folks of Glenwood Springs and the surrounding communities for the wonderful events provided for the 20th anniversary of the terrible fire on Storm King Mountain. Your original words of “we will not forget” have again rung true in the hospitality you provided for friends and families of the deceased. I am sure there was much time, money, effort and organization given by many folks.

The events were very organized and we especially enjoyed the barbecue Saturday night where we could mingle with those we have not seen for several years as well as make new friends. Thanks to those who provided helicopter rides to folks that were unable to hike up Storm King Mountain to the crosses. It is a good hike and makes one realize the steep terrain of the area. It was also nice having the Craig and Prineville Hotshots helping with the events.

A special thank-you to our family representative, Greg Little, who has been there for us the past 20 years. He has been wonderful and is now part of our family.

God bless all of you.

Jan Diamantine

mother of Tami Bickett, Lebanon, Oregon

Letter: Cartoon oversimplified immigration mess

July 17, 2014 — 

Shame on the Post Independent for publishing a simplistic and misleading cartoon on its opinion page on July 14, pandering to emotions without explaining the whole story. The cartoon shows toddlers running from an explosion to a high chair surrounded by food and toys, while a frantic elephant screams “Send them back.”

First of all, the “kids” coming across the border are far from all being toddlers. The illegal immigrants are of all ages, from nursing babies to their parents, from unaccompanied minors to teenagers. Reports are coming in that illegal immigrants already in this country are hiring criminal organizations, usually involved in the drug trade, to smuggle their kids into the country. So much for caring parents, some of those kids are abused, or killed, or sold into who knows what? And what are we supposed to do with all these “kids?” Let them stay?

Are we then supposed to open our borders to the disadvantaged kids of Europe, South Africa and the Middle East? How do we decide who gets to stay, and who gets turned away? Where does it stop? Compassion as an individual decision is a worthy and desirable action. Compassion as a state policy leads to disastrous consequences, just like the current invasion we are witnessing at our southern border.

If you think these kids need a better life, please feel free to adopt as many as you can afford. If you don’t put your money where your mouth is, then you are no better than those of us who insist that they be sent back home. The only difference is you want to make them somebody else’s problem and pawn them off on society just so you can selfishly ease your conscience. The best we can do is to offer them medical treatment, clothes, food and a ticket back to where they came from. We as a nation can afford open borders or a welfare state, but not both. Pick one.

Joe Blanc

Silt

Letter: Don’t forget Whitewater

July 16, 2014 — 

I am extremely concerned about the 2016 presidential election if Hillary Rodham Clinton decides to campaign and raise money for her presidential bid. I do not trust her at all. I want to encourage registered voters to please reconsider their vote for Hillary Clinton. I want to remind voters that, in my opinion, Hillary has never admitted the truth about Castle Grande estates in Little Rock, Arkansas, which is where the Whitewater investigation began. Castle Grande was only a trailer park on this property, Hillary and White House attorneys used lies to deceive Congress that this was a separate segment of land within this development project.

In early 1982, Jim and Susan McDougal operated Madison Guaranty Savings and Loan. They partnered their savings and loan with Whitewater Development Corp. owned by William Jefferson and Hillary Rodham Clinton. These fraudulent loans became the subject of the Whitewater investigation. I believe Hillary knows what happened to the billing records that correspond to the defense work she completed on behalf of another development project associated with Castle Grande, known as Industrial Development Corp. Hillary has not admitted to this date that these actions are criminal. This lie that was officially exposed when Davis Fitzhugh, an official of Madison Guaranty, cashed his commission check upon the sale of building C Castle Grande.

Hillary served on the Wal-Mart board of directors only because she was against labor unions representing Wal-Mart workers. From 1986 to 1992, she only opposed labor union representation because she, in my opinion, used this for political gain. Hillary has received growing support for her presidential campaign from the same labor unions that she claimed to be against. One dozen labor unions at least support her presidential campaign, and that number is sure to increase — yet another Hillary Clinton hypocrisy.

All 44 U.S. presidents have spoken the oath of office of the president to uphold and defend the Constitution of the United States of America; I don’t trust Hillary to do this. Vote conservative Republican, please!

Lee Hailey

Rangely

An apology from the DMV for poor service

July 14, 2014 — 

The Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles apologizes for the service and inconvenience that Sara Garton experienced at our Glenwood Springs office. This is not the type of service that any Colorado resident should receive at any state office. We sincerely apologize to Ms. Garton and to all customers of the Glenwood Springs office.

Reducing wait times statewide is one of our major priorities. The governor’s objective, which has been supported by the Colorado General Assembly, is to reduce the average wait time in all drivers’ license offices to 15 minutes. We know that it will take some time to meet that goal, but please understand that we are working on it.

Last year was a very challenging year for the Division of Motor Vehicles. Due to long-term funding problems, we were required to hold open vacancies at offices statewide. On July 1, the DMV was given the funding necessary to hire all open vacancies. Unfortunately, last year Glenwood Springs was significantly impacted by this situation, and that office is one of our top priorities for hiring new employees. We are currently interviewing prospective new employees.

System outages have also been an issue in all our offices. As part of the governor’s objective to reduce office wait times, we are currently in the initial steps of replacing our outdated information technology system. The new system will not only allow our employees to better serve our customers, but will also have increased reliability, eliminating the outages that were experienced by Ms. Garton and other customers at the Glenwood Springs Office.

On behalf of the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles, I once again sincerely apologize for Ms. Garton’s experience. We will do better. The funding we have received will help us improve the driver’s license experience for all of our customers. The Glenwood Springs office is a priority.

Mike Dixon, senior director

Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles

WPX, Williams are separate entities in complex industry

July 14, 2014 — 

Understanding the complexity of the oil and gas industry is, in fact, one of the most difficult aspects to overcome. In 2012, WPX Energy was created as a new, independent company that separated off of Williams to focus on drilling and production. Today, WPX Energy produces the most natural gas in Colorado, enough to meet the energy needs of 3 million homes per day. Williams is a completely separate company, focused on midstream and processing of natural gas and natural gas liquids. WPX is simply a customer of Williams.

WPX Energy takes very seriously the environmental practices utilized daily in our drilling and production operations. Since 2012, WPX has been recognized by the State of Colorado for environmental and reclamation practices, drilling innovation and technology that reduces impacts on the environment, water quality protection and safety. WPX Energy is committed to continuing to work closely with local governments, the State of Colorado and federal regulators to develop innovations that protect and improve the impacts of development.

Bill Conder’s recent opinion does not distinguish between the two companies, yet he points out several issues that are specific only to Williams, not WPX Energy. It’s understandable why the confusion exists. The complexity of the industry and understanding the difference between the phases of production, and which companies are responsible, is challenging. This is why accepting reporter Scott Condon’s request at the Aspen Times to tour our facilities is important to ensure news reports provide specific information about the industry to build understanding that promotes an informed conversation around responsible oil and gas development in Colorado.

Jeff Kirtland

Community relations representative, WPX Energy

Free Press Letter: Won’t eat at Shooters, but not because of guns

July 14, 2014 — 

While I applaud Shooters Restaurant [in Rifle, Colo.] for their bold move, I will NOT dine there.

I have no problem with waitresses wearing loaded pistols on their hips, or inviting their patrons to do the same. It’s legal in Colorado to open carry your weapon. Heck, my first boyfriend always had a .22 pistol on his hip! I don’t own guns, but that’s my choice, just as it’s others’ choice to own guns. Good move not serving alcohol. Very responsible. The concealed carry classes are a wonderful marketing idea, too. I’m always for gun education.

What I do not agree with is their “throwing Jesus all over the restaurant.” Patrons have always been free to pray before a meal in every restaurant I have frequented, so I do not understand the need to inject Jesus into a public dining experience.

I have said this time and again, and I will say it once more; religion has no business in business, just as politics has no business in business. It’s just bad business to combine these things as you will inevitably offend potential customers, like myself.

As an aside, I wonder how much their insurance is costing them. What with all those guns and all. Hmmm ...

When Shooters decides to remove the religious element from their establishment I will give them my business. Good luck to them in their new venture.

Laura Wachler

Grand Junction, Colo.

Free Press Letter: National Park status for Colorado National Monument good for the majority

July 14, 2014 — 

It’s sad to see how narrow minded people are when it comes to what is good for the majority and what they want for themselves. I attended several public forums on the change of Colorado National Monument to a park. I tried to see their side, but when they talked about a benefit to them instead of a benefit to the people of the Grand Valley, I just couldn’t see their point.

I have been a real estate broker for nearly 40 years in the valley and there isn’t anything harder than to see a family in tears because I just told them their house won’t sell for enough to pay off the existing mortgage. I have seen the economy go bust three times because the energy industry left the area. We had a chance to have an industry that would sustain the economy. A national park is just like any industry that would move into the area; it would bring jobs and prosperity to the people of the area. It is also the perfect industry — people come, leave their money in the valley, and then go away.

For those woefully uninformed, the Colorado National Monument is run by and staffed with exactly the same people who would run it as a national park! The next time you see a ranger, ask them if they have ever worked at a national park and they will say yes because parks and monuments are run by the same people with the same rules!

Yellowstone National Park and Grand Tetons National Park aren’t the personal property of Jackson, Wyo.; Rocky Mountain isn’t the personal property of Estes Park, Colo; and the Colorado National Monument isn’t the personal property of the Grand Valley. We are unique in all the world and it is selfish to not share it.

If you think the natural gas and oil people will be in the valley forever, remember the monument when they pull out and the value of your house drops by 50 percent, or more. No matter what side you are on, there is an easy way to show it; vote in the next election.

Mike Shults

Redlands, Colo.

Free Press Letter: Relieved Colorado National Monument will not receive park status

July 14, 2014 — 

I’m delighted and relieved that our beloved Colorado National Monument will remain a monument, hopefully forever. Many people of the Grand Valley, including the newly formed Friends of the Colorado National Monument, have led the movement against changing the designation to a park. Tipton and Udall wisely listened to their constituents and realized there is no overwhelming backing for the change.

The Daily Sentinel and Ms. Chappell are way off base in thinking the re-designation would benefit our area economically. In other areas where monuments were renamed parks, not much changed, though statistics can be skewed to show some benefit. Also, any economic benefit from the service-type jobs created by such a change would pale when compared to the economic damage already done here by the loss of so many energy related jobs.

Changing to a park would have resulted in much more federal regulation of our lifestyles, especially from the EPA which has too much regulatory power as it is. It has happened at many other parks and the locals in those areas are not happy. The argument that the CNM would be better protected as a park is nonsense. It is already well protected.

So, the assertion that the monument not becoming a park is deeply disturbing for our area is simply not true. Perhaps for the few who wanted the change. But for the many who did not want the change, Tipton’s and Udall’s decision is a blessing.

Susan Benjamin

Grand Junction, Colo.

Free Press Letter: Sidearms in restaurant not a deterrent for this reader

July 14, 2014 — 

Next time I’m in Rifle, Colo., I will probably stop in at Shooters [a restaurant recently in the news for encouraging waitstaff and patrons to open carry firearms] just to check it out. I don’t imagine it will bother me if folks are carrying sidearms or not. I know I won’t worry about a robbery or mass murder while I’m there! On the other hand, I don’t know if I’ll enjoy strong political statements one way or another in eateries. Bottom line is probably that if the food, service and atmosphere is good, I’ll enjoy my visit and probably return.

Mark Smith

Grand Junction, Colo.

Letter: Does Obama think we’re McStupids?

July 12, 2014 — 

Let’s be honest, it costs a lot of money to be a liberal. Everything you purchase now costs more. Government health care, food and gas prices have gone through the roof. It’s a ripple effect. Do you think raising the minimum wage will solve anything? Paying someone $15/hour to put a pickle on a bun or flip a burger is nuts. Does Obama think we’re McStupids? Our military doesn’t even get paid minimum wage.

Voters were hoodwinked in the last election by an untrustworthy president who wrote the book on lying: Benghazi; the IRS scandal; NSA spying; Fast and Furious; industry bailouts; job creation promises (shovel-ready jobs); transparency (Remember “You didn’t build that?”); the hollow Syrian red line in the sand threat; the $17 trillion debt; his pledge to “protect and defend our Constitution,” not change it; the VA debacle; and now he alone will solve our terrible immigration problem. All I can say is “Please, Mr. President, spare me the details of your next promise, or, better yet, lie, before I throw up.”

Only 5 1/2 years earlier gas was $1.80/gal, jobs were plentiful and higher education was affordable. Life was pretty good. We were all happy.

Enter Obama. Now the American middle class is vanishing right before our eyes. We’ve gone from living comfortably to struggling to barely survive. Our wealth has plunged drastically. Isn’t the federal government supposed to work for us and not the other way around?

Obama promised heaven but delivered hell in the form of poverty, dependency and hopelessness … no jobs. What are you going to do about it in November? Do you want your life run by the federal government or do you want to be the master of you own destiny? Then don’t vote for people like Hillary Clinton, Elizabeth Warren, Mark Udall and all their kind. There are consequences to voting. Now go do the right thing.

Stan Rachesky

Glenwood Springs

Letter: The pink bunny made me grin

July 12, 2014 — 

I don’t generally read newspapers, but while in a waiting room this morning I picked up a copy of the PI and immediately turned to the letters section, where I saw Deanna Liebl’s critique of the Pink Bunny. The first time I saw the sculpture, I grinned from ear to ear in appreciation of the artist’s sense of whimsy and flawless execution.

Having worked in metal; noble, base, exotic and ferrous, for the past 45 years, I’m always critical of metalwork, but never found anything awkward, unbalanced, sloppy or otherwise aesthetically displeasing about the sculpture, and every time I saw it, it made me grin. It is certainly better than the Picasso and the Calder travesties proudly exhibited in downtown Chicago.

Neal Pollack

Carbondale

Letter: Despicable article on drowning victim

July 11, 2014 — 

[Friday’s] article concerning the passing of George Hoskovec was the most despicable, “thoughtless” piece of so-called journalism I’ve ever read. To his many friends in this valley and to his family, I’m positive a well “thought” out apology is going to happen soon.

Keith Wayne

Glenwood Springs

Letter: Jobs report masks our economic pain

July 11, 2014 — 

My letter pertains to the Associated Press story published in the Post Independent on July 4 with this headline: “Jobs report: U. S. recovery accelerating.” The subheadline read: “Employers added 288,000 jobs in June, unemployment fell to 6.1 percent.” I will take issue with these headlines stating that economic recovery is accelerating. Month after month, I see opinionated stories by the mainstream media that the economy is recovering and is almost 100 percent healthy.

The monthly job report stories should go on the editorial/opinion pages of our nation’s newspapers and not in the main news section. Wall Street, the Fed and the current administration use their influence to fluff up the job numbers and the economy in the press at every opportunity. It is good to see the increase in jobs, but there is a lot of fuzziness in these employment numbers. A large percentage of these jobs added each month are part-time. Many of the job numbers are only estimations. These added job numbers are very misleading.

What are the real unemployment numbers in America? The Bureau of Labor Statistics reported that the unemployment rate is 6.1 percent, or 9.5 million unemployed people. According to economy watchdogs, the real unemployment rate is always about double of the government-stated numbers.

Kimberly Amadeo, About.com. US Economy, one of these watchdogs, illustrated a specific formula in a recent posting that shows 19.046 million Americans are unemployed and the unemployment rate is actually 12.1 percent. I believe that the unemployment numbers are much higher than this. There are thousands or even millions of Americans who gave up finding a job during the past three or four years.

There is no economic recovery on Main Street America with the minimum wage stuck at $7.25 and thousands of only part-time jobs available. Ample good-paying full-time jobs may never return to this economy.

Randy Fricke

New Castle

LETTER: Fee needed on all carbon-based fuels

July 10, 2014 — 

Kudos to Lisa McKenzie and Dr. John Hughes for their ongoing investigation of public health impacts from gas drilling in Garfield County. The fact that studies funded by the state of Colorado have not yet made a conclusive link between environmental decline and human health should not hinder our good common sense. Let’s not forget, after all, that officials took years to accept conclusive evidence of the poisoning that sickened the people of Love Canal.

The state of Colorado might have a better chance to protect its citizens if the social dangers inherent in fossil fuel extraction were accounted for in the price of the resource. In classical, capitalist economics, this is called internalizing the externalities, and it’s a fundamental tenant of conservative, free-market wisdom.

One piece of the pie for Garfield County would be a fee on all carbon-based fuels, based on their CO2 equivalents, with 100 percent of the money returned to households as a monthly check.

This is exactly the revenue-neutral, federal carbon fee and dividend currently proposed by Citizens Climate Lobby, advocated by Republican former Treasury Secretary George Schultz, and waiting on Rep. Tipton’s desk. Carbon fee and dividend won’t resolve all our issues related to gas and health, but it will allow the free market to correctly price and prioritize the common good in relation to climate change and air quality.

The best part is that even without accounting for potential environmental benefits, carbon fee and dividend actually grows GDP 1 percent and adds 2-3 million jobs over 20 years. With the right market signals, we can have prosperity and keep our health.

Amelia Potvin

Carbondale

www.citizensclimatelobby.org

LETTER: Double standard favors renewable energy

July 10, 2014 — 

A recent headline in the Aspen Daily News stated “Feds nix eagle penalties for California wind farm.”

Am I the only reader who sees a double standard in the way this administration treats renewable versus fossil energy projects? If ponds at an oil well site were not protected by nets, and if an eagle (or sage grouse) died in one of them, do you think the penalties would be nixed? Of course not.

Yes, it is good that the nation is diversifying its energy sources, but how about being realistic about the social, economic and environmental impacts from renewable energy ­that are not insignificant in many respects?

Thank you, Mr. Michael Hutchins of the American Bird Conservancy for saying “wind energy has gotten ahead of the science and regulation.” Birds and bats beware.

Glenn Vawter

Glenwood Springs

Letter: Marijuana ad misrepresents Glenwood Springs

July 9, 2014 — 

I cannot believe it. I am looking at the “special” front page of the Post Independent for July Fourth. A beautiful display of what we have in GWS and the symbol of our great country. And what do I see on the bottom of the page?

An ad for a “pot” store and its Fourth of July specials.

Come on! Is this what we want to represent our town and the Roaring Fork Valley?

It is a discredit to our town, the valley and our great country. It gives the wrong impression as to what we are about.

Peggy McKinster

Glenwood Springs

Publisher’s note: Freedom of speech includes advertising of legal goods, and licensed marijuana sales are legal commerce in Colorado.

Letter: Praise for Heritage Park Care Center

July 9, 2014 — 

I recently lost a close friend who spent the last 18 months of her life at Heritage Park Care Center, first in assisted living and then, as her health further failed following several strokes, in the skilled nursing section. For the last month of my friend’s life, I was there several times a day and able to observe the excellent care provided by the kind, caring and dedicated staff; I cannot speak more highly of their commitment to their clients’ well being.

It is so difficult to observe our loved ones in discomfort and we strive to do all we can to ease their pain. I felt that every request that I made to Heritage on her behalf was honored and every attempt was made to fulfill her needs. She was treated with the utmost dignity and respect and loving care. I am very grateful to the wonderful folks at Heritage Park. How fortunate we are to have this facility in our community.

Patti Stranahan

Carbondale

Letter: Worse than the pink bunny

July 9, 2014 — 

I was so thankful that Carbondale finally replaced that horrible “Pepto-Bismol pink” bunny and have been anxious to find out what the sculpture would be for the roundabout — thinking it couldn’t be as bad as the pink bunny — hoping it would be something we could all be proud of. Today I saw the photo and article on the James Surls “sculpture.”

Twenty feet of appallingly ugly scrap metal — the only way it could be uglier is if he spray painted it “Pepto-Bismol pink.”

It’s a horrible, embarrassing, eyesore.

Deanna Liebl

Carbondale

Letter: Volunteers make Habitat model work

July 8, 2014 — 

Residents of River Valley Ranch contributed 23 percent of the total volunteer labor man hours utilized in completing the recently dedicated Habitat for Humanity/Roaring Fork Valley home built in Keator Grove/Carbondale for the Lavender family.

Members of the Carbondale Rotary Club stepped up contributing another 7 percent of the total.

The market value of the total volunteer hours contributed to the Lavender home approximates $100,000.

Those of us who participated are proud to have made a difference in lending a hand up. Without volunteers, the Habitat model doesn’t work and the simple, decent, affordable homes so needed in this valley and elsewhere around the world don’t get built.

Jim Noyes

volunteer president, River Valley Ranch Homeowners Association

View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top