Letters to the Editor

More letters on FedEx, coffee and more

November 21, 2014 — 

Let’s Boycott FedEx

If FedEx continues to pursue building its distribution center in Glenwood Springs near Sopris Elementary, then I urge everyone who opposes this decision to immediately boycott FedEx as a carrier. In addition, please ask your friends and family to do the same when shipping packages here. If FedEx doesn’t care about our community, maybe they’ll care about their bottom line.

Learn more »

Letters to the Editor Views on FedEx, recent PI articles and more

November 20, 2014 — 

FedEx Double Talk

The current landlord in Carbondale indicated he wanted FedEx to stay put.

Learn more »

Letter: Advice to Obama

November 19, 2014 — 

1. When it comes to Congress, don’t take a vase of flowers to a gun fight.

2. Refer to John Boehner as “boy.” Running the U.S. House of Representatives is a man’s (or woman’s) job. He’s not up to it. For example: “It seems like there is a boy running the House.” This is turning the obvious racism on its head.

Learn more »

Letter: PI shouldn’t charge for obituaries

November 19, 2014 — 

I’m shocked and appalled how the Post Independent cashes in on obituaries. Your paper is rather small, 20 or so pages. It is free. The valley is small. So when someone from that valley dies, it is normally a friend or family member whom people there have known their entire life.

The cost of a burial ranges from $13,000-$15,000. So just when you have everything paid for, plans are set, the last part is to submit an obituary to honor the person you have loved and lost. Then you find out to write two paragraphs is over $300 ranging to $800?

Learn more »

Letter: Anderson’s questionable sources

November 17, 2014 — 

The obviously invented quotes attributed by Bob Anderson in his Nov. 6 letter, “Environmental wackos’ ridiculous claims,” gives rise to several questions concerning his breadth of reading and sources for his beliefs.

In a few short clicks, I found the source of the quotes to be a website titled, “To the Point News,” where for a mere $120 annual fee, one can receive printed newsletters as well as site access. I was unable to spend the time or money needed to check all the resume of Jack Wheeler, who apparently runs the site. His claims of formulating the Reagan Doctrine; retracing Hannibal’s route over the Alps with elephants of his own; discovering previously uncontacted jungle tribes; conducting worldwide expeditions on several continents; free-falling over the North Pole, where he has led some 20 expeditions; fighting the Russians with Afghan mujahideen; living with Amazonian headhunters at age 16; hunting tigers at age 17 in Vietnam; fighting with the Nicaraguan Contras; etc., etc., etc., seem totally incredible. I suspect some, if not all, are as invented as his Kerry quotes.

Learn more »

Letter: Carbon fee is a nonpartisan issue

November 17, 2014 — 

The elections may have changed the political makeup of our state, but as a community concerned about environmental justice, our commitment to enacting climate solutions remains the same. Ultimately, what determines our failure or success in solving the most pressing issue of our time depends not on what happened on Election Day, but what happens after Election Day.

The Roaring Fork Valley chapter of Citizens’ Climate Lobby is working to enact a market-based solution to climate change – a fee on carbon at the source of extraction that is then returned to residents. This program, touted by conservative economists, would shift our energy dependence away from fossil fuels and create competition and jobs in the renewable energy sector, reduce carbon emissions by 50 percent in 20 years and make a clean energy future a reality.

Learn more »

Letter: Speak up on FedEx issue Monday

November 15, 2014 — 

Garfield County commissioners meeting, Monday, Nov. 17, on FedEx relocation. If you are upset about the BOCC’s highhanded approval of the relocation of the FedEx distribution center to south Glenwood then please attend and speak your mind at this meeting.

The approval was made without due regard to the impacts on neighborhood and local school traffic. While the county offered a paltry sum of $ 600,000 to mitigate the impacts of more than 230 heavy trucks a day, the reality is that south Midland and the 27th Street bridge are already way overtaxed and in dire need of multimillion-dollar improvements to deal with current traffic volumes.

Learn more »

Letter: Glenwood’s restaurant scene on fire

November 15, 2014 — 

Autumn is moving out. The mornings are crisp and the sun hangs low in the sky. Just the sort of thing that makes you dream of cuddling up with a significant other … Alas, I am single. But that is not to say that I am not madly in love — with Cianfotta (pronounced Chee-in-phota).

Have you been to downtown Glenwood recently? There are at least 10 restaurants in a two-block area. The atmosphere is vibrant, the people are out and about and the food is delicious. I lived in San Francisco for 10 years and this is something I experienced there as the foody city grew in the dotcom era — neighborhoods of eateries!

Learn more »

Letter: ‘Les Miserables’ is marvelous

November 15, 2014 — 

The Defiance Community Player’s production of “Les Miserables” is outstanding.

If you haven’t seen this show, you must. As veterans with the organization, this show is the best to date Defiance has ever done. The talent and professionalism is truly amazing.

Learn more »

Letter: Tomato, tamato, let’s call the whole thing off

November 15, 2014 — 

Kudos to the City of Glenwood when it announced the following in Nov. 8’s edition of the PI: “Any new South Glenwood development needs access.” I think everyone heard the cheers, the sighs of relief and the multitudes of “Thank you, City of Glenwood” from every sector of this community. So let me reiterate: Thank you, City of Glenwood.

Three days later, Czar Martin and Puppet Sampson announced in the PI “Take FedEx money or leave it.” I think everyone heard the boos, the frustrating expletives and the multitudes thinking, “Are you kidding me?” from every sector of this community.

Sampson also had the guts to say he is “aggravated” about the situation, and is “against us [the BOCC] becoming a mediary to this.” Really? The people who you disregarded are the aggravated ones — you know — the ones who vote for you, live along Midland or Four Mile, plus the City of Glenwood, too. Do you even know who these people are? You were the one who made this bed of thorns, and you have no right to be aggravated.

Here’s a thought: If the BOCC crams this debacle down the throats of the city, I say let’s have the city quickly pass a law banning large transport traffic on the already deteriorated Midland. Tomato fight! And to all of the good folks of Glenwood — remember: if it comes to legal mediation, it is your tax dollars that will foot the bill for this BS tomato fight. Barf.

If this debacle could magically be voted upon, everyone knows what the outcome would be — everyone except a czar and a puppet. Martin and Sampson are like bullies in the sandbox. Bullying is being stomped out. Citizens of Glenwood, put on your boots and let’s get stomping.

Letter: Sullivan: We proved our point

November 15, 2014 — 

I started this endeavor with one goal, one point, really. I wanted to prove that a voice was missing on the BOCC, a formidable opinion that exists from the Roaring Fork Valley to Parachute. Today, with the help of so many people, I believe that I have accomplished that goal and more.

The numbers back me up: 65 percent of Carbondale (precincts 1-4) voted in favor of our platform. In the Roaring Fork Valley (1-8), 59 percent voted yes to our message.

Fifty-seven of District One (1-10), the seat contested, voted Sullivan. I’m proud of that. It validates my point. Countywide, more than a third, 42 percent, voted for our stand on the issues.

I congratulate Tom on his victory and a very well-run campaign. Yet I can’t help but wonder if perhaps the system needs an adjustment to more accurately reflect the will of the people. We deserve a seat at the table. I’ll continue to work on that.

To my circle of advisers, friends and colleagues on the street, I extend my sincere appreciation for your encouragement, time and expert advice. To my financial supporters, thank you for the opportunity to build a base that will continue to grow. To Chairman Shivley and my fellow Democrats, thank you for the honor. To my bride, I simply could not have done it without you.

Our task today is to grow from our solid base, learn from our mistakes and adjust our strategies. As for me, I’ll continue to promote our very valid opinion at every opportunity. I hope you do the same.

Thank you for the honor and privilege of representing your voice.

Letter: God bless America

November 13, 2014 — 

I was a vet serving four years in the Marines and proud of my service. I went to work at the U.S. Post Office a few years after I was discharged, as many vets have since. It was funded by the general tax funds back then and the postmaster general was a member of the president’s Cabinet.

Working in the South, postal pay was not much, but better than anything else at that time. Insurance, federal retirement was something most other jobs couldn’t provide. My service time was supposed to also count on my years of federal employment. The postal workers in other areas, however, weren’t faring as well. In New York they actually qualified for welfare if they had three children. Pay was less than the garbage workers in the city.

The workers met and they all walked out and that was a federal crime but they didn’t care. Neither did the carriers in other big offices throughout America and soon there was a nationwide postal strike. The National Guard was called in but had no idea how or what to do and the mail kept piling up. In less than a week, President Nixon held a historical meeting in his Oval office at the White House. It consisted of worker representatives and postal managers. When they came out of that office, the U.S. Postal Service was created. They remained federal employees, allowed to unionize and bargain for rights and wages.

Within five years, the new Postal Service would no longer be funded by the general taxes and would become self-sufficient based on the income for services rendered, same as private businesses. Immunity was granted to all who went out on strike and a Board of Governors was appointed by the president to run the Postal Service.

This year, a post office in Manhattan was named after the heroic individual who forced and led the historical postal strike, Vincent R. Sombrotto, someone I am proud to have called my friend.

Letter: How could $400K theft occur

November 13, 2014 — 

I read with great disappointment that another of our public employees has violated our trust and stolen from the citizens of the Roaring Fork Valley, and specifically here in Glenwood Springs.

Robin McMillan has been arrested, charged with stealing around $400,000 of our taxpayer dollars. Sadly, this arrest is on the heals of a similar theft of about $16,000, which was discovered not too long ago, also in Glenwood Springs. The Town of Marble had a similar incident a few years ago where the clerk there pilfered some $200,000, and such thefts have taken place in Aspen and a few other communities in the area, as well.

What is wrong with the accounting and accountability procedures in all of these offices? Where were the supervisors, the “checks and balances” to the system, the auditors, and/or the IRS? McMillan is accused of steeling money from approximately 2008 until this year. This is a long time for the theft to go undiscovered.

Personally, I blame their supervisors and the policies and procedures in each of these offices. A boss has to be pretty cavalier to not be checking on employees more diligently, and/or to delegate responsibilities to the point of making it this easy to rip off our residents. Why, and how, does this happen, and what are we going to do about it? Fire the managers, and put better safeguards in place — now.

Letter: Good column by Hal Sundin

November 12, 2014 — 

I enjoyed reading Ross Talbott’s column in this past Tuesday’s PI.

I found his study of the causes and effects of income inequality well-written and thought-provoking. The objectivity and progressive thinking was quite a change from his usual self-righteous screeds of fear and loathing.

Then on Wednesday I saw the correction explaining that it was actually Hal Sundin’s column. Then I read Ross’ real column.

Keep up the good work, Hal.

Editor’s note: The PI mistakenly attributed Sundin’s column last week to Talbott, and then ran each under the correct author’s name.

Letter: Mourning election outcome

November 12, 2014 — 

I’ll be wearing black for a while in mourning for the loss of dignity, reason and just plain humanitarian goodness displayed in the outcome of the election last week. There are some bright spots; Sen. Al Franken retained his position, as did Gov. Hickenlooper, for instance. However the re-election of Mitch McConnell to the Senate with certainty that he will become the majority leader, is, in my opinion, a death knell to many of the social programs that have evolved in the U.S. in recent years.

As minority leader, McConnell’s shamefully stated goal to make Obama a one-term president and his obstruction of our president at every turn is a mockery of statesmanship. And then to use Obama’s “failure,” (largely McConnell-induced) along with millions of dollars in campaign funds, to taint Democratic candidates by association is, again, shameful.

Cory Gardner’s election has the same aroma in his defeat of Mark Udall. Saddest of all is that it worked and we have lost the high values and experience of a fine public servant.

Bill Moyers, in one of his commentaries about wrongdoing in the government, asked, “Where is the rage?” Well, some of it is right here, but most of it, I think, is not realized or expressed because we are not investing as we should in education. Too much of our population is not aware of what is going on in the country. Too many people have not learned how to think critically about the information they receive and the decisions they make.

This is a job for our schools, but it takes money. And allocating that money seems not to be high on our priority list. Instead, it is accumulating at the top and being used to secure the status of those who are already well off.

We like to rhapsodize about our democracy in contrast to authoritarian dictatorships, but I don’t think it’s too much of a stretch to liken the power of money in swaying elections to the power of single-minded megalomaniacs who rule with ruthless intent.

Letter: Outstanding work by Garfield election staff

November 12, 2014 — 

I want to express my admiration for Jean Alberico and the entire Garfield County election staff. I had the privilege to work with them over the past four weeks as an election Judge and can attest to their transparent and bipartisan process. Voters can be assured that their ballot was protected, treated with respect and counted.

Thank you, Jean and staff, for administering an honest election and preserving every citizen’s most precious right to vote.

Letter: Sen.-elect Gardner, let’s cut carbon

November 10, 2014 — 

Congratulations to Rep. Cory Gardner, and welcome to the Senate. Now more than ever, our country needs leaders who can unite the people toward a common vision that addresses our current economic and ecological realities.

As a volunteer for Citizens Climate Lobby, I look forward to working with Sen.-elect Gardner, as well as with Rep. Scott Tipton in the Third District, to curb carbon pollution and to ensure that the U.S. economy will prosper for decades to come.

The most promising policy is carbon fee and dividend. It is hailed by conservative economists as a simple, no-nonsense approach consistent with free market principles. The fee is collected when fossil fuels come out of the ground, and 100 percent of revenues return to American households. Mr. Gardner, I trust you will rise to the occasion, and I look forward to meeting you and your staff.

Amelia Potvin

Carbondale

Letter: Outstanding work by Garfield election staff

November 10, 2014 — 

I want to express my admiration for Jean Alberico and the entire Garfield County election staff. I had the privilege to work with them over the past four weeks as an election Judge and can attest to their transparent and bipartisan process. Voters can be assured that their ballot was protected, treated with respect and counted.

Thank you, Jean and staff, for administering an honest election and preserving every citizen’s most precious right to vote.

Lawrence Singer

Carbondale

Letter: Concern for environment not ‘wacko’

November 10, 2014 — 

I’m compelled to write after reading Bob Anderson’s letter of Nov. 6, in which he says that “environmental wackos” are “making ridiculous claims.”

First, I find no record of Secretary Kerry having made the first remark that Mr. Anderson quotes – a search for it leads only to Mr. Anderson’s letter, even though all of Secretary Kerry’s remarks are available online through the State Department website.

Second, Mr. Anderson disputes Secretary Kerry’s alleged statement with factual inaccuracies of his own. He writes, “…the ice age of around 20,000 years ago, when palm trees grew in Antarctica, grapes grew in northern England and there was a glacier where Chicago is today.”

He is correct that 21,000 years ago the Laurentide ice sheet extended as far south as Chicago. This is the only true thing he says. Grapes did not grow in England 20,000 years ago because, a. England was also glaciated at the time and b. grapes originated in the Middle East ca. 8,000 years ago. If Mr. Anderson has mixed his dates and is referring to the cultivation of medieval vineyards in England, these only grew in the south of the country. His claim about palm trees in Antarctica is also incorrect. Fossils of Antarctic palms are from the Eocene period, ca. 52 million years ago, when the earth had twice the amount of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere as it does today. The lead author on the study publishing those fossils notes, “If the current CO2 emissions continue unabated due to the burning of fossil fuels, CO2 concentrations in the atmosphere, as they existed in the distant past, are likely to be achieved within a few hundred years.”

I don’t have the room here to rebut Mr. Anderson’s description of greenhouse gases, but it displays a seemingly willful desire to misrepresent facts. As for the farting cows – livestock and their manure account for approximately 30 percent of the U.S.’s total methane emissions, which are a major component in human-produced greenhouse gases.

Mr. Anderson snaps, “These environmental wackos like Kerry, Al Gore, Leonardo DiCaprio, etc. don’t care about facts.” Pot, kettle, black?

Jamie Anderson (no relation)

Glenwood Springs

Free Press Letter: Appreciating Fruita coverage in Free Press

November 10, 2014 — 

After picking up my Free Press today, getting home, opening it up and reading the article dedicated to Fruita, I must say I was pleasantly surprised.

Since the loss of our local Fruita Times, and the empty promises by the other publication in town that they would indeed cover what is happening in Fruita, I am very happy that someone is going to pay attention to our home town.

There is a lot going on in Fruita, and without the voice of the Fruita Times, a lot of local people are missing out on those events.

Once again thank you, Free Press.

James Owen

Fruita, Colo.

Letter: Final stages of capitalism

November 9, 2014 — 

Watching the national election map turn red was like seeing a red infection of the skin spreading across a body. Like a cancer, an Ebola virus or a pine bark beetle infection, the deadly scourge is a parasite that seeks to suck the life out of its host. Every defense is gone. The immune system is cast aside: the free press and media, gone; an honest judiciary, gone; the right to vote of minorities, gone; an honest counting of votes, gone; the regulatory process, gone.

This disease seeks only wealth and power. They are inseparable; one feeds the other. Like a parasite fatal to its host, it is only self-serving. The 1 percent cares nothing for the 99; the fat billionaires will bleed the rest dry. Forget about social safety nets, forget about business regulation, forget about jobs, forget about universal education, forget about health protection, forget about fresh healthy foods and meats, forget about freedom of speech, forget about a living minimum wage, forget about clean air and water, and forget about taxes on wealth.

We are seeing capitalism in its final stages — it concentrates all value and wealth to the top. Only a handful of banks, insurance companies, health companies, food companies, communication companies, energy companies and large industry companies will remain. Competition will not exist. This is true fascism: a melding of the government and the commerce.

The elite will protect themselves against any challenge or unrest with a massive military and a heavily armed and militarized police force. Endless war becomes the economic driver. The media will bombard the population with the propaganda; as it does even now.

How did they do it? Millions of angry and frustrated voters, that could have turned the tide, stayed home. Hundreds of thousands more were actually removed from the voting rolls. Why did the House of Representatives do nothing this term and last? They wanted to focus all their energy on attacking Obama. They successfully made the word Obama toxic.

This was all by design. The object is to create a nationwide feeling of “learned helplessness.” You can keep a population in check, as was done with slaves, by creating the feeling that nothing can be done. That the politicians are mean, uncaring bought-and-sold crooks and that voting can’t change anything. And, they spent billions. The return on investment will be huge.

As a diehard conservative (and he will) told me just recently, everyone should take care of themselves. What bothers him the most is “those people” that are living off his tax money. The “undeserving” is one of the most powerful and effective propaganda messages ever created.

Forget about the Golden Rule and “I am my brother’s keeper.” And as a result; united we are not; and divided we will fall.

Letter: Stop the light pollution on Iron Mountain

November 8, 2014 — 

Where is everyone when the health and beauty of Glenwood Springs are at stake? The International Dark Sky Association says: “Human-produced light pollution not only mars our view of the stars; poor lighting threatens astronomy, disrupts ecosystems, affects human circadian rhythms, and wastes energy to the tune of $2.2 billion per year in the U.S. alone.”

Randy Essex is wrong when he comments on the radio that Glenwood citizens “seem comfortable” with the Glenwood Caverns’ plan to so excessively light up Iron Mountain and their outrageous suggestion that the Glenwood business community follow suit. I have spoken with many residents about this issue. When I mention it, no one I talked to felt good about it. Many just shook their heads in frustration and disbelief, seemingly not knowing what to do to stop this invasion.

Please write an e-mail to the City Council, the DBA, chamber and, of course, Steve Beckley, expressing your thoughts about this matter. We’re busy people, but just a short e-mail, or telephone call to him might put an end to this awful idea.

I remember his original promise at a 2002 council meeting that “only a tramway, a retail hotel and a restaurant,” where very little of these structures would be seen from Glenwood, was the plan. What we now have is a carnival/amusement park which has spread out all over the top and sides of Iron Mountain.

Now we must deal with these lights. It makes me wonder if there is any oversight over what can and cannot happen on Iron Mountain, and who is in charge of making those decisions. While I know Mr. Beckley is interested in his bottom line, I believe the interests of the residents of the community and their quality of life must be taken into consideration. Downtown Glenwood is not only a place for businesses, but is also a wonderful residential neighborhood. Tourists I’ve talked to said they travel here to enjoy the scenery and starry nights and will return for those reasons. Not one said they come to see bright lights glaring all over town.

Letter: Seeking allies to press for bridge vote

November 8, 2014 — 

The other day I got a call from Keith Speranza asking to have his name added to the original letter calling for a vote of all the citizens on the proposed new Highway 82 bridge over the Colorado River and signed by 12 people. He suggested that I issue another call for signatures. In addition to Keith Speranza here are the names of people so far who have asked to be included: Arlene Stabenow, Phil Gallagher, Steve Campbell, Sherry Reed, Patrick Hunter, and June and Pat Copenhaver.

You may write, email or call me: Jim Breasted, 678 Sopris Ave., Carbondale, CO 81623, 970-963-4190, jamesbreasted@Q.com.

My next action will be to forward the letter with all signatures to the county commissioners of Eagle, Pitkin and Garfield counties asking that the three counties cooperate by scheduling a tri-county vote on the question of a Glenwood Springs Highway 82 bypass. I will also suggest that the three counties consider forming a Regional Transportation Authority (similar to RFTA) to help CDOT plan, design and fund the bypass.

We are all in this together.

Letter: Health services at risk if Congress doesn’t act

November 7, 2014 — 

With all the news lately about health risks, it is critically important that everyone should be able to access health care when and where they need it. Access to a primary health-care provider is just as important as a health insurance card. People should have both — but unfortunately that is not always the case.

Some 62 million people nationwide struggle with little or no access to a primary care provider. We are making progress at Mountain Family Health Centers, providing comprehensive medical, dental and behavioral health services to more than 15,000 individuals a year at our Glenwood Springs, Edwards, Basalt and Rifle locations.

We are part of a network of Community Health Centers that serve 1 in 15 people living in the U.S., including over 250,000 veterans, in more than 9,000 communities nationwide. We provide affordable, effective care and have been recognized by the National Committee on Quality Assurance as a patient-centered medical home. As demand for our services continues to grow, a critical source of funding that helps us meet that demand is set to expire if Congress doesn’t act.

Our center could lose more than $1.5 million a year and would be forced to reduce services, sites and staff if Congress does not take action to fix the federal funding cliff. The impact would be disastrous and jeopardize affordable health-care services for thousands of patients in Garfield, Pitkin, Eagle and Rio Blanco counties.

We are grateful that there are bipartisan leaders on Capitol Hill that are calling attention to the problem. We hope their call does not come too late for the people who are still waiting for care. To contact your legislators and demand they fix the federal funding cliff visit this website, http://www.saveourchcs.org, or contact Danyelle Carlson at dcarlson@mountainfamily.org.

Letter: Tired of Martin’s disdain toward City Council

November 7, 2014 — 

Remember the movie line I’m as mad as hell, and I’m not going to take this anymore”? That is exactly how I feel after taking in John Martin’s latest bout of hectoring and lecturing GWS City Council on a purported lack of due diligence on the planned move of the FedEx distribution center to the Glenwood Springs airport.

Especially grating is his cavalier attitude toward the severe traffic impacts on South Midland Avenue and the inconveniences to the residents of South Glenwood, not to mention the daily student, teacher and parent commutes to and from Sopris Elementary School. But wait: To add insult to injury, the BOCC has offered a laughable pittance of $600,000 as mitigation for required improvements of Midland and Airport roads. This penny-pinching is even more galling considering the county’s multimillion-dollar improvement bonanza of questionable utility on Four Mile Road at Deadman’s Curve.

His disdain and arrogance toward City Council and the community of Glenwood Springs are all the more vexing since Mr. Martin has enjoyed the services and generous amenities of living in our city for several decades.

My hope is that City Council will vigorously oppose the county’s decision on this FedEx move and that in two years’ time the voters will dispatch the commissioner to his overdue retirement after his 16 year reign as unofficial czar of the Garfield BOCC.

Letter: Liberals want only more give-aways

November 6, 2014 — 

Liberals (Democrats) claim to be compassionate empathizers dedicated to protecting the poor or otherwise disadvantaged. But as William Voegeli points out in the latest edition of Imprimis, “it should follow that nothing would preoccupy them more than making sure the welfare machine is functioning at maximum efficiency.”

Instead, their drive seems to be to ever increase the size of the give-away programs even when those programs become laden with scandals and fraud. These programs grow in size every year with little attention paid to making sure only the truly in need benefit from them.

Letter: Environmental wackos’ ridiculous claims

November 6, 2014 — 

Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary defines idiocy as something that is extremely stupid or foolish; an idiotic action or statement.

Here are some examples;

Secretary of State John Kerry said at the recent UN Climate Summit that “the temperature of earth has been stable for literally millions of years.” His point being that we humans have screwed it up since then. He neglected the ice age of around 20,000 years ago, when palm trees grew in Antarctica, grapes grew in northern England and there was a glacier where Chicago is today.

Then he stated that greenhouse gases are a “very thin layer about a quarter inch thick way up there at the edge of the atmosphere.” What?

The atmosphere extends 240 miles above earth and greenhouse gases are mixed in the first six miles or so. CO2 content is about 1/2 of 1 percent of the total.

I could go on, but you get the picture. These environmental wackos like Kerry, Al Gore, Leonardo DiCaprio, etc. don’t care about facts. They make ridiculous claims that link warming to Ebola, UFOs, Boko Haram. They worry about farting cows, for crying out loud.

Then there was the “Peoples Climate March” in NY on Sept. 21. A mob chanted slogans, beat drums and blew horns to spread more hysteria. In fact the only effect they had on the environment was to leave a mountain of garbage in Midtown Manhattan.

The great Irish statesman Edmund Burke could have been talking about these “enviromentalwackoists” when he said: “Because half a dozen grasshoppers make the field ring with their importunate chink, whilst thousands of great cattle ... chew the cud and are silent, pray do not imagine that they are the only inhabitants of the field ... or that they are other than little, shriveled, meager, though loud and troublesome, insects of the hour.”

Letter: Colorado voted for things to get worse

November 5, 2014 — 

Congratulations, Colorado. You get who you vote for. You put Hickenlooper back in office to do the same thing he has done since 2011 for the people of Colorado. Hickenlooper says, “We have improved the economy.” I say, “Where?”

Hickenlooper says, “We have decreased unemployment and added thousands of new jobs.” I say, “Where?” Hickenlooper says, “We have made the people safer in their homes.” I say, “From hardened criminals who should be in prison but released by Gov. Hickenlooper?”

Hickenlooper says, “We have ... we have ...we have.. we have ... wee, wee, wee all the way home.” I say, “This is ‘the little piggy’ story told to little babies about the babies’ toes.”

Now let us watch Hickenlooper’s record for the next term and become involved to let Hickenlooper know how we feel as we see how the economy becomes worse, as the unemployment gets larger and as more hardened criminals are released into our neighborhoods. Think during the next election before you make Colorado worse.

There are many among the eligible citizens of Colorado who are not registered to vote, or if they are registered, they never voted because are disgusted with the candidates.

Well, you did vote by not voting and then you will continue to complain about what the government is doing to you in Colorado. All complaints should be referenced back to how they voted. Voted for governor? No right to complain. Voted for other candidate? Support your candidate stronger next time. Never voted? Why?

Letter: Childhood obesity is good for business

November 5, 2014 — 

The chairwoman of the Pitkin County Republicans recently wrote that civil discourse is lacking in complaints about Republican policies and actions. I thought it might be useful to pick some of these policies and treat them one by one.

In a recent edition of the New England Journal of Medicine, two pediatricians write about the Hunger-Free Kids Act of 2010. This bill, passed under the then Democratically controlled Congress, sets new healthier requirements for school lunches by requiring fresh, unprocessed foods. The past poor diet has caused an epidemic in obesity in the nation’s children.

Shocking news: The current House of Representatives has recommended waivers for schools to go back to the old standards. It seems that the food industry (manufactured food) is unhappy. They have offered a number of reasons, such as an increase in food waste, which have all been debunked.

The bottom line: Fresh, healthy food means less profit for the food industry. Unhappy food company executives mean less campaign money for Republican politicians.

Childhood obesity is good for business. On the scale of one to 10, on the civil discourse meter, how should we rate choosing childhood obesity and overall poor health over fewer corporate profits?

Letter: Bad scene around the pedestrian bridge

November 4, 2014 — 

I’ve been a good tourist in Glenwood for 40 years now. I come a couple of times a year and enjoy the friendly atmosphere, the beautiful views while hiking or snowshoeing. Of course I love the pool and spend a lot of time there. The restaurants are just right, and the sense of community is strong. I love your town, and I’ve always felt welcome and safe.

However, something needs to be done about the youths and young adults hanging out around the pedestrian bridge. I’m sure the majority of them are simply bored and harmless, and are congregating for fun. But in the three days I was there recently, I witnessed a drunken fight, complete with chase down the lane. I was begged for change and cigarettes. I watched tourists act afraid, and that broke my heart a little.

I’m a woman who travels alone, and I can take care of myself. I work with indigent patients, and I’m very good at assessing legitimate threat. A general tourist is simply going to be alarmed and intimidated, and the stories they tell when they get home will not be positive.

I’ve no solutions to offer beyond having a patrol through there frequently. Since you’re obviously a strong community, maybe this could be addressed on a community level. I care deeply about Glenwood and I hope you can find a solution to this issue.

I will always return to Glenwood, but I’m concerned that other tourists won’t. With an economy so dependent on tourism, I know you’ll find an appropriate way to address this problem.

Cheers, and thanks for 40 great years.

View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top