Staff ReportRifle, CO Colorado

Back to: News
January 23, 2013
Follow News

Community Briefs - Jan. 24, 2013

Congratulations to Kelly Coombs, Abby Bernat, Mikayla Baker, and Joseph Reyelts for making All State Band this year, and Zach Loving, Elijah Bjurstrom, and Hunter Preston for making the alternate list. A total of 876 students from 149 schools participated in All State Band auditions. One-hundred and five students from 45 different high schools are represented in the All State Concert Band that Kelly, Mikayla and Joseph are playing in, and Abby is participating in the All State Symphonic Band, where 110 students from 59 high schools are represented. The hard work and dedication required to make these ensembles is immense, as the students have been practicing since last May.The All State ensembles rehearse and perform on April 4-6 at the University of Northern Colorado in Greeley. This is the first year in Rifle's history that Rifle High School is represented in every All State band ensemble possible in the state (All State Jazz, Orchestra, and Band). For more information about the Rifle High School bands program, search for Rifle, CO High School Bands or become a fan of RHS Bands on Facebook.Ryan MonarchDirector of Bands

Dusty and Marlene Cline were married Feb. 3, 1963, and want to celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary. Friends and family are invited to shower them with cards by sending them to P.O. Box 19314, Colorado City, Colo. 81019.Thank you.Chris, Angie, Dee, Kelly and grandkids

Danny and Tammy Moss of New Castle would like to share their joy in the coming marriage of their daughter, Heidi Moss, to Nate Fetig, son of Jack and Christine Fetig of Greeley. The couple became engaged last April. Heidi graduated from Rifle High School and from Colorado State University with a bachelor's degree in landscape design. Nate graduated from Greeley Central High School and then obtained an international affairs degree from the University of Colorado in Boulder and a landscape business degree from CSU.The happy couple live in Fort Collins and work for Alpine Gardens. An October wedding in Thornton is planned.

The 15th annual Mountain Air Mechanical Ice Fishing Tournament held on Saturday and Sunday, Jan. 19- 20, at Rifle Gap Reservoir was another success for the Rifle Area Chamber of Commerce, Rifle Parks and Recreation, Colorado Sportsmen's Wildlife Fund, Colorado Parks and Wildlife and the entire Rifle area.More than 450 people from around Colorado tried to catch the biggest fish and win the $20,000 grand prize. Although Wally Cerise, the big winner this weekend, did not choose the $20,000 envelope, the 82-year-old participant took home $600, and said he fishes this tournament every year.The chamber would like to thank Mountain Air Mechanical, and event sponsors Well Master Corp. and Rifle Performance Motor Sports. Our Cornerstone members: Encana Oil & Gas, Alpine Bank, KMTS Radio, Mountain Air Mechanical, Western Slope Communications, Grand River Hospital District, KREX-TV Grand Junction, WPX Energy, Williams Midstream, Wells Fargo, Bill Barrett Corp., Rain for Rent and Walmart.Our Contributors: Colorado Sportsmen's Wildlife Fund, Colorado Parks and Wildlife, Radiowave Communications, Strong Lumber, Eagle Claw Co., Recycled, Micro Plastics, Rifle Parks and Recreation, Factory Outdoor, Colorado Mule Deer Association, Sportsman's Warehouse, Cabela's, EGB Lures, Dynamic Lures, Ice Man Jigs, Garfield County Search and Rescue, Pro Powder Coating, Active Communications, Mr. T's Hardware and Building Supplies, Garfield County Sheriff's Office, Colorado Lottery, Colorado State Veterans Home, and the Collbran Lions Club.Our ice fishing committee: Mark Fergen, Lynn Ensley, Blair Bracken, Harley Metz, Aaron Fero, Brian Palcer and Jeff Seastone. Our wonderful volunteers: Chris Manera and daughter Nicole, Dylan and Lindsey Lewis, Heidi Schaefer and Greg Wickline, Alyssa Duran and Zoe Reece. The judges and Garfield County Search and Rescue: Mark and Matt Fergen, Mike Kalmon, Will Zeman, Dick Steele, David Hall, Craig Jones, Debbie and Lynn Wickersham, Sara and Sam Flores, Kearstin Cameron, Dan Alvis, Jerry Fisher, Sunny Nichols, Blair Bracken, Jeff Seastone, Bob and Angela Dils and Lanny Grant. Thanks to all of the participants who spent the weekend with us. We look forward to another great contest in 2014.Gina Reece-LongEvents coordinator, Rifle Area Chamber of Commerce

Silt-area horse trainer Aaron Ralston had a grand old time at the National Western Stock Show in Denver. On Jan. 12, Ralston drew the loudest cheers after a high-energy freestyle reining routine, set to the popular song, "Gangnam Style," by Psy, aboard Blue Taris Glo. That won him the prestigious People's Choice award.We're betting you can find a video of Ralston's winning performance online.

The Rifle Area Chamber of Commerce had a presence at the International Sportsmen's Expo in Denver from Jan. 17-20. Chamber members, board of directors and staff, along with Mayor Jay Miller, spoke one-on-one with more than 1,000 people about Rifle's recreation opportunities. Many were from the Front Range, New Mexico and Wyoming.The positive feedback was overwhelming from those who have spent time hunting, fishing and camping in the area. More than 300 people entered a drawing for two weekend getaway packages, which included lodging at Coulter Lake Guest Ranch and Hampton Inn & Suites, and meals at Base Camp Restaurant and Sammy's on Park Avenue. The packages were sweetened with gifts from Brenden Theater and Miller's Dry Goods.Tourism marketing funds from the city of Rifle and the visitor improvement advisory board are used to promote Rifle and the surrounding area through trade shows, the Internet and print advertising.

Callie S. Schlegel of Silt was named to the 2012 fall semester president's honor roll at the University of Wyoming in Laramie.The president's honor roll consists of regularly enrolled undergraduates who earned a 4.0 ("A") grade point average for the semester. To be eligible, students must have been enrolled for at least 12 credit hours taken for letter grades.Also named to the list were Lindzey A. Patterson and Megan R. Ridings, both of Meeker.

Stories you may be interested in

The Post Independent Updated Jan 23, 2013 05:09PM Published Jan 23, 2013 05:02PM Copyright 2013 The Post Independent. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.