Mikaela Shiffrin voted skier of the year by journalists | PostIndependent.com

Mikaela Shiffrin voted skier of the year by journalists

SOELDEN, Austria — Overall World Cup champion Mikaela Shiffrin has been voted skier of the year 2017, becoming the third American to receive the award.

The international association of ski journalists says Shiffrin will receive the Skieur d’Or-Serge Lang Trophy, named after the founder of Alpine skiing’s World Cup in the 1960s, on Friday.

The association praised Shiffrin for “her impressive past season,” adding that she’s “a pleasant interlocutor for ski reporters … doing a great job to promote our sport around the globe.”

Shiffrin, who also won the slalom World Cup and world title last season, is succeeding six-time men’s overall champion Marcel Hirscher of Austria, who lifted the trophy the past two years. Earlier American winners were Lindsey Vonn in 2009 and Bode Miller in 2005.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User