Academic achievements recognized at RHS

Kay Vasilakis

Parents, friends, award presenters, teachers, and the entire Rifle High School student population honored hard-working RHS students at the Academic Awards Ceremony on May 15.Although there were too many award winners to mention everyone and their stories of scholastic dedication in this space, here is a sampling of recipients.Leah Silvieus received the Principal’s Leadership Award, was named an Honor Thespian, and won the Senior English Student of the Year. She and Kyle Neffendorf received a $500 scholarship from Alpine Bank for their first-semester Senior Seminar projects. The second-semester winners are to be announced and will be sponsored by the Rifle Rotary.Yessica Quintero received an Outstanding Junior award from the Masons, and Lisa Lyons was named the CU Junior of the Year.Will DuBois, Haley Hubbell, Leslee Simms and Laura Krick received certificates for dedication to the Teen Pals programFourteen students from two teams received recognition for their participation in the DestiNation ImagiNation competition, 10 received recognition for participation on the Math Team, and 30 students were honored for educational excellence.Amanda Addington received first place in the state V.I.C.A. competition in prepared speech, and she will join Nick Worley, who received back-to-back honors in architectural drafting, at the national competition in Kansas City this summer.FBLA sponsor Marilyn Latham choked back emotions as she gave out the FBLA and Mock Trial awards. Lindsey Steele, Leslee Simms and Zack Akin will be competing in Dallas this summer at the national conference, and Zack will be the only graduating senior to wear the prestigious gold banner signifying FBLA points earned.Hailey McDonald, Andy George and Sarah Gallagher joined Leah Silvieus in receiving the Honor Thespian designation for completing 600 hours on or behind the stage since their freshman year.Hailey also received a first place in speech at the state competition. Andy George, Brittany Zeleya and Sara Smith also placed highly in the state competition.Lisa Lyons won the Bausch & Lomb award for outstanding academics and intellectual promise in science.Esperanza Luna received the Re-2 School Board Student Ambassador Scholarship, the CMC Alpine Bank Hispanic Award and the International Club Scholarship. Andy George received the Outstanding Student Council award, and Leslee Simms received the Xerox Outstanding Junior designation.Several awards were given from the U.S. military forces. Ashley Gavito and Anthony Alfini won the Athletic Scholar Awards from the U.S. Army. Leslee Simms, Jessie Vigil, Jennifer Schneider and Zack Akin received math and science awards from the U.S. Air Force. Chris Black was accepted into the prestigious U.S. Naval Academy.Desiree Mangnell received the Most Improved Senior Award, and Jesse Montover received the honored Charles E. Elswick Award.Esma Lewis Elementary will host its Author’s Tea tonight, May 20, from 6:30-7:30 p.m. This is an opportune time to visit the school and experience the students’ growth in writing, as well as the last of events like this that will be held at the school.-Riverside School will present Parents Night Out, Middle School Transitions event, on Wednesday, May 21, from 7-9 p.m. A number of teachers and presenters will speak to parents about summer recreation opportunities, youth support programs, middle school concepts, and empowering students to succeed and stay in school. There is no need to sign up; just attend the workshop of interest.-Rifle High School’s International Club will be the featured attraction at the World Trade Day in Denver on May 22. The International club will perform their award-winning “Giving a Face to Hunger” presentation to the World Trade Day, a worldwide business conference, as a result of their efforts at the World Affairs Challenge at the University of Denver earlier this year.-There is no school on May 26 in observance of Memorial Day. The last day of school for students is May 30, and it is an early dismissal day. Please check with your specific school for exact time of dismissal.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.