Ambassadors provide a student view |

Ambassadors provide a student view

Kay Vasilakis

The Re-2 School Board instituted the Student Ambassador program last year to involve students in the process of running a school district and learn district procedures. Ambassadors are students in the sixth through twelfth grades attending Re-2 public schools. Ambassadors represent the district, serve as liaisons between the schools and the district, and give the district administration and school board their input. One student ambassador is elected by the others to be the ambassador representative to the board, and attends board meetings as a nonvoting member. Hailey McDonald, a Rifle High School junior, is this year’s student ambassador representative to the school board. Esperanza Luna, Kyle Sanderson, Trisha McDowell and Eric Simms round out the Rifle High School ambassadors. Sarah Brusig, Sara Burgess, Alissa Skinner and Marcy Kreimier are the Rifle Middle School ambassadors, Misty Kearns is the ambassador from Roy Moore Elementary, and Heather Smyth, Kayla Allred, Tyler Chapman and Emilie Kozera are the Riverside School ambassadors. The school board plans to add more ambassadors to the group sometime in the near future.Rifle High School would appreciate parents’ help in informing students that they are expected to be in the stands when attending games at Rifle High School. Students will not be allowed to hang out in the parking lots.The school administration insists that younger students who are dropped off by parents without supervision sit in the stands. Scott Winter’s Rifle High School’s Advanced Theatre class presented stories to Wamsley Elementary School first and second graders Sept. 26 as part of a storytelling unit.Congratulations to the Rifle High School football team for their 34-6 homecoming win against Delta.Hats off to everyone who worked so hard to make this year’s RHS Homecoming Parade an event to be proud of! A huge amount of creativity went into each of the floats, from the stuffed cats catapult to Rapunzel in the castle. Retired RHS principal John Burwell led the parade as its grand marshal, decked out in a bright orange Jeep sponsored by Roger Walters and New York Life Insurance.Terena Leuallen and Ryan Shideler were voted 2002 Homecoming Queen and King, Jim Owens and Taira Enewold were named junior class attendants, Kristin Neffendorf and Kyle Sanderson were voted sophomore attendants, and Amanda Brown and Brian Hileman were freshman attendants.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.