Education Briefs |

Education Briefs

Sierra Jackson

Two Rivers Community School groundbreaking

Two Rivers Community School invites the public to the groundbreaking ceremony for its addition and renovation project at 11:30 a.m. Tuesday, Feb 21, at the school, 195 Center Drive in Glenwood Springs. For info contact Adriana Hire at 970-319-8865

MacKenzi Johnson named to University of Nebraska-Lincoln deans’ list

MacKenzi Johnson of Glenwood Springs has been named to the deans’ list at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln for the fall semester of the 2016-17 academic year.

Johnson, a freshman biological systems engineering major, was named to the dean’s list for the College of Engineering, which requires a GPA of 3.5 and a minimum of 12 or more graded semester hours.

Jackson makes Fort Lewis dean’s list

Sierra Jackson of New Castle was named to the Fort Lewis School of Arts and Sciences dean’s list for the first semester of the 2016-2017 academic year.

Fort Hays State recognizes area students for scholarships at Denver program

Students from Colorado were recognized at a recent Student Recognition Program in Denver for the scholarships they have been awarded from Fort Hays (Kansas) State University for the 2017-18 academic year.

Kristen Bates, of New Castle, a 2017 Glenwood Springs High School graduate, was awarded a $500 Academic Opportunity Award in business. Bates, daughter of Kelly and Emily Bates, of New Castle, plans to major in business.

Elise Osenga awarded degree from Miami University

Elise Osenga of Glenwood Springs was among more than 3,000 students from Miami University (Oxford, Ohio) who received degrees during fall commencement exercises Dec. 13, 2016, in Millett Hall.

Osenga graduated with a Master of Arts degree, majoring in Biology.

Re-2 students win writing awards

Two students that attend Garfield Re-2 schools were recently honored at the Colorado Council of the International Reading Association’s annual young writers’ award contest.

Rifle Middle School sixth-grader Zoe McCann-Klausz won third place in fifth and sixth grade category for her short story “Oink the Pig.” Her writing teacher at RMS is Adam King. This is Zoe’s second CCIRA award. Her short story “Sdrawkcab” earned second in the third and fourth grade category two years ago.

Graham Mesa Elementary fourth-grader Cody Pinkerton earned a third-place award in the third and fourth grade category for his short story “The First Person to the Sun.” His writing teacher is Margaret Hesse.

Both authors were honored at the Young Writers’ Author-to Author Awards Session held in conjunction with the organization’s state conference in Denver on Feb. 4.

CCIRA is a professional organization of educators and community members dedicated to the promotion and advancement of literacy. Members of CCIRA encourage lifelong habits in literacy and an appreciation of the value of reading and writing. One purpose of CCIRA is to recognize and honor achievements in literacy.

The Young Writers Awards are given to students in Colorado, first through 12th grades, who show exemplary skills as an author through short stories with rich content, ideas, organization and word choice. A first-, second- and third-place winner is selected in five different grade level categories.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User