Education Briefs |

Education Briefs

Kjell Mitchell with Madison Starbuck and Asaf Olivas Estebane
Provided |

Glenwood Hot Springs selects 2017 Higher Education Scholarship winners

Madison Starbuck and Asaf Olivas Estebane each received the Glenwood Hot Springs Higher Education Scholarship.

“Awarding this scholarship is one of the highlights of my job,” said Kjell Mitchell, president and chief executive officer of the Glenwood Hot Springs Resort. “As a business, it’s an honor to be able to help young adults in our valley take steps toward achieving their dreams.” In a congratulations letter to each recipient, Mitchell wrote, “Your achievements make us proud of you. You are to be commended for excelling as a student and as an employee. We wish you the best of success with your future studies.”

Madison Starbuck, daughter of Kelly and Irma Starbuck of New Castle, is a senior at Coal Ridge High School. In the fall, she will be attending Colorado Mesa University in Grand Junction where she plans to enter the school’s highly competitive nursing program. Madison has been employed at Glenwood Hot Springs since 2015, working as a grill and snack bar cashier. She was granted a $5,000 scholarship to be distributed over four years.

Asaf Olivas Estebane is the son of Acencion Espinoza Lopez and Luz Estebane Ordonez of New Castle. He graduated from Glenwood Springs High School in 2013. In the fall, Asaf plans to study business or entrepreneurship at either Colorado Mountain College or the University of Colorado at Boulder. Since 2013, Asaf has worked at the Glenwood Hot Springs Pool as a lifeguard. He was also awarded a $5,000 scholarship to be distributed over four years.

Glenwood Springs Lions scholarship winners

The Lions 2017 scholarship winners are Kieran LaMee and Elizabeth Codon. LaMee will be attending CU Boulder and studying engineering. Codon will attend the UNC School of Nursing.

Glenwood Springs Art Guild scholarship winners

The Glenwood Springs Art Guild has recently selected the winners of its 2017 scholarship competition. The winner of the Nancy Piper Memorial Scholarship of $3,000 is Katelyn Krehbiel from Roaring Fork High School, and the winner of the Jan Worden Continuing Education Grant of $1,000 is Wesley Engstrom, also from Roaring Fork High School. This year the guild also awarded a special grant of $250 to Raychel Page of Rifle High School.

This competition is for high school seniors who excel in art. The art guild gives two scholarships, one for a full time art major, the second for a non art major who wants to continue his or her art education.

Basalt High School selects Megan Baiardo as assistant principal for next school year

The Roaring Fork School District has hired Megan Baiardo as Basalt High School’s assistant principal starting next year. Baiardo brings 16 years of teaching and instructional coaching experience to the role. She is currently an instructional coach and anatomy and physiology teacher at Dakota Ridge High School in Littleton.

MacKenzi Johnson honored at Nebraska

MacKenzi Nichole Johnson of Glenwood Springs was among more than 1,900 University of Nebraska-Lincoln students honored during individual college celebrations and the All-University Honors Convocation April 23 at the Lied Center for Performing Arts. Johnson, a freshman in the College of Engineering, was recognized as a high scholar.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


See more