Education Briefs |

Education Briefs

Students earn scholarships at Fort Lewis College

Several area residents received merit scholarships to attend Fort Lewis College for the Fall 2013 semester. These merit scholarships are renewable for up to 120 credits if criteria are met. Fort Lewis College also offers several other scholarships, including grants, the Finish in Four! Scholarship, FLC Foundation scholarships, alumni scholarships, departmental scholarships, Native American scholarships, and outside scholarships.

Jenna Pearce of Glenwood Springs received the Freshman Achiever’s Tuition Scholarship. Pearce’s major is Spanish – K-12 Teaching Option.

Deidre Hiles of Glenwood Springs received the Freshman Tuition Merit Scholarship. Hiles’ major is Theatre – Secondary Drama Teaching Option.

Jessie Murillo Vega of Glenwood Springs received the Freshman Tuition Merit Scholarship. Murillo Vega’s major is Biology – Biology for Secondary Educators Option.

Stephan Padilla of Parachute received the Freshman Tuition Merit Scholarship. Padilla’s major is Exercise Science – Sport Administration Option.

James Caudill of Carbondale received the Transfer Student Tuition Merit Scholarship. Caudill’s major is undeclared.

Aaron Luttrell of Carbondale received the Transfer Student Tuition Merit Scholarship. Luttrell’s major is Chemistry – Biochemistry Option.

Mikaela Liotta of Carbondale achieves honors at Kent School

Mikaela Liotta, a 5th form (11th grade) student at Kent School in Kent, Conn., was named to the honor roll for the fall term of 2013-2014.

Fort Lewis College students study abroad

The International Programs Office at Fort Lewis College offers many different opportunities to study abroad: Exchange, Direct Enrollment or Study Abroad. Additional programs offered on campus are either faculty led or sponsored by a faculty member via independent study.

Josi Pearson of Glenwood Springs is studying at Monteverde in Monteverde, Costa Rica, for the Fall 2013 semester. Pearson’s major is Environmental Studies and Spanish.

Joan Sundeen of Carbondale is studying at Universidad Andrés Bello in Santiago, Chile, for the Fall 2013 semester. Sundeen’s major is Sociology & Human Services.

Marissa Molina serves on student government at Fort Lewis College

Marissa Molina, of New Castle, is serving as a senator in the 2013-14 Associated Students of Fort Lewis College. Molina’s major is Political Science.

The Associated Students of Fort Lewis College is the student government for Fort Lewis College. ASFLC senators are representatives acting in the interest of all FLC students who, according to their mission statement, “act with exemplary character, originality, and in harmony with the values of the College Community, will respectfully advocate for a student-centered agenda promoting general well-being, effective communication, informed leadership and efficient use of student resources.”

Students receive Fort Lewis College Foundation Scholarships

The Fort Lewis College Foundation holds and administers more than 70 donor scholarships with varied criteria based on merit, need, passion, goals and accomplishments.

Marissa Molina, of New Castle, received the Greg Harris Scholarship in the amount of $1,000 for the 2013-14 academic year. Molina also received a second Foundation Scholarship, the Robert Mitoshi Dalla Scholarship, valued at $200 for the academic year. Molina’s major is Political Science.

Kody Roper, of New Castle, received the Jesse Brown Scholarship in the amount of $500 for the 2013-14 academic year. Roper’s major is Psychology.

Coal Ridge High School Academic letter winners 2012-2013

Coal Ridge High School recently honored its academic letter winners for the 2012-13 school year.

10th Grade

Jenny Olivia Call; Brooke Louise Esgar; Sierra Shadai Jackson; Cortnay Paige Young; Michael Alan Perea; Irali Jurado Angulo; Zoe Loring Fuleki; Kaitlyn Kelly Detlefsen; Karissa Marie Feese; Stacee Marie Cambell-Austin; Roman Michael Plano; Skylar Forrest Parr; Amy Lidia Dayana Santizo Arroyo; Aria Krystalyn Kana Troupe; Brianna Opal Walden; Kelsey Sara Jacobs

11th Grade

Riley Shaw Bolitho; Katie May Barner; Bryce Joseph Elmer Roberts; Melissa Mae Steinbach; Olivia Rose Wernsmann; Shelby Paige Cerise; Jesse Allen Crawford; Laura Valerie Harju; Mariela Lucia Martinez; Molly Josephine Mello; Jaeda Kaeleigh Lynn Reeves; Frederica Ann Young; Kelsey Lynn Disher; Tiffany Jovita Moreno; Jordan Alexandra Slack; Bailey Elizabeth Davis; Monica Lauren Fernandez; Kyrie Jade Foreman; Leah Veronica Kanakaraj; Holly Brooke Keesee; Graham Benjamin Leavitt; Madison Rae Lund; Tyler Matthew Sheerin; Ryan Logan Slone; Kathryn Katelynn Mae Senor; Christian Walker Keith; Alondra Murillo

12th Grade

Jenifer Garcia Esquevel; Sarah Ashley King; Elizabeth Jordan Stump-Moses; Courtney Mary Reece; Amanda Christina Wenzel; Jorge Vazquez Gonzalez; Hannah O’Shea Hogan; Jalyn Julianna Carlson; Erin Oleta Rayne; Samuel Bailey Jorgensen; Emma Ashley Speer; Paige Kathleen Ryan; Jacklyn Collins; Jose Ignacio Mendoza; Kelsea May Fettig; Chad Lucas Hutton; Ricardo Ledesma Perez

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User