Education Briefs |

Education Briefs

From left, back row: Michael Gutierrez (Glenwood Springs), Estrella Esparza (Basalt, CMC), Jesse Monsalve (Glenwood Springs, CMC), Chase Demeulenaere (Basalt, CMC), Meztly Esparza (Basalt), Dania Cardenas (Rifle), Kimberly Vega-Terrazas (Roaring Fork), Miriam Salvidrez (Roaring Fork) and Julian Hardaker (Club Rotario); and front row: Jen Quevedo (Club Rotario), Michael Carter (Club Rotario), Alejandro Jaquez-Caro (Coal Ridge), Walter Vasquez (Glenwood Springs), Hillary Contreras (Basalt), Lupita Mellin (Glenwood Springs), Viridiana Aragon (Glenwood Springs), Yaritza Zarate (Roaring Fork), Heather McCain (Rifle, CMC) and Lucy Moncada (Club Rotario).
Contributed Photo |

Glenwood Springs’ Christian Bergren-Aragon named to Emerson College dean’s list

Emerson College student Christian Bergren-Aragon of Glenwood Springs has been named to the dean’s list for the Spring 2014 semester. Bergren-Aragon is majoring in journalism. The criterion to make Emerson’s dean’s list is a grade point average of 3.7 or higher.

Scholarship opportunity

Applications are available until June 30 for The Lew Goodhart Memorial Scholarship through the Western Colorado Community Foundation. This scholarship is awarded to western Colorado residents who have completed a minimum of 15 college credit hours. Only nontraditional students 22 or older with a goal of completing their college education who need financial assistance will be considered. Two nonrenewable scholarships of $1,000 will be awarded. The application is available on the Western Colorado Community Foundation website, For more information call Cecile Aday at 970-243-3767.

Realtor association grants $10,000 in scholarships to area seniors

The Glenwood Springs Association of Realtors is pleased to announce the following area high school graduates are the recipients of the association’s annual scholarship awards:

Bridges High School: Autumn Grandberry, $1,000; and Liam Kelly, $500; Coal Ridge High School: Jennifer Garcia Esquevel, $1,000; Glenwood Springs High School: Viridiana Aragon, $1,000; Kyle Davis, $1,000; and Patrick Gucwa, $500; Grand Valley High School: Miguel Valles Castro, $1,000; Desireé Smith, $500; and Ashlynn Speakman, $1,000; Rifle High School: Karen Garcia ,$1,000; and Roaring Fork High School: Kimberly Vega, $1,000; and Brandon Williams, $1,000.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.