Ballot filled with school tax questions |

Ballot filled with school tax questions

GLENWOOD SPRINGS, Colorado – Education, including proposals to fund it and decisions on who best to make decisions about it, will be the dominant theme for the off-year election this fall in Garfield County.

In addition to mill levy override questions in five different public school districts whose boundaries cross into Garfield County, the ballot also includes the statewide Proposition 103 related to funding for K-12 schools and higher education.

Locally, the ballot also includes contested races for the Roaring Fork Re-1 and Garfield Re-2 school boards, as well as contests for four Colorado Mountain College board of trustees seats.

The only question on the Garfield County ballot not related to education is a proposed $775,236 property tax increase for the Carbondale and Rural Fire Protection District.

Ballots for the Nov. 1 election are to be mailed to registered electors in the county the week of Oct. 11, Garfield County Clerk and Recorder Jean Alberico said.

TABOR notices, including pro and con statements on all tax-related ballot questions, are to be mailed to all registered voters in Colorado by Sept. 30.

The last day to register to vote in the fall election is Oct. 3. Citizens should also verify their voter status and the address where they are registered to vote at and make any necessary corrections, Alberico said.

“Voters can also track when their ballot was mailed and when this office receives their voted ballot back at the state website,” she said.

Anyone who does not receive a ballot by in the mail by Oct. 17 should contact the Garfield County Election Department at 384-3700, ext. 2, or

This year, voters in the Roaring Fork Re-1 School District will decide whether to approve a $4.8 million mill levy override. Voters in the Garfield Re-2 district will decide a $3 million mill levy questions, and Garfield District 16 voters will consider a $4.8 million question.

Voters in the portions of the Eagle County School District Re-50J and DeBeque School District 49-JT that cross into Garfield County will also see similar mill levy override questions on their ballots.

Re-1 voters are also asked to decide three school board seats, including contested races between incumbent board member Myles Rovig and challenger Daniel Biggs. Newcomers Phil Weir and Terry Lott Richardson are also squaring off for an Re-1 school board seat, and Matt Hamilton is running uncontested for the third seat.

In Re-2, the only contested race is between Patrick Burwell and Troy Feese for the school board seat being vacated by Jay Rickstrew. Incumbents Chris Pearson and Scott Doherty are running uncontested.

Voters throughout Garfield County and the entire six-county Colorado Mountain College district will be deciding races for the CMC board between Stan Orr and challenger Kathy Goudy; Richard Hague and Robert Taylor; Ken Brenner and John Fielding; and Pat Chlouber and Wes Duran.

The statewide Proposition 103 asks voters for a mix of state income tax and sales and use tax increases, totaling $536.1 million annually, to make up for losses in state funding for both K-12 and higher education.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.