Club 20 honors John Martin, Phil Vaughn |

Club 20 honors John Martin, Phil Vaughn

John Martin

GRAND JUNCTION, Colorado – Two longtime public servants from Garfield County, Commissioner John Martin and citizen volunteer Phil Vaughn, were honored with special awards Friday during Club 20’s annual spring meeting and awards banquet here.

Martin, who was elected to his fifth term as county commissioner last fall, was presented with the Dan Noble Award, recognizing his “outstanding service to western Colorado.”

“John Martin is not only a seasoned, knowledgeable leader serving the county, region and state, he also represents western Colorado’s interests nationally,” according to a Club 20 statement.

Martin has for many years been involved with the National Association of Counties Western Interstate Region (WIR). This May, he will become the national president for the WIR, representing the concerns of all western states to the federal government. Martin has also been an active member of CLUB 20 for more than 16 years.

Vaughn was honored with the Club 20 Chairman’s Award for his many years on the Western Slope business and government coalition’s board, representing Garfield County.

A member of the organization for 25 years, Vaughn has served on the Club 20 board for 22 years, including 15 years on the By-Laws Committee, and nine as committee chairman.

Vaughn has also served as the Western Slope representative for the Center for Colorado’s Economic Future Advisory Panel and the University of Denver’s Strategic Issues Panel. Most recently, he was appointed by Gov. John Hickenlooper to the state’s Property Tax Administrator Advisory Committee.

Locally, Vaughn was a longtime volunteer member of the Garfield County Planning Commission prior to stepping down last year. He has also served on numerous other county advisory boards.

Martin and Vaughn were among seven longtime Club 20 members honored by the club during the Friday awards banquet, held at Colorado Mesa University.

Pitkin County Commissioner Rachel Richards of Aspen, along with Tom Harned of Gypsum, were recognized with the Johnson-Theos Bridge Builder Award, in honor of their commitment to collaborative problem-solving, according to the club’s press statement.

“Working through different perspectives and approaching often complex situations, putting personal agendas aside and working for the best solutions for western Colorado epitomizes what Club 20 is all about,” the club stated.

Other honorees were T. Wright Dickson of Maybell, who received the John D. Vanderhoof Award; Tom Kleinschnitz of Grand Junction, winner of the Preston Walker Award; and Dave Ubell of Olathe, who was presented with the Lyman Thomas Award.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User