Colorado lawmaker wants to ban cell phone use while driving
Colorado lawmakers are expected to start debate this week on whether to expand the state’s prohibition on cell phone use while driving.
State law currently only forbids drivers under the age of 18 from using electronic devices while driving. The proposed law, sponsored by Denver Democratic Sen. Lois Court, would extend the law to all ages. However, hands-free devices would be allowed under the new law.
“Distracted driving is dangerous, careless, imprudent behavior, and it is nearly impossible to not be distracted while physically holding your phone,” Court said in a statement. “This bill is about ensuring public safety and encouraging safe driving. It does that by making it illegal to physically hold your cell phone while driving, although drivers can still use their phones with hands-free technologies.”
As written, the fines for using a cell phone for driving would be $300 on the first offense and $500 on the second.
Support Local Journalism
Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.
Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.
Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.
Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.
In a 4-3 vote Monday night, city council allowed the Roaring Fork Transportation Authority to continue operating in Glenwood Springs amid the COVID-19 crisis.