Duncan McArthur selected to fill GJ City Council District E seat | PostIndependent.com

Duncan McArthur selected to fill GJ City Council District E seat

Grand Junction City Council July 29, voted 3 to 1 to appoint Duncan McArthur to the District E city council seat.

The seat had been vacant as a result of Councilor Harry Butler’s unexpected passing in early June.

The vote came after a 90-minute long question and answer session Monday in which the council and the public participated. Vying for the seat were Teresa Black, Duncan McArthur, Les Miller and Barbara Traylor Smith.

Councilors Phyllis Norris, Marty Chazen and Mayor Sam Susuras voted for McArthur. Councilor Boeschenstein was the lone dissenting vote; he voted for candidate Les Miller. Councilor Jim Doody was not present.

McArthur was sworn into office right away by City Clerk Stephanie Tuin and will serve in the seat until the next regular election in April 2015.

McArthur was runner up in the April 2013 election for the seat when he lost the bid to Harry Butler.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User