Education Briefs |

Education Briefs

Kristy Moore of Glenwood Springs High School has been awarded one of two renewable J. Robert Young scholarships, administered by the Western Colorado Community Foundation.

Kristy will be attending Colorado State University, where she will major in business administration and is interested in a career in money management or investment strategies.

Congratulations to Kristy in reaching her academic dreams.

The J. Robert Young scholarship was established in 2008 by Alpine Bank employees and an executive committee to honor bank chairman J. Robert (Bob) Young on the bank’s 35th anniversary. The scholarship is designated for graduates of public high schools in areas served by Alpine Bank. Scholarships are based on financial need and are awarded to students seeking a business-related degree, who have a GPA of 2.75 or above and plan to attend college in Colorado.

After two new bachelor’s degrees were recently approved for Colorado Mountain College, CMC students will now have even more opportunity to pursue four-year degrees. A new partnership between the college and Colorado Technical University allows CMC students to pursue bachelor’s degrees and receive tuition grants at CTU.

CMC students who earn select associate degrees are now eligible to transfer credits earned to corresponding bachelor’s degree programs at CTU. For example, a student who earns an associate of general studies in criminal justice from a CMC campus can transfer a maximum of 90 quarter hours (or 60 semester hours) of credit toward a CTU bachelor of science in criminal justice. Under this agreement, students granted admission into an eligible degree program will be classified as juniors at CTU.

The agreement also provides a tuition grant for eligible Colorado Mountain College students who enroll in select CTU bachelor’s degree programs. Students who are admitted and enrolled in a qualified degree program through a CTU Colorado-based ground campus, including campuses in Denver, Westminster, Colorado Springs and Pueblo, will be eligible for a 30 percent tuition grant for their junior year and a 20 percent tuition grant for their senior year. The agreement also includes a five percent tuition grant for eligible students who are admitted and enrolled in a qualified CTU bachelor’s degree online program for their junior and senior years.

CTU offers undergraduate and advanced degrees in five fields: business and management; criminal justice and legal studies; health sciences; engineering and computer science; and information systems and technology.

“This agreement gives eligible CMC students an opportunity to continue their education by pursuing a bachelor’s degree at CTU at a reduced cost and in less time than it would take at other universities,” said Jeremy Wheaton, chief executive officer for CTU. “We look forward to providing even more students with the industry-relevant courses and skills they need to prepare for today’s marketplace demands or advance in their current professions.”

The credit transfers and tuition grants are available now to all qualifying students at Colorado Mountain College’s locations, including online. Students can obtain additional information about the agreement, including guidelines and a list of transfer programs, by calling (800) 229-2040 to speak with a CTU admissions advisor, or (800) 621-8559 ext. 8346 or ext. 8340 to speak with a CMC administrator.

As a dedication to the many Junior Achievement volunteers throughout the Roaring Fork Valley, this year’s $1,000 JA Scholarship was awarded to Glenwood High School graduating senior Joe Ciborowski. Joe’s outstanding academic, co-curricular and extra-curricular activities demonstrate his dedication to excellence. Congratulations, Joe, JA’s volunteers and board members look forward to following your bright future.

To become involved with Junior Achievement’s board, as a volunteer or donor, please contact Sharon Brady, district manager, at 404-7722. Visit our website at and become a friend on Facebook.

Katherine Eason of Basalt has been named to the dean’s list at Southwestern University in Georgetown, Texas, for the spring 2011 semester.

To be selected, students must have at least a 3.6 grade point average on a 4.0 scale with at least 12 graded hours and be in good standing with the university.

Samantha J. Wilson of New Castle has been named to the spring 2011 dean’s list with highest honors at McDaniel College Westminster, Md. Highest honors are earned for a semester grade point average of 3.90 or higher, high honors for a grade point average of 3.70-3.89, and honors for a 3.50-3.69 average.

Danielle Gonzales of Parachute was among members of the Southwestern Oregon Community College Class of 2011 completing associate’s degrees or professional certificates.

Elizabeth Sundeen was among 400 students named to the 2011 spring semester dean’s list at Carroll College in Helena, Mont. To be included on the dean’s list, a student must receive a 3.5 grade point average or better for the semester and take at least 12 graded credits.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User