Education Briefs |

Education Briefs

Glenwood Springs, Colorado CO
Contributed PhotoRifle FBLA Rifle High School Future Business Leaders of America members attended district competition on Feb. 7 at Colorado Mesa University. From left, Stephanie Gomez-Montoya, Denise Miranda-Reyes, Allison Powell, Dannielle Yarbrough, Brittany Neuroth, Kathleen Dobert and Michelle Golden. Neuroth took third place in Parliamentary Procedures; Dobert took first place in Electronic Career Portfolio; Powell took second place in Electronic Career Portfolio and fourth place in Accounting; Golden took fifth place in Business Law. Neuroth, Dobert and Powell will be attending state FBLA competition in Vail.

Jason C. Vail of New Castle has been named to the dean’s list at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee for the Fall 2011 semester. Vail is an undergraduate studying Engineering and Computer Science.

Tyler Ruskus of New Castle graduated magna cum laude from Minnesota State University-Mankato, with a Bachelor of Science degree in Recreation, Parks and Leisure Services, during summer/fall commencement exercises on Dec. 10.

Tyler Reece of Silt was among 858 Luther College students named to the 2011 fall semester dean’s list.

To be named to the dean’s list, a student must earn a semester grade point average of 3.5 or better on a 4.0 scale and must complete at least 12 credit hours with 10 hours of conventional grades (A, B, C, D). Luther is a selective four-year college located in northeast Iowa.

The following local students have been named to Fort Lewis College’s dean’s list for the Fall 2011 semester:

Monica Gucwa, of Glenwood Springs, who is majoring in Interdisciplinary Studies-Teacher Education Option.

Samuel Kaup, of Glenwood Springs, who is majoring in Environmental Biology.

Marissa Molina, of New Castle, who is majoring in Political Science.

Evan Wagstrom, of Silt, who is majoring in European History.

To be eligible for the dean’s list, a student must carry a semester GPA of 3.6 or better in no fewer than 15 credit hours of graded college level work and have completed all work for which they are registered by the end of the semester.

The RFSD Pre-Collegiate Program has announced that four students involved in its program have been named semifinalists for the Daniels Scholarship.

Frederick Moreno (GSHS), Hector Morales (BHS), Adriana Perez (RFHS) and Monica Grijalva-Ruiz (RFHS) were nominated for the scholarship by the Pre-Collegiate Program.

The program was established in 2003 by the Re-1 school district to provide academic and financial support to middle and high school students who would be the first generation in their families to graduate from college.

These students are among the approximately 700 semifinalists in Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming entering the final selection phase for the Daniels Scholarship. In early April, 250 Daniels Scholarships will be awarded to finalists.

The Daniels Scholarship is not “full ride,” but is supplemental to all other financial aid resources available to the student. By requiring students to apply for other readily available financial resources such as Pell Grants, the Daniels Fund is able to provide even more scholarships to deserving young people seeking to attend college.

For more information about the Pre-Collegiate Program call 970-384-5967 or visit

Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park is now accepting applications for its 2012 “Begin a New Adventure” Scholarship for employees. To be eligible, the applicant must have worked at the park at least 200 hours during the 2011 calendar year.

The $1,000 scholarship will be granted based on merit and an essay, with consideration given for number of years of employment with the park and dedication to its mission: making people smile. Applications are available online at, at the park’s tram base from 10 a.m. 5 p.m. Friday through Monday, and in area high school counseling offices. The scholarships are due at the tram base by March 31.

The Colorado State Patrol (CSP) announces that it is seeking 40 applicants for the 2012 Youth Academy, which will be held in Golden June 10-16. Application deadline is March 9.

“The goal of the Youth Academy is to assist in the development of future leaders for the state of Colorado,” said Colonel James Wolfinbarger, Chief of the CSP. “Focus is on leadership development through team exercises and individual achievement. Participants will become familiar with the basic elements of the CSP Academy through a daily training schedule.”

The academy, which is mentally and physically demanding, is provided at no cost to the participants and is made possible through partnerships with local community-minded businesses, organizations and the CSP. It stresses team exercises, team building and leadership. Training includes the Alive at 25 defensive driving course, introduction to law enforcement ethics, law enforcement driving, firearm safety and familiarization, police communications and the history and philosophy of the CSP.

The basic requirements for applying to the CSP Youth Academy are:

• Be at least 16 years old and a high school student at the time of application

• Be a Colorado resident

• Have a valid Colorado driver’s license

• Have a minimum GPA of 2.0

• Complete an application

• Show proof of medical insurance and have a doctor’s certification of ability to participate

• Agree to a criminal and driver history check

• Present two letters of recommendation

• Complete an interview at the local CSP Troop office

Applicants that meet the above requirements, can pick up an application form at their local CSP Troop Office. Applicants who are accepted will be mailed a cadet packet in April.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.