Election day for Garfield County | PostIndependent.com

Election day for Garfield County

GLENWOOD SPRINGS ” Tomorrow is election day.

The ballots have no county, state or federal questions. The election will decide the contested seat in the Glenwood Springs City Council race and five school board races, plus some ballot questions for Glenwood Springs, Parachute and DeBeque.

Initial results should be available by 8 p.m. and subsequently posted on the Post Independent’s Web site.

Ballots must be received, not merely postmarked, by 7 p.m. today. Ballots can be dropped off at city halls in Parachute, Silt, New Castle and Carbondale from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Ballots can also be dropped off at the Garfield County Clerk and Recorder’s office at the Glenwood Springs courthouse and the Rifle branch office from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. A story in Monday’s Post Independent incorrectly stated the closing time was 5 p.m., but it is 7 p.m.

There’s also a Help America Vote Act accessible voting machine available for anyone to use at the Glenwood Springs office.

Glenwood Springs ballot questions

– 2A: Voting yes means springtime municipal elections. Voting no means they’ll continue in the fall.

– 2B: Voting yes means only the titles, and not the full text, of city ordinances have to be published in newspaper legal ads.

– 2C: Voting yes means the city can extend approval of its budget from October to December. Voting no means the deadline for approval won’t be extended.

– 2D: Voting yes means language in the city code will be changed. Voting no means language in the code would remain unchanged.

Source: Glenwood Springs factual summary of ballot questions

Glenwood Springs City Council

– David Blazier and Dave Sturges are running for the only contested city council seat. Shelley Kaup and Russ Arensman are both running for uncontested seats. Mayor Bruce Christensen is running for re-election for another uncontested seat.

School board candidates

– Roaring Fork School District Re-1: Brad Zeigel and Debbie Bruell both run for a school board seat. Bruce Wampler and Bill Lamont run for a second seat. Myles Rovig is running uncontested for another seat.

– Garfield County School District Re-2: Brad Moss, Jay Rickstrew and Scott Doherty are running uncontested. Chris Pearson and Taani Rust are competing for a fourth school board seat.

– Garfield County School District 16: Jody Dennis-Williams, Donald David Prentice and Jennifer Barber are running for the school board director position.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


See more