Four local towns gearing up for April 6 elections |

Four local towns gearing up for April 6 elections

Election day is April 6 at four out of six of the towns in Garfield County.

Although no mayoral seats are up for election, voters will decide who will fill 15 town council seats between Carbondale and Parachute.

Glenwood Springs and Rifle are both governed by home rule and are not holding elections this year. Glenwood Springs holds elections in November of odd years, and Rifle holds its elections in September of odd years.

A big change is in the air in Carbondale, according to town clerk Suzanne Cerise. Although Mayor Michael Hassig is not up for re-election, five seats out of six on the Carbondale board of trustees are up for election.

Two town trustees, Andy Montoya and Fred Williams, both resigned their seats this past December, leaving those positions vacant until Carbondale’s polling election April 6.

Trustee and mayor pro tem Susie Darrow will not seek re-election, as her seat has reached term limits.

The other two seats, currently held by Russ Criswell and Mark Whalen, are up for re-election.

Trustee Scott Chaplin is the only town board member whose seat is not up for re-election in April.

Cerise said she hasn’t yet heard if any of the incumbents have thrown their hat in the ring.

“It’s still pretty early,” Cerise said.

Nomination petitions will be available starting Feb. 17, and will be accepted through March 5. Forms are available at Carbondale Town Hall, 511 Colorado Ave. in Carbondale.

Cerise said she is planning to talk to trustees about organizing a prospective candidate night to generate interest among local residents. Cerise will need to get approval from the board before setting a date for the forum.

“With so many trustee seats up for election, it would be a good way to inform citizens of what is involved in becoming a trustee,” Cerise said.

New Castle is accepting petitions from now through Jan. 26 for town council candidates for the April 6 mail-in ballot election. Three out of six council seats are up for election, and each seat is for a four-year term, with no term limits.

To serve on town council, candidates must be a U.S. citizen, a registered voter, at least 18 years of age, and a resident of the town of New Castle for at least one year.

The seats up for election are currently held by Cristy Artaz, Frank Melody and Duane Guettler.

As of Thursday, town clerk Lisa Cain said she has only heard from Melody, who is planning to run again. Cain didn’t know if Artaz and Guettler are planning to run.

The other council seats held by Bob Gordon, Karen Wood and Greg Russi are not up for election until 2006. New Castle Mayor Bill Wentzel is also not up for election until 2006.

Cain said she is actively seeking New Castle residents to serve on the council and on appointed town boards such as water and sewer, residential development, parks and recreation, and historic preservation.

Nomination petitions for town council candidates can be picked up at the town clerk’s office at New Castle Town Hall, 650 W. Main St., New Castle. All petitions must be returned by Jan. 26.

The town of Silt is holding its regular municipal, mail-in ballot election on April 6 as well. Three trustee seats are up for election. One seat is for a two-year term and two are for four-year terms. Silt has no term limits.

Seats currently occupied by trustees Randy Corry, Dennis Mahan and Craig Wallace are up for election in April. Mayor John Evans and Trustees Shirley Hodges, James Kellogg and Tod Tibbetts aren’t up for election until 2006.

Silt town clerk Sheila McIntyre said nomination petitions just became available, so it’s too early to tell which trustees might be running again. All petitions, which are available at Silt Town Hall, 231 N. 7th, must be turned in by Jan. 26.

Candidates must have lived in Silt for at least a year by April 5, and must be 18 years of age or older.

Silt residents wanting to vote in the upcoming election who have not registered must do so before April 2, by filing an application with the town clerk. Ballots will be mailed to registered voters starting March 12.

In Parachute, longtime town council member Dave Beasley has reached his term limit. His seat, as well as town council seats currently occupied by Linda Waite, Kyla Kiburis and Judith Hayward are up for election. All seats serve for four years.

Interested candidates may pick up nomination petitions beginning Feb. 16 at Parachute Town Hall, 222 Grand Valley Way, Parachute. All petitions must be turned in by March 8.

Mayor John Loschke and council members John Yadloski and Billie Sue Koch are not up for re-election until 2006.

Parachute will have a polling election on April 6.

Contact Carrie Click: 945-8515, ext. 518

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User