Freshmen truly Knowledge Masters |

Freshmen truly Knowledge Masters

Kay Vasilakis

The Knowledge Master Team competed in a nationwide test on April 23 and received first place in the state and 65th place out of 170 teams in the nation. Members on the team include Callie Buchanon, Alicia Eggen, Miguel Englehart, Caitlyn Johnson, Mitch Kosht, Sasha Montgomery, Shonna Partain, Elizabeth Richardson and Eric Simms.The topics included on the test were American history, world history, government, recent events, economics and law, geography, literature, English, math, physical science, biology, earth science, health and psychology, fine arts, and trivia. All members on the team were freshmen.All nine students crowded around one computer screen, and the coach, Keri Wagstrom, gave them strategies for taking the test. They decided it would be best to have one student read the question, and then they would agree on the answer. The students asked Wagstrom to be their coach. Wagstrom said, “I am very proud of the students who competed in the Knowledge Master Open and enjoyed being their coach.”The Rifle High School Future Business Leaders of America members represented the Re-2 School District well at the state FBLA competition held in Vail with 2,500 students from April 27-29. Zack Akin placed first in the Mr. FBLA competition, ranking above two state officers.Leslee Simms placed first in the Public Speaking II competition. Leslee and Zack will both be going to the National FBLA Leadership Conference in Dallas at the end of June.Others Rifle High School FBLA members who placed in the top 10 are Jessica Warwick, Chantel Phannenstiel and Kelsey Been taking fourth place in the Entrepreneurship Team category; Alicia Eggen, fifth place in the Intro to Parliamentary Procedure category; and Brittany Barth, fifth place in the Word Processing I category.-Rifle Middle School, Riverside School and Roy Moore Elementary School all take the fifth-grade Mathletics competition seriously.First place went to Samantha Wilson, second place was a tie between Lee Wentzel and Chris Carlsgaard, and there was a three-way tie for fourth place by Jill Refior, Colby Fauser and Garrett Noel.In the team round, Jill Refior, Lee Wentzel and Samantha Wilson received a perfect score for first place. Chris Carlsgaard, Colby Fauser, Ian Botner and Chelsea Harlan were named second-place team, and Taylor Bosworth, Brianna Rhoades and Garrett Noel were named the third-place team.There was also a category in which teams were made from members of all three participating schools. In this mixed team round, first place went to Taylor Bosworth and Lee Wentzel, second place went to Chelsea Harlan, and third place went to Garrett Noel, Brianna Rhodes, Chris Carlsgaard, Jill Refior and Colby Fauser.In the oral countdown round, Samantha Wilson was awarded first place, Lee Wentzel received second place, Chris Carlsgaard took home third place, and Jill Refior received fourth place.-The April Garfield Re-2 Exceptional Bus Students winners are Haley Preston from Wamsley Elementary, nominated by Wendy Wilson, Route #8 driver; and Lucas Nessler from Rifle Middle School, also nominated by driver Wendy Wilson.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.