Garfield County Repubs select delegates for state assembly |

Garfield County Repubs select delegates for state assembly

Post Independent Photo/Jim NoelkerDon Click hangs a banner as he and others prepare rooms at the Glenwood Springs Community Center for the Garfield County Republican Assembly and Convention Saturday morning.

GLENWOOD SPRINGS ” Garfield County Republicans had a strong showing at the party’s county assembly Saturday.

Nearly 150 people showed up at the Community Center, despite the lack of a contested county office.

“I was pleased,” Garfield County Republican Party Chairman Jim Larson said. “We had a good turnout, and people had a chance to voice their concerns.”

The assembly gave candidates in contested state races ” including those running for 9th Judicial district attorney, state senate district 8, state house districts 57 and 61 and 3rd District U.S. House of Representatives ” a chance to speak to the delegates who may choose to vote for them at the state Republican assembly and convention on June 4-5.

One of those races, the campaign for 9th Judicial district attorney, could actually be decided at the state assembly.

The two Republican candidates, Colleen Truden and H. Lawson Wills, each need to get at least 30 percent of delegate votes ” which will include delegates from Pitkin, Garfield and Rio Blanco counties ” at the 9th Judicial District assembly on June 4 to get their names on the primary ballot.

“Ten people could decide the race for D.A.,” said Fred Truden, husband of D.A. candidate Colleen Truden.

Thus far, there are no Democratic candidates for the D.A. position, so even if both Truden and Wills get their 30 percent and make it to the primary ballot, the primary election could essentially be the final election.

The main purpose of the assembly, aside from political maneuvering with speeches and campaign literature, is to choose delegates from Garfield County to attend the state Republican Assembly.

A delegate was chosen from each of the county’s 27 precincts along with four at-large delegates. For the three precincts with no representation, the delegates were also chosen at-large.

Alternates from each precinct were also chosen.

Each Garfield County Republican Party official will be a delegate:

Chairman ” Jim Larson

Vice Chairwoman ” Cheryl Chandler

Vice Chairwoman ” Carole Brown

Secretary ” Dee McCown

Treasurer ” Tom Beard

Precinct Delegate

1 Gene Schilling

2 Toni Cerise

3 none

4 Cassie Cerise

5 Jeff Carlson

6 Arnold Delossie

7 John Martin

8 Bill Coleman

9 Dave Merritt

10 Dave Sturges

11 Scott Balcomb

12 Colleen Truden

13 Stephen Burns

14 Bob Gordon

15 Brett Jolley

16 Gail Schultz

17 Levy Burris

18 none

19 Bruce Collins

20 Arnold Mackley

21 Gary Osier

22 Larry McCown

23 Constance Hollenbeck

24 Phillip Vaughan

25 none

26 Jenice Campbell

27 Robert Houska

At large Charlotte Zilm

At large Shirley Woodrow

At large Marilee Rippy

At large Kent Jolley

At large Carlton Hoffmeister

At large Denise Vaughan

At large Stephanie Templon

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User