Garfield Re-2 School District honors teachers and staff |

Garfield Re-2 School District honors teachers and staff

Community Newspapers of Colorado honored the Garfield Re-2

The Garfield Re-2 School District welcomed students back to school last week, but before the classroom doors opened, Re-2 staff members gathered to recognize their own for the hard work and dedication that is shown daily throughout the district.

On Friday, Aug. 11, eight teachers were awarded the Community Newspapers of Colorado Teacher of the Year award, and 11 classified staff members were honored for going above and beyond in their buildings.

Each year, Community Newspapers of Colorado awards $500 to a teacher in each of the Garfield Re-2 buildings to an outstanding educator as voted by their peers. This year the recipients of the Community Newspapers of Colorado Teacher of the Year awards included: Mary K. Richardson from Riverside Middle School, Deneen Bell from Kathryn Senor, Jenny Zetah from Roy Moore Elementary, Christy Walters from Highland Elementary, Krista Espelien from Rifle Middle School, Lisa Schmitz from Wamsley Elementary, Troy Phillips from Rifle High School, and Beth Sass from Coal Ridge High School.

“I was shocked!” said Riverside’s Mary K. Richardson after the recognition. “Working with so many great people, I truly thought it was someone other than myself. It’s one of the greatest honors to have received from one’s peers. I was truly humbled for the recognition.”

“I’m grateful for the wonderful things that some of my colleagues said about me,” added Rifle High School’s Troy Phillips. “I know that we have a lot of other teachers at our school deserving of the same praise. I would like to thank the Community Newspapers of Colorado for recognizing the importance of teachers in our communities. Having been a journalist myself, I know there is not a lot of money in the newspaper business and the money they donate to give out these awards is truly a significant contribution on their part to our schools.”

In conjunction with the Teacher of the Year awards, Garfield Re-2 honors outstanding classified staff. These are non-teachers who go above and beyond for the students, buildings, and district and are also voted on by their peers. Each staff member receives $100 and a plaque. This year’s award winners included: Ron Patton from Riverside Middle School, Pam Woolsey from Kathryn Senor Elementary, Josie Estrada from Roy Moore Elementary, Shirley Cooley from Highland Elementary, Lupita Pena from Rifle Middle School, Starla Spaulding from Wamsley Elementary, Jeannie Cox from Rifle High School, Boone Mortensen from Support Services, Jacinto Iniguez from Transportation and Tina Bingman from the District Office.

Finally, the Re-2 staff recognized 16 individuals for their continued service to the students of the district. Two staff members received 30-year awards: Highland Elementary teacher Toni Mullenax and Kathryn Senor Elementary academic coach Barb Miller.

Ten individuals received 25-year service awards. They included: Highland Elementary secretary Dorothy Hutchison, and reading instructor Bill Krejci, Rifle High School academic coach Bradley Skinner, Rifle Middle School teachers Susan Auxter and Leslie Krick, Kathryn Senor Elementary academic coach Deneen Bell, Roy Moore Elementary paraprofessionals Cordie Herrera and Pam Richards, Riverside Middle School secretary Marty Smith and District Office accountant Cathy Vaccaro.

Finally, four staff members received 20-year service awards. They included: Wamsley Elementary physical education instructor Jeneane Schlotthauer, Re-2 instructional technology specialist Susan Fassler, Wamsley Elementary paraprofessional Terry Wittwer, Kathryn Senor Elementary teacher Janice Goetz.

These teachers and staff members dedicate many long hours to the children and communities of the Garfield School District No. Re-2. Garfield Re-2 thanks partners like Community Newspapers of Colorado for their help in honoring these outstanding individuals.

If you have questions or comments regarding the Re-2 school district, please contact Director of Districtwide Services Theresa Hamilton at 625-7621.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User