Glenwood Springs Committees |

Glenwood Springs Committees

There are 11 advisory boards or committees in addition to a few ad hoc committees. Appointments are made by the city council for candidates who apply. Most committees have three-year terms. A few have four-year terms. Members can sit on a board for two terms, then must sit out at least one term. Exceptions can also be made if the city council decides the person is vital to the board or commission. To apply or find out more, contact city clerk Robin Unsworth at 384-6403.

– The board, mostly pilots, make recommendations to the city council regarding the Glenwood Springs Airport. It comes up with capitol projects and searches for ways fund them. The board generally meets once a month on the second Thursday of each month at 7:30 a.m. at City Hall. It ends up being about 10 one- to one-and-a-half hour meetings per year.

Members: Steven Shute, Jim Terry, Randall Kempton (alternate), Paul Hamilton, Jerry Pradier, Jessica McMillan, Chris Sims – Three-year terms.

– The board makes decisions about granting and suspending or revoking liquor licenses. Its decisions don’t usually go before the city council unless there is an appeal. The board generally meets the second Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m. at City Hall. Meetings are generally about an hour-and-a-half long.

Members: Mildred Alsdorf, Angela L. Hancock (chair), Donald J. Kaufman (alternate), Scott Hemmen, Charles Bawden, Kenneth Jones, Mitchel G. Helle – Three-year terms.

– This board was designed to advise on contractor licensing matters, but it hasn’t met for at least two years. It last met when new building codes were adopted in late 2004 or early 2005. Currently it serves as an appeals board for the building department. However, there haven’t been any appeals over the past few years. The board meets as needed.

Members: Bob Pattillo, VACANT (Alternate), Kenneth Melby, II, VACANT, VACANT – Three-year terms.

– The board makes recommendations to the council regarding downtown development. It meets generally once a month. One project it has discussed recently are improvements on Seventh street. It could include fountains, relocation of the public restrooms, lighting and water fountains.

Members: Dean Gordon, Matthew MacQueen, Carl Moak, Chris Spence, Sue Sharpe, Joe O’Donnell, Mike Harman, Jeff Hecksel – Four-year terms.

– The board advises and assists the city manager and finance director in preparing the budget. It’s meant to help with accounting systems for the city, planning expenses, projection of revenues and analysis of other financial matters. It also makes recommendations regarding grant money. It meets quarterly and as needed throughout the budget process.

Members: Michael McCallum, VACANT, Erin Donovan, VACANT, VACANT, Ken Murphy, VACANT, Robert Doyle – Three-year terms.

– It’s a statutory requirement and we meet twice a year and just make sure that the pension fund is solvent for volunteer firefighters. After so many years of service, a volunteer firefighter is eligible for a small pension. eligibility for pension. This board just oversees the funds in that account.

Members: Steve Pawlak, Roger McEachern, Loren A. Anderson, Bruce Christensen, Mike Harman – Three-year terms.

– The commission recommends methods for protection and preservation of the city’s historic and cultural heritage. It recommends methods for enhancing property values and stabilizing historic neighborhoods and increasing benefit from city attractions. It also studies how to provide educational opportunities to increase public appreciation of the city’s unique heritage. It meets the first Monday of each month at 5:15.

Members: Marice Doll, Jan Girardot, VACANT, Kim Doose, Ted Hutchinson, Jean M. Martensen, Mary Elizabeth Geiger, VACANT – Three-year terms.

– The commission studies and makes recommendations on housing issues including a comprehensive housing affordability strategy. It assists the city council in defining the nature and scope of housing opportunities in the city and studies funding for housing. It meets the first and third Tuesday of each month at 7:30 a.m.

Members: Mike McAvoy, Michael Blair, VACANT, Robert Doyle, Kathryn Grosscup, Joan Baldwin, VACANT, VACANT – Three-year terms.

– The board considers and makes recommendations on parks and recreation matters. It also provides technical assistance and planning support to the parks and recreation director and the city council regarding tree planting and maintenance, burial facilities, the community center and parks and recreation funding. It meets the second Thursday of each month at 6:30 p.m. at the Community Center.

Members: Noel Gannett, Donni Cochran, M. Susan Cashel, Rick Tadus, Bill Efting, Laura Ayers, Bill Coleman, Joan Bates, Savanna Cochran – Three-year terms.

– The board develops and recommends a master plan to the city council. It recommends zoning boundaries and regulations to be enforced. It reviews proposals for subdivisions and development and land use. It hears appeals on variances and other planning and zoning issues. It meets on the Tuesday three weeks before the second city council meeting of the following month at City Hall.

Members: Marco Dehm, Bruce Barth, Dave Sturges, Joan Baldwin, Barney Mulligan, Colleen Long, VACANT, Michael Shea – Three-year terms.

– The river commission makes recommendations about enjoyment, preservation and conservation of open space, rivers and streams. It advises the council on public access to these areas and the establishment of a river trail system and preservation strategies. It is also meant to promote riverfront cleanup efforts. It meets the first Wednesday of each month at 7:30 a.m. at City Hall.

Members: Gregory Albrecht, Chris Geiger, Thomas McRaith, William L. Lorah, Rachel Sobke, Joseph Mollica, Daryl Yarrow, Jeremy G. Heiman, Helen May – Three-year terms.

– The commission studies and makes recommendations on transportation issues affecting the city. It also makes funding recommendations for transportation issues and oversees items delegated by the city council. It meets the first Tuesday of each month at 7:30 a.m. at City Hall.

Members: Floyd Diemoz, Chris Geiger, Dean Gordon, Jeffrey E. Fegan, Don Gillespie, Patrick Barker, David Alcott, VACANT (alternate) – Three-year terms.

– The board oversees a fund generated by a 25 percent fine for violation of municipal ordinances on any conviction or guilty plea or deferred judgment or sentence. Half the fund or more is meant to purchase victims and witnesses services and reimbursements including crisis intervention, return of property, transportation to court, translator services, protection from threats, medical expenses, property losses. The board evaluates applications for funding. The board meets the second Wednesday of each month at 8 a.m. in the police department at City Hall.

Members: Sue Plush, John L. Herz, Jeannine Ford Artaz, Daniel Rose, VACANT, Willa M. Soncarty (alternate) – Three-year terms.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User