Hershey and Willman win council seats; street tax soundly rejected | PostIndependent.com

Hershey and Willman win council seats; street tax soundly rejected

Unofficial Glenwood Springs Election Results

Ballot Issue A (street tax)

No – 1,318

Yes – 877

Ballot Issue B (bonding for street work)

No – 1,321

Yes – 868

City Council at large

Tony Hershey – 1,000

Jim Ingraham – 584

Erika Gibson – 461

City Council Ward 3

Charlie Willman – 207

Jennifer Vanian – 155

Ksana Oglesby – 45

City Council Ward 1 (uncontested)

Steve Davis – 274

City Council Ward 4 (uncontested)

Paula Stepp – 293

Glenwood Springs voters, in final balloting Tuesday, rejected a 3/4-cent sales tax proposal to fix city streets and elected one of the tax opponents and a supporter to City Council in Tony Hershey and Charlie Willman.

Ballot Issue A, asking for a new sales tax to pay for $56 million in street rebuilding and repairs, failed by a 60 percent to 40 percent margin, according to final unofficial results in the city election announced just before 10 p.m. Tuesday.

The related Ballot Issue B, seeking bonding authority for up to $16 million, also failed by a similar margin.

Winning election to the at-large City Council seat was Tony Hershey, a deputy district attorney in the 9th Judicial District, and former Aspen City Council member in the early 2000s.

Hersehy defeated incumbent Jim Ingraham, who was appointed to the seat last year, with 48 percent of the vote to Ingraham’s 29 percent. The third candidate in that race, Erika Gibson, had 23 percent of the vote.

In the Ward 3 race, local attorney Charlie Willman easily won election with 51 percent of the ward vote, to 38 percent for Jennifer Vanian and 11 percent for Ksana Oglesby. Willman will replace current Councilor Todd Leahy, who was term-limited after eight years on City Council.

Two seats on City Council were uncontested in the election. Councilor Steve Davis won reelection to the Ward 1 seat, and former Garfield County commissioner candidate Paula Stepp won election to the Ward 4 seat being vacated by current Mayor Michael Gamba, who also was term-limited.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User