Lamont, Bruell replace RFSD board incumbents |

Lamont, Bruell replace RFSD board incumbents

Glenwood Springs, CO Colorado
Post Independent/Kelley Cox

Voters chose in favor of the new and out with the incumbents in this year’s school board elections. Bill Lamont took the Roaring Fork School District school board District C seat by 640 votes over incumbent Bruce Wampler.

“Well, there is a lot of work ahead, and if that’s the count then I have a lot of responsibility and a lot of people are counting on me,” Lamont said. “I hope to fill the expectation that they have. But as I’ve said, I am retired and I will commit all I can to all the schools, communities and kids to make the district the best district I can.”

In District B, voters cast ballots for newcomer Debbie Bruell for her first four-year term on the RFSD school board over incumbent Brad Zeigel by more than 900 votes. Both Zeigel and Wampler served the board for a full four-year term and were seeking re-election for a second

Bruell was up cleaning her kitchen waiting for the word Tuesday night.

“I’m excited,” she said. “I’ve heard from people all along that they felt the same as what I’ve been saying. It’s come through in the votes as far as I can tell.”

Cyndy Hallford, assistant to the RFSD Superintendent Judy Haptonstall, said that the school district is unable to declare official winners in the two contested races until Friday, Nov. 16, because they have to wait until the “official count” is returned by the clerk’s office. All results are unofficial currently.

“We can’t declare a winner until the county clerk gives us their official count,” Hallford said. “They should have the official count by November 16.”

Bruell and Lamont will be sworn in after the official count is received by the district at the first scheduled school board meeting, or Hallford indicated that the district may hold a special school board meeting in order to swear in the new members before the Colorado School Board Convention held the last week of November.

“I started when I began visiting with teachers and principals in August,” Lamont said. “So I really started back then.”

He had no problem waiting a little longer to take his seat. He’s already been attending meetings to get a handle on things, he said.

“I’m anxious to get started, but I can be patient until they swear me in,” Bruell said.

Myles Rovig, who ran uncontested representing District D, could be sworn in as soon as possible, but Hallford said the district would most likely wait and have all three new board members take the oath at the simultaneously.

RIFLE ” Retired Rifle Middle School teacher Chris Pearson is back with the Garfield School District Re-2. Pearson took the seat over rival Taani Rust of Rifle by 500 votes.

“I always wanted to return to the district as a volunteer,” Pearson wrote in a guest column published in The Citizen Telegram on Nov. 1.

And now she has been given the opportunity.

School board president Jay Rickstrew remains in his position as he ran uncontested along with fellow school board member Brad Moss of Rifle. Rickstrew will serve another four years on the board, while Moss’ seat is a two-year position.

Scott Doherty of New Castle ran uncontested for the District E seat, which carries a four-year term as well.

For Garfield School District 16 in Parachute, Donald Prentice and Jennifer Barber were voted in for the two open seats. Prentice led voting by 544 votes ahead of Barber, who tallied 403. Jody Dennis-Williams was 120 votes behind Barber.

Contact John Gardner: 384-9114

Post Independent, Glenwood Springs, Colorado CO

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User