Grand Junction election results announced |

Grand Junction election results announced

Caitlin Row

Grand Junction municipal election results were announced late on the evening of Tuesday, April 7.

“They are unofficial until our canvass tomorrow [Wednesday] night when the results are certified by the City Council (5:30 pm. in the City Hall Auditorium),” wrote Stephanie Tuin, Grand Junction’s city clerk, in an email.

According to unofficial election results sent out by Tuin around 9:30 p.m. Tuesday, Chris Kennedy and Dennis Simpson vied for a City Council At-Large seat; Kennedy won with 46.98 percent of the vote. Simpson received 38.88 percent approval. Kim Kerk and Rick Taggart faced off for another City Council At-Large seat; Taggart won with 51.20 percent of the vote. Kerk received 31.88 percent of votes. Barbara Traylor Smith (District B), Bennett Boeschenstein (District C) and Duncan McArthur (District E) ran unopposed.

Grand Junction voters said yes (74.68 percent) to referred measure 2A, which allowed for the city to improve high-speed Internet to the area. Voters however said no (62.01 percent) to referred measure 2B, which asked for authorization for the City of Grand Junction to take on debt and retain TABOR funds for road construction on a Westside Beltway project.

Sam Rainguet, City of Grand Junction’s spokesperson, confirmed that new members of council will be sworn into office on May 4 at 10 a.m.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.