New Glenwood city councilors sworn in today |

New Glenwood city councilors sworn in today

Two newly elected Glenwood Springs City Council members will be officially sworn in at tonight’s regular council meeting.

Kathryn Trauger was elected April 7 to the At-large council seat, while Steve Davis was the choice to take the Ward 1 seat.

They will be sworn in shortly after the start of tonight’s meeting along with re-elected Councilmen Todd Leahy and Mike Gamba from Wards 3 and 4, who were unopposed in the recent municipal election. The meeting is set for 6 p.m. at City Hall on West Eighth Street.

There will also be a time for outgoing council members Dave Sturges and Ted Edmonds to offer a few parting words.

The first order of business for the new seven-member City Council will be to appoint a mayor and mayor pro-tem to serve for the next two years. The mayor for the past two years has been Ward 5 Councilman Leo McKinney.

Also on the agenda will be a conceptual review for a proposed new building and greenhouses at 2150 Devereux Road to support a new retail marijuana cultivation and sales operation. Proponents Michael Gurtman, Spencer Schiffer and Richard Rosin are expected to submit a formal development application to the city in the coming weeks.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.