No Re-1 school board election, one Re-2 race |

No Re-1 school board election, one Re-2 race

Roaring Fork School District Re-1 will likely cancel its school board elections this fall, after the two incumbents for two open seats on the board, Bob Johnson and Richard Stettner, were the only candidates to turn in nominating petitions by the Aug. 30 deadline.

Meanwhile, there does look to be a three-way race for one of the two open board seats in the Garfield School District Re-2.

According to Re-2 spokeswoman Theresa Hamilton, three candidates turned in petitions to run in the Nov. 5 election for the Director District A seat in Rifle. They are incumbent school board member Mickey Hosack and two other Rifle residents, Shirley Parks and Addy Marantino.

For the Director District E seat in New Castle, incumbent board member Anne Guettler was the only candidate to submit a nominating petition by the deadline.

In Roaring Fork School District Re-1, .

Prospective write-in candidates had until Tuesday at 5 p.m. to declare their intentions. Unless any write-in candidates emerge, the Roaring Fork Re-1 school board was prepared to act today to cancel its school board election.

In that case, Stettner and Johnson, representing the two Basalt-area director districts A and E, respectively, would be re-elected by acclamation, each to a new four-year term starting in November, according to Cyndy Hallford, administrative assistant for the district.

The board seats representing the Glenwood Springs and Carbondale areas of the Re-1 school district, currently held by Daniel Biggs, Terry Lott Richardson and Matthew Hamilton, are not up for election this year.

Garfield County’s other school district, District 16 in Parachute-Battlement Mesa, has all five of its school board seats up for election this fall, two for two-year terms and three for four-year terms.

As of the Aug. 30 filing deadline, just three candidates, incumbents Kevin Coleman, Megan Alstatt and Cheralae Medina, had submitted their nominating petitions.

Unless any write-in candidates emerged late Tuesday, Coleman and Alstatt will be elected by acclamation to four-year terms, while Medina will fill the two-year term, according to District 16 administrative assistant Marilyn Mondragon.

The school board has already approved a resolution canceling the election, contingent on there not being more than five candidates, Mondragon said.

The two other incumbents on the District 16 board, Sara Orona and Mitchell Steinke, did not turn in nominating petitions, she said. The district will advertise for candidates to be appointed to fill those two seats in November, one for a two-year term and another for a four-year term, she said.

District 16 does not have separate director districts, and all school board seats are at-large positions, Mondragon said.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User