Read e-mailed chapters: If you like it, check it out | PostIndependent.com
YOUR AD HERE »

Read e-mailed chapters: If you like it, check it out

Real ink on real paper in real books is not on the Garfield County library system’s endangered species list. A critter of a different stripe has been added, however, and it’s called the Online Book Club.

Beginning July 1, the library system will electronically e-mail subscribers a portion of a book on a daily basis, Monday through Friday.

“Participants will able to read two or three chapters from a book during the week. If they like a book, they can check it out of the library,” said library director Jaci Spuhler. “This new service lets us reach out to more people in our community.”

During the week of July 1-5, subscribers will be sent “Lucky Man,” by Michael Fox, or “Hard Eight,” by Janet Evanovich.

During the week of July 8-12, the selections are “Buffalo for the Broken Heart,” by Dan O’Brien, and “Flesh Tones,” by M.J. Rose.

Subscribers can also forward the Online Book Club e-mails to friends. “It’s a great way to stay in touch with friends and relatives in other parts of the country,” Spuhler said.

The library system will start signing up readers at branch libraries on Monday, June 24. After July 1, people can sign up online at http://www.garfieldlibraries.org.

The books are chosen by a panel of librarians at Chapter-A-Day Book Club, Inc., which provides the library system with the books.


Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.
 

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User