Rifle Committees and Commissions | PostIndependent.com

Rifle Committees and Commissions

MembersChair, Ned Bascomterm ends 12/31/2010Vice chair, Jeanette Thompsonterm ends 12/31/2010Gary Osierterm ends 12/31/2010Bruce Gallagherterm ends 12/31/2010David Meadterm expires 12/31/2010Ken Plumterm ends 12/31/08Jeff Giardterm ends 12/31/08Helen Rogersterm ends 12/31/08 The seven-member Planning and Zoning Commission, with two alternates, meets the last Tuesday of every month and acts as a recommending body to the City Council on land use issues. Compensation for the commissioners is $100 per month. Members, who are appointed by the mayor, must be Rifle residents, and terms of office are for four years, which are staggered. There is currently a vacancy on the P&Z.

MembersChair, Ed WeissVice-chair, Kelly BinaSecretary, Mark LapkaJim BooneRich CarterStephen CarterJason NaessMildred Whitt The Parks and Recreation Board consists of seven voting members plus one alternate member, all of whom serve three-year staggered terms. Six members shall be residents of the city, and one member may be a nonresident living in the Rifle area. One member shall be a representative of the senior population at least 55 years of age or older. Appointments to the board are made by City Council. Three positions will be up in September. There is no compensation on this board. The board acts in an advisory position to City Council and meets every other Monday from 5:30-7 p.m. at Rifle City Hall. To serve on this board, an application may be filled out at the recreation department. Contact City Hall at 625-2151 for more information.

MembersChair, Gil FrontellaJennifer Sanborn, council representativeTom StuverRandy WinklerJay RickstrewSally BrandsGarrick FrontellaErnst ShoppGreg ValunasMichael LanghorneDean Hubbell The board meets at 7 a.m. on the first Wednesday of the month at City Hall. Terms are for four years. There is currently one vacancy on this board. Applicants must be a property owner or business owner within the downtown district. A letter of intent should be sent to the DDA at P.O. Box 1908, Rifle, CO 81650 as soon as possible. The association will review the letters at their next meeting.

MembersSandy Vaccaro, council representativeDon ThompsonDeb GrizzlePhil AntesGeri JewelVicki Choate The Rifle Housing Authority oversees the maintenance work and management of the property of the Senior Disabled Housing. The authority meets the second Thursday of the month. Members serve five year terms, and appointments are approved by City Council.

MembersRosalee McLearnMary SydallShirley RothMary ElderIrene BurgoonDuane RoseHilda SykesSunny LinnCharlotte Crook,Alan Lambert, council representative The Senior Advisory Board meets at 1:30 p.m. on the third Tuesday of each month in the basement of the Rifle Senior Center. Volunteer members must be at least 60 years or older and have some connection with the Senior Center. Terms are for three years and the bylaws of the board are approved by City Council.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


See more