School districts Re-2 and Garfield 16 have six open school board seats |

School districts Re-2 and Garfield 16 have six open school board seats

JOHN GARDNERPost Independent StaffGlenwood Springs, CO Colorado

November elections are just around the corner, and Garfield School District Re-2 has four open chairs on the school board. There isn’t expected to be much drama in this election.Only one open seat is being contested.Taani Rust and Chris Pearson are running for the District C seat, held by Jan Hubbell, who is term-limited.The other three uncontested seats include current Re-2 school board President Jay Rickstrew in District B, Brad Moss seeking his first full-term position on the board in District A, and Scott Doherty, who’s running unopposed in District E. Doherty is seeking the seat currently held by Howard Stapleton. Stapleton, like Hubbell, is term-limited.Moss completed the two-year term of Kim Goossens, who stepped down last year.Current board member Anne Guettler is the only member whose seat wasn’t up for election this year.Garfield County School District 16Three individuals are running for two open seats on the Garfield County School District 16 school board.Board vice president Ron Palmer is term-limited this year, leaving his seat vacant. One additional seat is available.Those running are Jennifer Barber of Parachute; Don Prentice, a retired teacher who’s lived in Battlement Mesa for the past four and a half years; and Jody Dennis-Williams. who’s lived in the district for nearly nine years.General Election Day in Garfield County is Nov. 6. This year is a mail-in ballot election with all ballots being mailed out automatically to all active voters at their most current mailing address on file.The last day to register to vote was Oct. 9 for this year’s election.Contact John Gardner: 384-9114jgardner@postindependent.comPost Independent, Glenwood Springs, Colorado COWho’s who?Garfield Re-2• District A: Brad Moss, uncontested• District B: Jay Rickstrew, uncontested• District C: Chris Pearson and Tanni Rust are seeking to fill Jan Hubbell’s seat.• District D: Scott Doherty, uncontested, is seeking Howard Stapleton’s seat.District 16, two open seats• Jody Dennis-Williams • Donald David Prentice• Jennifer Barber

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User