Six candidates announced for Garfield Re-2 school board elections

Board member Dawn Evridge resigns Wednesday

Six candidates are vying for three Garfield Re-2 School Board seats up for re-election this year, the district announced last week in a news release.

On Wednesday, however, District D Director Dawn Evridge announced her immediate resignation from the board.

“I don’t enter this decision lightly,” Evridge said in her resignation letter. “Recent health issues are impeding my ability to continue to serve. I’ve enjoyed serving with you. I wish you all the very best as you continue to work in the best interests in our community.”

The regular biennial school board election for all school districts is the first Tuesday in November in each odd-numbered year. Election day is Nov. 7.

On Thursday, district spokesperson Theresa Hamilton said since Evridge’s resignation is within 90 days of the election, her spot will remain vacant until after Nov. 7. The election for District D, however, will still take place among the existing candidates.

Until the election, the board of course has one less person to vote on any proposal.

“There are four members on the board, and any vote requires a majority,” Hamilton said. “When you have four people instead of five people, that certainly increases the likelihood of a tie.”

Any eligible voter residing within the school district boundaries can vote for one school board candidate per director district (that means that no matter where you live within the district, you can vote once a director in each district), the release states.

With Evridge’s resignation, the incumbents currently up for re-election are District B Director Jason Shoup and District C Director Christina Maness. All are four-year terms.

Shoup is ending his second two-year term. Maness was appointed after Katie Mackley resigned in fall 2021. Evridge was appointed after former Board President Meriya Stickler announced her resignation at the start of the 2022-23 school year. 

According to the district map, District B serves an area east of Rifle and west of Silt, north of U.S. Highway 6. District C covers an area east of Silt and west of New Castle, north and south of Interstate 70.

District D challengers are New Castle residents Daniel Adams and Chance W. Jenkins, as well as Silt resident Nicholas R. Cocina. District B challengers are Silt resident Kaylin Harju and Rifle resident Cassie Haskell. Rifle resident Fathom Jenson is running unopposed for District C.

“Each candidate obtained at least 50 petition signatures from registered Garfield Re-2 School District voters and turned in their completed candidate petitions by 12 p.m. September 1,” the release states. “The petitions and signatures for each of the candidates have been verified by Sharon Donohoue, the Garfield Re-2 election official.”

School Board members are limited to a maximum of two full terms consecutively and are not paid for their service, the release states.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.