There’s not much time left to submit humanitarian award nominations |

There’s not much time left to submit humanitarian award nominations

Kay Vasilakis
Post Independent Correspondent
Glenwood Springs, CO Colorado

To give more time to receive quality Garfield County Humanitarian Service Award nominations, the committee has extended the nomination deadline to 3 p.m. Thursday, March 18, to The awards dinner will still be held at 6 p.m. Monday, April 12, at The Hotel Colorado.

The Garfield County Humanitarian Service Awards is in its 21st year. The event was created by the Garfield County Human Services Commission in cooperation with Gary Dickson and the Glenwood Post (now the Glenwood Springs Post Independent) to recognize outstanding efforts undertaken for the benefit of Garfield County citizens.

Today, the event is sponsored by the Garfield County Commissioners and the Garfield County Human Services Commission.

Main categories are youth, senior, staff and volunteer. A Humanitarian of the Year is selected from the nominees. The selection committee has the flexibility to create other awards based upon the quality of nominations.

Support Local Journalism

Nominating someone for an award is a way to express appreciation for a job well done for an employee, encourage youth to continue on the right path, show appreciation of someone’s kindness, or keep up the good fight for a hardworking volunteer. Nominators feel proud to be part of the process and to acknowledge youth, seniors, staff or volunteers, and to bring that person’s good works into the light.

Being nominated for a humanitarian award is a great honor. To be in the same category of deserving citizens is satisfying, and the positive energy generates ripples into different areas of the community.

Nominees don’t have to be official heroes, but nominators may feel as if their nominee is truly their hero because of a personal kindness done just at the perfect time.

Nominators should include as much specific information about the nominee’s noble efforts as possible. Put on your reporter’s hat and find out more information about the nominee – if she has done one outstanding deed, chances are she has done more acts deserving of recognition. Support letters to the nomination are encouraged. The more the committee knows about your nominee, the more consideration it can give to your nominee. Personal stories straight from the heart add a nice touch.

To nominate someone for an award, go to the county website,, click on News at the top of the page, and then on Humanitarian Awards on the drop-down menu. Or use the form printed below and send to

Nominees will be notified of their nominations. Each nominee will be individually honored at the awards dinner with specific information from the nominations, so make it as detailed as possible.

Anyone may nominate anyone else to receive an award. However, past humanitarian winners are recognized with their names on the event’s program, but are not eligible for further recognition.

Past recipients of the Humanitarian of the Year include Walter Gallacher (2008); Mary Jane Hangs (2004); Virginia Erickson (2003); Vicki Van Engelenburg (2001); Nancy Reinisch (1994); and Bruce Christensen (2002). Dr. David Hostettler won the first Humanitarian of the Year Award in 1989. For a complete list of the previous Humanitarians of the Year and other category winners, see the county website, click on News at the top of the page, and then Humanitarian Awards in the drop-down menu.

All nominees will be the guests of the county commissioners and the Garfield County Human Services Commission. All other attendees are required to pre-pay by calling The Family Visitor Programs at 945-1234, ext. 17. The price of the dinner is $20. This event is not a fundraiser for the Human Services Commission, the county commissioners, or any Human Services agency.

For more information, e-mail or call Kay at 618-6689.

Please elaborate why your nominee should be considered for the Humanitarian Service Awards. Use as much space as needed.

Support letters for your nominee from others will also be considered and will strengthen your nomination. Include any affiliated organizations and personal stories about the nominee’s humanitarian efforts.

The 2009 Garfield County Humanitarian Service Awards will be held at 6 p.m. Monday, April 12, at the Hotel Colorado.

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User