Town political races wrap up today |

Town political races wrap up today

by Heather McGregor
GSPI Managing Editor

Today is election day for the town governments in Silt, New Castle, Carbondale, Basalt and Marble.

Parachute canceled its election because it had four candidates running for four seats on the town board. They are incumbents Linda Waite, Judith Hayward and Kira Kiburis and political newcomer Alison Teter.

Silt is holding a mail-in election. Registered voters who have not received a ballot can get one at Town Hall. All ballots are due at Town Hall by 7 p.m. It’s too late to put the ballot in the mail.

Three seats with four-year terms are open on the Silt Board of Trustees. Incumbent Trustees Dennis Mahan and Craig Wallace are running along with three write-in candidates, Derrick Campbell, Steve Eichhorst and Dave Moore.

New Castle is also holding a mail-in election. As in Silt, all ballots are due at Town Hall by 7 p.m.

Four candidates are running for three open seats, and voters are also asked to decide whether to approve a 2.5 percent lodging tax. The candidates are incumbent trustees Duane Guettler and Frank Melody and challengers David Schroeder and Sharon Owens.

In Carbondale, 11 candidates are vying for five open seats on the Board of Trustees, and voters will decide two ballot questions related to recreation funding.

Voting will be at three polling places:

Precinct 1 at the Carbondale Firehouse, 300 Meadowood Drive; Precinct 2 at the River Valley Ranch preview center, 333 River Valley Ranch Drive; and Precinct 3 at Town Hall, 511 Colorado Ave.

The candidates are incumbents Russ Criswell and Mark Whalen and challengers Stacey Patch Bernot, Lynn Burton, David Clifford, Ed Cortez, Lorey Esquibel, John Foulkrod, Alice Hubbard Laird, Barry Maggert and Frosty Merriott.

In Basalt, two candidates are facing off for mayor and five other candidates are running for three seats on the Board of Trustees.

Council members Leroy Duroux and Anne Freedman are vying for the mayor’s seat, while candidates Laurie Dows, Bernie Grauer, Mark Kittle, Jim Paussa and Glenn Rappaport are vying for the trustee seats.

In Marble, two candidates are running for mayor and another eight are seeking to fill five vacancies on the Board of Trustees.

Incumbent Trustee Hal Sidelinger will face challenger Dan Brumbaugh in the race for mayor to replace the late Wayne Brown, who died earlier this year.

The race for the Board of Trustees includes incumbents Mike Evans, Robert Pettijohn and Vince Savage and challengers Gary Bascom, Gary Hubbell, Jordan Maguran, Patsy Wagner and Mike Yellico.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User