RHS honors award-winners, remembers Grant Walker | PostIndependent.com

RHS honors award-winners, remembers Grant Walker

During the Rifle High School academic awards ceremony on Thursday, May 16, tributes by Karl Minter and U.S. Marine Staff Sgt. Thomas Walker were posthumously paid to Grant Walker, who was an RHS senior and tragically lost his life in a snowmobile accident this past winter. Sgt. Walker followed through with the paperwork to make it possible for Grant to be officially named an honorary U.S. Marine. Staff Sgt. Walker (no relation) said about Grant, “He was a great kid. He organized lots of things for us at the high school, and he was going to have a great career as a Marine. We found out about this honor officially yesterday, and we wanted his classmates to know he would be honored in this way.”RHS Automotive Technology instructor Karl Minter said of Grant, “Grant would’ve been up here because he qualified for the Ford and AAA Colorado Skills Competition. He would’ve won a jacket like these other guys, but he might not have worn it, because he was a `Chevy Man’.”The entire school, guests, and staff gave Grant Walker two standing ovations during the assembly.Amy Daley won several awards, among them the Principal’s Leadership Award, Advanced Placement Biology Student, a U.S. Air Force High Achievement in Math and Science Award, and a Wendy’s Heisman Athlete Scholar award.Ryan Whittington also won a Wendy’s Heisman Athlete scholar award.The Society of Women Engineers named Pam Schieldt and April Worley the recipients of their Math and Science Merit Scholarships.Katherine Breda received the advanced placement English award.Cassie DeLong won a first-semester Senior Seminar $500 award from Alpine Bank for her “A Day in the Life of an EMT,” and Nikki Snode received the second Senior Seminar award for “Equine Massage Therapy.” The second set of awards for this semester will be given by the Rifle Rotarians. The Gold Star Award from Gold Star Realty was given to Jessie Holgate for outstanding academics.The John Haines Opportunity $500 Scholarship was given to Sarah Roper and a $500 award for books was given to Brandy Lang.The outstanding citizenship award was received by Shannon Squires.The Rifle Masons’ Outstanding Junior Award, selected by the faculty, went to Jennifer Schneider, who also took home the Bausch & Lomb outstanding science award. The Masons’ $500 scholarship was won by Kelley Nicole Hemminger.Lorena Trejo received the Alpine Bank Hispanic Scholarship, which is a full Colorado Mountain College scholarship and books.The New Castle SuperBowl Scholarship for academics, achievement, and handling themselves in the community and at home in the proper manner went to Casey Rippy and Tucker Sierzega.The University of Colorado Outstanding Junior Award was given to Leah Silvieus.The Colorado School of Mines award for outstanding math and science went to Zack Akin.YouthZone honored Teen Pals William VanTeylingen, Leslee Simms, Nicole Stroup and Laura Steinauer for their work with other students.Twenty-eight Senior Link Leaders were honored, and John Layman received a large linked necklace as he was named LINK Leader of the Year. John also received the Semper Fidelis award from the U.S. Marines for excellence in music.Pam Schieldt received the outstanding performance in scholastic excellence from the U.S. Marines and a Colorado High School Athletic Activies (CHSAA) award.The U.S. Marines’ Distinguished Athlete was given to Ryan Enright, who also won the CHSAA activity scholarship.Luke Antonelli won the Jack Smith Scholarship. In a different ceremony, he was named a Platinum scholarship from the Western Colorado Golf Foundation, and Gracie Filiss received a Gold Scholarship from the same foundation.RHS Counselor Rick Schmitz presented awards to Zack Akin, Amy Daley and Erika O’Connor from the U.S. Air Force for high achievement in math and science.The Interscholastic Star award for service, perseverance and commitment was given to David Schieldt.Garrett Harris Davidson won the most improved Senior award.Karl Minter, VICA sponsor and Automotive Technology instructor, honored the VICA officers who competed at local, district and state level. Nick Worley, who finished first at the state level in Architectural Drafting, will be competing in the National Skills USA event in Kansas City during the week of June 23-29.For the Future Business Leaders of America, Michelle Mitchell, Lindsey Steele, Amy Daley, Morgan Green, Leslee Simms and Zack Akin were honored for receiving first places at the district level. Lindsey Steele, Carrie Simms and Amy Daley were honored for their first places at the state level, and they will attend the national competition in Nashville, Tenn., in June.It was announced that Marilyn Latham, FBLA sponsor, Mock Trial sponsor and RHS business teacher, was named State FBLA Sponsor of the Year. Anthony Rossilli named Shirley LeMoine, Dr. Bill Alfini, Ed Allen, Paramedic and Parachute Fire Chief David Blair and Rifle Police Chief Sgt. Diego Pina as Honorary Members of the RHS Science Department Staff.Eddie Kremier received an award for the most outstanding Science Fair project.Presidential Academic Achievement awards were given to Colleen Bornschlegel, Gracie Filiss, Andrew Gardineer, Morgan Green, Jacob Hensley, Nicholas Krick, Kate Newton-Cromwell, Heather Razee and Katie Roberts.The Presidential Academic Excellence award was given to Angela Aibner, Blake Barth, Katherine Breda, Jessica Brownell, Cari Chelewski, Amy Daley, Amber Dove, Rene Ellington, Kelley Hemminger, Jesse Holgate, Kali Kerns, Shawn Miller, Bryson Minter, Ericka O’Connor, Rachel Reider, Pamela Schieldt, Tucker Sierzega, Carrie Simms, Arturo Tapia, William VanTeylingen and Justin Withee.Doug Humble, Bradie Kozera and Jamii Bentzler won awards for outstanding painting, Nicole Stroup won an award for outstanding drawing, Roman Tencza won an award for outstanding ceramics and Levina Miller received an award for outstanding art from a freshman.The Aspen Art Museum gave an honorable mention in two-dimensional art to Shawn Miller, and Monte Dwire received a first place in three-dimensional art for ceramic sculpture.In addition, recognition was received from the museum regarding the overall excellence of Rifle’s artwork.The Charles E. Elswick Award went to Troy Hanneman. This award is given to a student who shows perseverance and courage in their character, and who has strived to overcome challenges.Congratulations to all these hard-working students.Good luck to the RHS “Sparks” DestiNation ImagiNation team who are heading to Knoxville, Tenn., this week to compete in the Global Finals competition, in which teams from all over the world will be competing in this contest of creativity. Team members are Megan McBride, Hailey McDonald, Brittany Zelaya, David Haynes-Norton, Bradie Kozera and Sarah Gallagher, and team manager is RHS social science teacher David Kosht. Re-2 gifted and talented coordinator Delaine McBride will be accompanying the group. Bring home a third DI trophy, Sparks, and keep the well-known RHS international DI legacy alive! We’re extremely proud of you.Kay Vasilakis is public information director for the Re-2 Schools.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


See more