Foundation awards development grants |

Foundation awards development grants

The first Roaring Fork Public Education Foundation Professional Development Grants were awarded to Roaring Fork School District teachers and staff during the April 14 Board of Education meeting.

The 23 grants totaled more than $10,000 for a wide variety of professional development projects for either groups of staff or individual teachers.

Projects range from a Spanish language school to master’s degree work in elementary education to an education technology rally.

This was the second round of foundation grants during the 2003-2004 school year. The mission of the nonprofit foundation is to provide funds and resources for educational activities that either have not been funded or have been underfunded in the school district’s operating budget. The fund-raising group also issued $30,000 in innovative teaching Mini Grants in December.

The foundation is supported by a volunteer board of directors with equal representation from the communities of Glenwood Springs, Carbondale and Basalt. For more information, contact Irene Friedman at 379-6569 or

Professional Development Grant winners listed alphabetically, with their projects and their school by abbreviation, include:

Cara Agran, Teaching Advanced Placement Calculus, BHS;

Sara Boyd, Reading with Meaning in Mind, BES;

Lori Carrick, UNC Master’s Degree in Reading, BES;

Cliff Colia, Reading Instruction Uber Alles!, CMS;

Jennifer Cook, Information Sources on Internet for Libraries, GSHS;

Lisa Dameron, Web Design Fundamentals, BES;

Megan Dean, Creating Schoolyard Habitats, GSMS;

Mary Ezequelle, Advancement Glasser Choice School Training, Yampah Mountain;

Bonnie Fischer, Education Technology Rally, CES/CRES;

Linda Haydock, Play Therapy for Counselor, CRES;

Terri Hoffman, Adams State ELL Endorsement, CMS;

Melissa Matherly, Autonomous Learner Gifted/Talented, BMS;

Patric McLaughlin, Special Education Licensure, BES;

Rita Merrigan, Kindergarten Conference and a schoolwide Sheltered Instruction In-Service, GSES;

Stacey Parnass, Connecting Link Graduate Course, RFHS;

Megan Perkins, ACES Training for Staff, CES/CRES;

Stephanie Polender, Kindergarten Conference, GSES;

Patti Present, Renovate: Building Professional Net Worth, RFHS;

Kelly Shanahan, Spanish Language School, BMS;

Brad Thayer, Writing About Mathematics, GSMS;

Marie Voss-Patterson, UNC Masters Degree in Elementary Education, CES;

and Ryan Wayt, Colorado Odyssey Conference XVII, BHS.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User