Mountain Mailbag, Tuesday, May 25, 2004 |

Mountain Mailbag, Tuesday, May 25, 2004

Post Independent Writer

Mannan’s design wins

Willow Mannan won first place in the 2004 Carbondale Mountain Fair Design Contest.

Her design will be seen on posters and T-shirts throughout the valley.

All designs will be on display at the Gordon Cooper Library on 4th Street in Carbondale until June 4.

JAS winners

Jazz Aspen Snowmass (JAS) has announced the winners for the ’04 JAS In-Schools programs.

All winners receive a certificate and a $500 gift certificate to Roaring Fork Music. Connor O’Meara and Austin Butts from Glenwood, Casey Jackson and Nick Walgren of Carbondale, Nick Holloran of Basalt, and John Hatanaka and Scott Lacy of Aspen all won a $500 gift certificate to Roaring Fork Music as part of the third annual program.

JAS also recognized Joan Knabe of Basalt as its Outstanding Director/Teacher of the Year.

Thanks, volunteers!

Timothy Lang-Burns and his staff at Glenwood Medical Associates send a big thank-you to physicians Maria Chansky, Bruce Lippman, Bruce Lippman II, Steve O’Brien and Paul Salmen, and nurse practitioners Cathy Feinsinger and Mary Harrel Lawrence, who donated their Saturday mornings to give complimentary skin and breast cancer screenings at the 2004 Community Health Fair.

Dr. Greg Feinsinger provided information about the Heart Attack Prevention Program.

The GMAstaff also would like to thank everyone who donated to GMA’s Coat Drive.

Also, special thanks to Paul and Starla Karr at 4th Street Cleaners in Rifle, who donated cleaning services.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.