Recent Stories | PostIndependent.com

Recent Stories in Opinion

Beaton column: Plastic straw feel-goodery

July 19, 2018 — Teachers here recently put children up to sending letters to the editor proclaiming that "Plastic straws are toxic and are destroying our planet," because they wind up in the oceans. The letter asked Aspen to ban them. Not that I really care about straws. I

Learn more »

Letter: Ag tourism not new

July 19, 2018 — I got a shock and had to laugh at the comment, "Agritourism is now just just starting to pick up up here in the United States." (Cedar Ridge Ranch ready to grow agritourism, Post Independent, June 29). I knew about ag tourism in America back

Learn more »

Letter: Upvalley houses, not buses

July 19, 2018 — I just got a flyer in the mail for the public hearing to increase our mill levy to pay for RFTA improvements, expansions and fleet replacements, and I'm doing a slow burn. RFTA argues that bus ridership reduces pollution, congestion and wear

Learn more »

Semro column: The battle over Medicaid

July 18, 2018 — Here's something to think about before November. Even though candidate Trump promised to defend Medicaid and protect its funding, his administration in partnership with 13 states, controlled by Republican governors and state legislatures, are waging a not-so-covert war on that program. And that effort is

Learn more »

Refuting German energy argument

July 18, 2018 — In Floyd Diemoz's July 14 letter, he carefully outlines a Russian $95 million effort to oppose NG development. From there he draws a conclusion to ask, will Germany defend itself if most of their energy is supplied by that aggressor, and concludes: "Germany will surrender

Learn more »

Thiessen column: Trump isn’t attacking NATO, he’s strengthening it

July 17, 2018 — WASHINGTON — As President Trump put Germany and other allies on notice for the harm they are doing to NATO with their failure to spend adequately on our common defense, Democrats in Washington came to Germany's defense. "President Trump's brazen insults and denigration of one

Learn more »

Letter: Loving your neighbor

July 17, 2018 — Viewing "Won't You Be My Neighbor," the delightful and powerful documentary about Fred Rogers, the creator and host of the children's program "Mr. Rogers' Neighborhood," I got a glimpse of what today's youth is missing. Mr. Rogers taught children to love their neighbors. Today's media

Learn more »

Letter: Big oil hysteria

July 17, 2018 — On Facebook and other media, the drilling companies are screaming, scaring you that drilling will be shut down. Putting an initiative on the ballot does not mean it has passed. Citizens petition 97 simply asks for a further set back from homes and schools. Please

Learn more »

PeaceVoice Opinion: Human rights Trumped

July 16, 2018 — Who cares about human rights? Not Trump, not his team. Here's some of what we see. Deceptive Reporting Discussion in the Trump administration of sensitive human-rights cases often gets relegated to the annual State Department report on conditions around the world, a report required by

Learn more »

Letter: Russia’s not our friend

July 16, 2018 — Perhaps the mightiest power that a U.S. president wields is the ability to tell us who are our enemies and who are our friends. President Trump is asking the American people to believe that the European Union is now our foe, and Russia is our

Learn more »

Letter: Why not help homeless?

July 16, 2018 — There are people saying that the more resources we have for people without homes the more they will move here. If that is true, then wouldn't it also be true in other ways such as "If you build a bigger hospital more people will get

Learn more »

Letter: Blip in geologic time

July 16, 2018 — In reviewing the rock slide on Red Mountain Tuesday , one may ponder the frequency of such an event. Has anyone in the past 130 years witnessed one of this scale? If not, this begs the question of such an iconic artist's landscape: How

Learn more »

Letter: Need watering restrictions

July 15, 2018 — Why aren't there any mandatory watering restrictions in Glenwood Springs? It is no secret that we are enduring a severe drought, and daily midday lawn watering should simply not be allowed. I urge the city to immediately adopt restrictions limiting the days and times that

Learn more »

Letter: Independent vote debrief

July 15, 2018 — Western Colorado Independent Voters dissected the results of the June 26 primary election at their monthly meeting on July 12 at the Glenwood Springs Library. After analyzing Colorado's first semi-open primary, several questions arose addressing the low independent voter turnout. Were independent voters trying to

Learn more »

Letter: Include bike path on Highway 13

July 15, 2018 — It's good news to see that the Garfield County commissioners support a federal grant application for extensive safety upgrades to Colorado 13, which connects Rifle to Meeker and points beyond. The stated improvements will make a significant difference for motorists traveling this route. The proposal

Learn more »

Guest Opinion: An oil shale action plan for the 21st century

July 15, 2018 — Public discussion of oil shale development in Colorado, Utah and Wyoming has been on the back burner for some time. Many of us are old enough to remember Black Sunday — the day in 1982 when Exxon shut down the Colony Oil Shale Project. No

Learn more »

Letter: Agenda behind Putin’s objection to CO2

July 14, 2018 — The Wilfried Martens Center for European Studies, located in Brussels, reported that the Russian government has secretly spent $95 million to persuade Europe to halt exploration and production of energy emitting CO2; predominately to stop natural gas fracking. Much of the money was given to

Learn more »

Letter: Glenwood Springs airport an immense value

July 14, 2018 — We are all aware of the Lake Christine fire. There are so many people who have contributed to the firefighting efforts. I would like to remind everyone of the value the Glenwood Springs Municipal Airport has to firefighting operations. Helicopters were based at the airport.

Learn more »

Guest Opinion: Offshore energy and a strong military go hand-in-hand

July 13, 2018 — When Interior Sec. Ryan Zinke announced plans to consider unlocking the energy America has offshore, he probably expected howls of outrage from the multimillionaires who live along the coast and politicians who represent them. What he probably didn't expect, though, was the criticism from some

Learn more »

Letter: Environment is most important issue for Supreme Court

July 13, 2018 — A far more important issue facing the new configuration of the Supreme Court than abortion and gay marriage will be its rulings on the Constitution and environmental protections and how it regards the health of the planet in "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

Learn more »