Recent Stories | PostIndependent.com

Recent Stories in Opinion

Letter: A command from on high

November 17, 2018 — "Will no one rid me of this troublesome priest?" Those are the words attributed to England's King Henry II to his knights in 1170. That was interpreted to mean his majesty wanted them to murder Archbishop of Canterbury Thomas a' Becket, so they stuck him

Learn more »

Letter: What happened to a second opinion on health matters?

November 17, 2018 — The mayor of Glenwood Springs remembers when the South Canyon landfill was a total dump! So do I. This landfill has never been in better shape for the common resident at the most affordable price per load of any landfill in our region. The transformation

Learn more »

Hauser guest column: Gratitude, and a promise

November 16, 2018 — In the recent midterm election, history was made. Aside from all the attention on national and statewide matters, Colorado Mountain College became the largest special district in the history of the state to successfully "de-Gallagherize" its revenue. By a margin of more than 2-to-1 (71

Learn more »

Letter: Incumbents without term limits are self-indulgent

November 15, 2018 — I thank those who wrote me in as a candidate for one of the local offices and especially those who supported the governor-elect, attorney general, secretary of state and state treasurer.   For some incumbents who do not have term limits and think they are

Learn more »

Letter: Support means fire district can continue highest level of service

November 15, 2018 — We would like to take this opportunity to thank the citizens of Carbondale & Rural Fire Protection District for their support during the Nov. 6 election. We appreciate you taking the time to learn about our needs so we can continue to provide outstanding, sustainable

Learn more »

Beaton column: I Bird, Lime, Lyft and Spin, ‘cuz I was born to be wild

November 15, 2018 — Getchur your motor runnin', Head out on the highway, Lookin' for adventure, And whatever comes our way. — Steppenwolf, 1969 I'm so hip that I used kick scooters. You've seen them, the annoying little vehicles about the size of a skateboard with a motor in

Learn more »

Semro column: Good news, and bad news

November 14, 2018 — When it comes to the cost of health insurance there's good news and bad news. Historically, the largest premium increases for health insurance have been in the individual market, where coverage is purchased directly by an individual or family rather than through an employer. Coloradans

Learn more »

Letter: President doesn’t have power to dissolve national monuments

November 13, 2018 — I am adamant that the Bears Ears National Monument be restored to the full breadth and width given by President Obama's Proclamation 9558 on Dec. 28, 2016. Donald Trump's proclamation 9681 on Dec. 4 2017, has not been empowered by the Antiquities Act of 1906

Learn more »

DeFrates column: 73 failed, but we can still save Colorado’s schools

November 13, 2018 — For the last three months, I have taken my column away from serious politics, unable or unwilling to deal with the deaf shouting match that is politics. Midterms came and went, with their crescendo of opinions. And I originally planned to write about the use

Learn more »

Chacos column: A belief so strong it’s worth the sacrifice

November 12, 2018 — Championing a cause is rarely easy, popular and certainly never welcome with friends or family that don't agree with your ideology. The fastest way to alienate someone is to spew your thoughts about issues the current administration pontificates about weekly. Let's face it, staying quiet

Learn more »

Letter: Don’t mind paying for it

November 12, 2018 — I write this on Veterans Day. I cannot, as one man, fix our country, I can, and will be a voice, for that is what our nation was founded on. Be a voice, though one of reason. Discussion, not division, is far better than violence.

Learn more »

Letter: Shame

November 12, 2018 — My Dad was in World War I, in Germany. He served this country until his death. Many of us were looking forward to this 100-year anniversary of the war. At the worldwide ceremonies, our draft-dodging, nationalistic Trump embarrassed America and further degraded our honor. Here

Learn more »

Letter: Go see ‘Oliver!’

November 12, 2018 — After careful review of the situation, I'd like to offer a sincere job well done to all the company of the Defiance Community Players production of "Oliver!" The show was delightfully grim with several excellent performances including Watts Brooks (as Oliver), Hannah Feeney (the Artful

Learn more »

Fricke column: Counter-speculation, and a case for Sanders

November 11, 2018 — This is a response to syndicated columnist Peter Funt's "Onward to 2020; age, gender key for Democrats" (Nov. 8 Post Independent). I liked Funt's speculation as to whom Democrats should nominate for their presidential ticket in the 2020 election. I am going to speculate in

Learn more »

Parker column: Remember Khashoggi

November 10, 2018 — WASHINGTON — The midterm elections are finally over, more or less, and we got what we got – Donald Trump is still president. Sorry, but someone had to say it. Now, back to the cold realities of everyday life in the White House of Weird,

Learn more »

Letter: We must get political for animals

November 9, 2018 — Protecting the innocent is the purpose of law, and few are more innocent than animals. Yet our laws do not do nearly enough to safeguard animals from neglect and mistreatment, whether it's exporting horses for slaughter or pets' exposure to domestic abusers. You can help

Learn more »

Letter: Is nationalistic dogmatism the true measure of our virtue?

November 9, 2018 — I've been compelled to express my contempt to Mr. Beinstein's Nov. 6 column, ("A Lincolnian takes on nationalism") which I found to be patronizing and offensive. It begins with a sophism: Should members of the "establishment" (and we) revisit the nationalism of Abraham Lincoln, we

Learn more »

Reagan column: American politics and tragedy

November 9, 2018 — So what's the final score? Who won the midterm elections on Tuesday night? The D team or the R team? Let's see. The Democrats and the progressive left have got Nancy Pelosi back as Speaker of the House for two years. Maxine Waters is ready

Learn more »

Mulhall column: A wuff in Smurf clothing

November 8, 2018 — Nationally speaking, the blue wave that was supposed to be the 2018 midterm election turned out to be something like a bobble-head smurf nodding out the rear window of a Prius. Where state government races were concerned, midterms were significant. But in D.C., the midterm

Learn more »

Letter: Continue to work at grassroots level

November 8, 2018 — It makes me a little sad to see how many people are saying they are "relieved that all the election posts and coverage are finally over." We have great cause to celebrate as we've joined together, come out in force and created a more balanced

Learn more »