Recent Stories | PostIndependent.com

Recent Stories in Opinion

Letter: Diane, for public lands

May 27, 2018 — The value of public lands in Colorado was highlighted in an excellent article published Sunday, May 13, in the Montrose Daily Press. The fate of public lands, under debate for years, is one of the most important issues in the race for the 3rd Congressional

Learn more »

Letter: Diane, for gun laws

May 27, 2018 — I applaud Eric Seward for his call to action in his May 22 Aspen Times letter. Yes, in the face of such disgraceful inaction in Congress we must, "elect leaders who have the courage to stand up to the gun lobby and enact real, meaningful

Learn more »

Letter: Dismissal of the radicalized

May 27, 2018 — CIA Director Gina Haspel's acceptance of torture drew Dick Cheney to surface again. Cheney along with Don Rumsfeld and George Bush are the main architects of the insanely effective, self-stated, program to institute perpetual warfare. Torture and the policy of not dealing with the issues

Learn more »

Cepeda column: Don’t fall prey to forces trying to make us fear the ‘other’

May 26, 2018 — CHICAGO — The recent rash of videos showing white people lashing out against blacks and Hispanics isn't just because everyone is carrying around an internet-connected camera in their pocket. While there has always been plenty of racism in this country — including well-documented discrimination in

Learn more »

Letter: Straw man response to Rankin

May 26, 2018 — On May 10, Erwahon Schwartz wrote a letter and tried to assault charter schools and state school board member Rankin's praise for the state's charter school performance. Rankin was discussing research my organization conducted showing that Colorado's charter schools outpaced all 50 states in eighth

Learn more »

Letter: Fool’s errand

May 26, 2018 — What a deal Pat Hunter (PI-5/22) has for us gun owners. He won't ban guns outright, he'll just take our guns and lock them up and if we're really good, he might let us use them once in a while. Like I always say, a

Learn more »

Guest Opinion: Colorado nurses speak as advocates for all of us

May 25, 2018 — We trust nurses. When I say we, I mean a strong majority of all Americans polled said, for the 16th year in a row, that they rate nurses as the most trusted profession. Most of us know a nurse and most of us have had

Learn more »

Letter: How to fix legal corruption

May 25, 2018 — Billionaires and super-billionaires have the potential to swing races, and this year they are trying especially hard to do so, pouring hundreds of millions of dollars into Republican campaigns while super billionaires who control publishing and broadcasting and cable properties direct their far right spiels

Learn more »

Letter: Second Amendment, as intended

May 25, 2018 — I would like to thank Mr. Hunter for his letter headlined "Slaughterhouse U.S.A." I have never read a commentary more ignorant, bordering on moronic of the intentions of the authors and forgers of our Second Amendment.  "The laws that forbid the carrying of arms are

Learn more »

Toussaint column: A bigly blast of buzzwords

May 24, 2018 — In this column, I will be unpacking my thoughts on language and offering a few learnings predicated on a lifetime of work in the publishing vertical. For decades, we Americans have been pivoting away from perfectly good words and weaponizing others by disrupting their meanings

Learn more »

YouthZone column: Simplify your life and foster community relationships

May 24, 2018 — Tiny homes, flip phones and paid off loans. These are just a few of the staples that a minimalistic lifestyle has lauded in recent years. It's a shift in contemporary thinking, triggered by the 2008 financial collapse, a monetary renaissance if you will. People lost

Learn more »

Letter: Environmental leader

May 24, 2018 — I want to thank Sloan Shoemaker for his long-time leadership with the Wilderness Workshop in Carbondale. Shoemaker is retiring after 21 years of dedicated service to the Wilderness Workshop and the Roaring Fork's environmental community. Due to Sloan's leadership, the Wilderness Workshop grew into a

Learn more »

Letter: Proper context

May 24, 2018 — Lindsey Defrates, it isn't words we need, it's understanding context. Words don't get introduced into the language through want and need, but usage. Prefact as defined is actually a context contained in the broad understanding of the word fact. The word "fact" has differing meanings

Learn more »

McLean column: Remembering those who served, and have died

May 23, 2018 — Navy Chief Bill Milton died a few months ago at the age of 92. A hospital corpsman (pronounced core man, not corpse man), he was the first Super Chief E9 in the Navy. A few years ago Bill and I became friends, with a common

Learn more »

Letter: Words, in context, please

May 23, 2018 — This is in response to Gennessey Edwards opinion "Not a word game." President Trump's mention of "animals" did not refer to immigrants. He was answering a question about MS-13, and if you know nothing about them then I suggest you do your homework before stating

Learn more »

Letter: Won’t matter if quarry expands

May 23, 2018 — After reading the article on May 21 about a growing network of mountain bike trails between Glenwood Springs and New Castle, and what it would take to make it happen for the Chamber of Commerce, such as putting bike storage at local lodges so that

Learn more »

Letter: Kind police officer

May 23, 2018 — I am grateful. I was recently involved in a peculiar incident while checking into a Glenwood Springs hotel. Officer A.J. Hand, Glenwood Springs Police, responded. Officer Hand was professional, efficient and, most importantly, Officer Hand was kind. A difficult situation was quickly resolved. Glenwood is

Learn more »

Guest Opinion: Trump administration aims to take coal high-tech

May 22, 2018 — Coal is in the news again, thanks to the Trump administration. But this time there's a new wrinkle. The administration is aiming for a high-tech approach that could appeal to climate change activists looking to secure realistic reductions in carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions. The Department

Learn more »

Letter: Accident apology

May 22, 2018 — I am very sorry for the accident I caused on Highway 6 Tuesday afternoon (May 15). I'm beyond words that everyone made it out of the accident OK and alive. I should've been more aware of my surroundings. But I want everyone to know that,

Learn more »

Letter: Too many regs

May 22, 2018 — July 4th was intended to be a day to celebrate our freedom. Now it has come to a place where the only freedom is the government, at all levels, taking away our freedoms. Maybe we should fly the flag upside down and declare the 4th

Learn more »