Recent Stories | PostIndependent.com

Recent Stories in Opinion

Letter: Education stories deserve better play

September 24, 2018 — I'm so thankful we have numerous papers about local news in our valley, the Post Independent being one of those I enjoy reading. On Sept. 20, I was surprised that the downtown restroom location was on the front page when several other more impactful news

Learn more »

Cepeda column: War on Poverty is far from over for black and Hispanic children

September 24, 2018 — CHICAGO — A mere two months ago, President Trump's White House declared the War on Poverty "largely over and a success." The administration argued that few Americans are truly poor anymore — it estimated that the poverty rate was only about 3 percent — and

Learn more »

Letter: Bad reason to not register

September 23, 2018 — While helping register voters locally this year, I've run across a handful of people who decline to register because they believe doing so means that they will automatically be called for jury duty. In answer to the question "How was I chosen for jury service?"

Learn more »

Letter: Another for Bush

September 23, 2018 — I am writing about the Congressional race between Diane Mitsch Bush and Scott Tipton. I am voting for Ms. Bush for many reasons. First, we need to have a more balanced representation in Congress. Women need an advocate for their civil and financial rights. They

Learn more »

Letter: Need a new sheriff

September 23, 2018 — I would like to express my support for a new sheriff in Garfield County. The one that is currently serving, Sheriff Vallario, is obvious asleep at the wheel. His "1980s" mentality needs to be checked, along with his poor choices in deputies. Since a GED

Learn more »

Guest Opinion: Amendment 73 will increase teacher pay

September 23, 2018 — Teachers are at a breaking point, and, without being able to pay them a living wage, we are going to lose them at increasing rates. Consider this note from a teacher to her students, explaining why she took a personal day last spring to advocate

Learn more »

Letter: Guest columnist never mentions public health and safety

September 22, 2018 — In his Guest Opinion (Post Independent, Sept. 22), Jeff Cummings used over 500 words to describe his opposition to Proposition 112, the safer setback ballot issue, and, as is typical of the anti-112 faction, not one of those words refers to public health and safety,

Learn more »

Letter: Proposition would protect our health, safety and welfare

September 22, 2018 — What I learned touring a new drilling rig is that it only takes three men to operate the rig that runs 24-7, and four truck drivers to keep it stocked with water, pipe and cement. The three on site are an industry inspector and an

Learn more »

Essay: Hurricane in North Carolina brings a flood of memories

September 22, 2018 — The spouse teases that I am an ambulance chaser; the visiting adult child says, "You sure are watching a lot of hurricane coverage. It's all the same for hours." Yet I still want to, and at least once, defensive, I wait impatiently until they are

Learn more »

Sunday OpEd: Visit Mountain Family Tuesday for voter registration

September 22, 2018 — National Voter Registration Day is Tuesday, Sept. 25, this year. In 2016, the National Voter Registration Day drive registered 750,000 voters within all 50 states. National Voter Registration Day (https://nationalvoterregistrationday.org/) has been an annual event since 2012 and focuses on educating and registering voters on

Learn more »

Letter: Polis represents all the positive, important changes Western Colorado needs

September 21, 2018 — I write because I am very concerned about what is happening in Washington and about the general state of politics in our country. I am working as a volunteer for the Jared Polis campaign for governor because I need to do something. I can't sit

Learn more »

Letter: Opponents of Proposition 112 using fear-based advertising

September 21, 2018 — Have the ads airing on local news broadcasts about Proposition 112 frightened you? If a 2,500 foot setback is enacted would Colorado really lose an entire industry? Directional drilling in Texas has been successful at distances almost five times the proposed set-back in 112. While

Learn more »

Guest Opinion: Prop. 112 sets back much more than oil and gas industry

September 21, 2018 — You may wonder why the owner of a crane and trucking company would be so concerned about a ballot proposal that relates to setbacks in the oil and gas industry. The simple fact is that the ramifications of Proposition 112 go well beyond those companies,

Learn more »

Letter: Jankovsky out of touch on climate change

September 20, 2018 — Tom Jankovsky's trumpeting an opposition to ballot proposition 112 shows how out of touch he has become in our changing world. Proposition 112 is the setbacks for health measure, that gives occupied structures and water sources a 2,500-foot setback from the intensely industrial and toxic

Learn more »

Letter: Yard signs express support for candidates

September 20, 2018 — To whoever keeps stealing my political yard signs (three times now): shame on you! Part of what makes this country great is our ability to have and express our opinions. That includes putting up political yard signs or taking a knee during the national anthem.

Learn more »

Beaton column: The de-fanged and sickly poodle press

September 20, 2018 — Over 200 bigly newspapers, or at least what passes for that in today's world of belittled newspapers, assured us a few weeks ago in similar editorials against President Donald Trump published all on the same day that there is no collusion among them to take

Learn more »

Letter: What’s News? Not This

September 19, 2018 — News flash: In the Sept. 18 Post Independent, Alex Zorn reports the Garfield County commissioners signed a resolution opposing Proposition 112, the ballot issue establishing a 2,500-foot setback for oil and gas drilling and fracking for health and safety reasons. This is not news to

Learn more »

Carney Column: Phillip Lindsay a beacon for hard work, determination

September 19, 2018 — The Denver Broncos are off to a fast start at 2-0, thanks in large part to a rejuvenated offense and a stout defense, but the biggest story line coming out of Englewood 2 weeks in the 2018 regular season in the budding star power of

Learn more »

Semro column: Renewed concerns for people with pre-existing conditions

September 19, 2018 — If you buy your own health insurance and have a pre-existing condition, there's something you should know about. Republican Attorneys General in 20 states and the Trump administration's Justice Department are doing all they can through the federal court system to make sure that you'll

Learn more »

Letter: America’s weaknesses are bringing it down

September 18, 2018 — The America Donald Trump wants to make "Great Again" is precisely the America that needs to be put in the ash bins of history. Racism, industrial waste, economic and social elitism, the thirsts for wealth and power, and indifference to public education, health and well-being

Learn more »