Final election tally confirms area school board, Garfield County outcomes |

Final election tally confirms area school board, Garfield County outcomes

Re-2 Board of Education candidates, from the left, Seth McMillen, Katie Mackley, Kirk Wilson, Meriya Stickler, Tom Slappey, and Chris Miller during a pre-election forum in Rifle.
Kyle Mills/Citizen Telegram

Final ballot counts last week in the Nov. 5 odd-year election confirmed results in western Garfield County school board races and ballot measures.

Election results were to be given a final review by the county canvassing board on Wednesday before being certified as official.

The unofficial final results released Nov. 14 confirmed Tom Slappey and Kirk Wilson as the victors in the two contested races for seats on the Garfield Re-2 School Board.

Slappey carried the Director District A race over Seth McMillen by a 60% margin, while Wilson won the Director District B race over Chris Miller with 53% of the vote.

Uncontested for two other seats on the Rifle, Silt and New Castle-area school board were Katie Mackley and Meriya Stickler.

In the three-way race for two open seats on the District 16 (Parachute-Battlement Mesa) School Board, Lynn Shore and Britany Van Teylingen were the confirmed winners of the election, with 36% and 29.8% of the vote, respectively, to Diana Lawrence’s 29.1%.

Also confirmed was the positive outcome of District 16’s Ballot Question 4A, by a margin of 64% to 36% margin. The measure allows the school district to provide advanced services, including telecommunications and cable television, within the district, without raising additional taxes to do so.

Two ballot questions before New Castle town voters — Issue 2B (tobacco tax) and Issue 2C (property tax reauthorization) — also both passed, earning yes votes from 67% and 59% of the town electorate, respectively.

And, the Garfield County Library District mill levy (Issue 6A) increase, was approved countywide with 53% of the vote. The anticipated $4 million in new annual revenue generated by the 1.5 mill levy is to go toward restoring and expanding hours and services within the six-branch library system that stretches from Parachute to Carbondale.

West Garfield County election final results

Garfield Re-2 School Board Director A

Tom Slappey — 2,384 (60%)

Seth McMillen — 1,582 (40%)

Garfield Re-2 School Board Director B

Kirk Wilson — 2,080 (53%)

Chris Miller — 1,857 (47%)

District 16 School Board

Lynn Shore — 663 (36%)

Britany Van Teylingen — 548 (29.8%)

Diana Lawrence — 536 (29.1%)

Write-in 1 — 89 (5%)

Write-in 2 — 4 (0.2%)

Garfield Library District mill levy

Yes — 7,444 (53%)

No — 6,603 (47%)

New Castle tobacco tax

Yes — 794 (67%)

No — 397 (33%)

New Castle property tax renewal

Yes — 698 (59%)

No — 488 (41%)

School District 16 telecommunications

Yes — 863 (64%)

No — 483 (36%)

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


See more