Garfield Re-2 to swear in board members Monday |

Garfield Re-2 to swear in board members Monday

The Garfield Re-2 Board of Education will hold a special meeting Monday, Nov. 23, to swear in three new members elected earlier this month. The meeting will start at 8 a.m. at the district office, 839 Whiteriver Ave.

In the only contested race, voters elected to go with Tara Rumery to represent District D, which includes Silt and areas of unincorporated Garfield County to the south and to the east.

Jay Rickstrew, a former board member and president, and Jacquelyn Johnson will be sworn in along with Rumery. Rickstrew will represent District B encompassing east Rifle and the unincorporated area between Rifle and Silt, while Johnson will represent District C, which includes south Rifle.

Those three join directors Anne Guettler and Shirley Parks on the five-member board. The board will also consider organizational matters, such as selecting a president, vice president and treasurer.

The first regularly-scheduled meeting with the new board is slated for Dec. 8.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User