Garfield School District Re-2 honors teachers and staff |

Garfield School District Re-2 honors teachers and staff

Garfield School District Re-2 News Release
Special to the Citizen Telegram
Contributed Photo
Staff Photo |

On Thursday, May 29, Garfield School District Re-2 held its annual retirement and district celebration.

Six employees said goodbye to the district this year, including Dave Morgan from Coal Ridge High School, Carlene Morgan and Anita Esquibel from Kathryn Senor Elementary, Meg Morgan from Riverside Middle School, Karl Minter from Rifle High School and Vanessa Ivy from Rifle Middle School. In all, their service to the students of the district totaled 67 years.

The Clough Foundation honored one teacher from each building, nominated by their peers, as Teacher of the Year. Each winning teacher received $500 for use in their classroom or for professional development. Winners were: Shannon McKee from Highland Elementary, Deb Bolitho from Elk Creek Elementary, Victoria Miller from Kathryn Senor Elementary, Luke Novosad from Rifle Middle School, Heidi Hitch-Young from Riverside Middle School, Leah Wynveen from Coal Ridge High School, Ennyung Davis from Graham Mesa Elementary, Tracy Keesee from Cactus Valley Elementary, Anthony Alfini from Rifle High School and Carissa Nelson from Wamsley Elementary.

This year’s winners of the Classified Staff of the Year include Jessica Schoeppner from Highland Elementary, Lara Glueck from Elk Creek Elementary, Sandra Portela from Graham Mesa Elementary, Julie Chavez from Riverside Middle School, Deici Chairez from Coal Ridge High School, Sharon Donohoue from the district office, Jodi Steggall from transportation, Karren Valenteen from Cactus Valley Elementary, Ron Andrews from support services, Mandy Wells from Rifle High School, Toni Barrett from Wamsley Elementary, Jennifer Robinson from Rifle Middle School, and Julie Gavito from Kathryn Senor Elementary.

Safety awards are given to staff members who encourage safe behaviors and go above and beyond to assist students and staff in safe behaviors. This year’s winners include: Amy Lujan from Highland Elementary, Matt Rowe from Wamsley Elementary, Tim Martin from Kathryn Senor Elementary, Gabriela Eudave from Cactus Valley Elementary, Lynn Jasuits-Wilson from Elk Creek Elementary, Leslie Krick from Rifle Middle School, Andy Montoya from Riverside Middle School, Steven Fuller from Rifle High School, Deici Chairez from Coal Ridge High School, Sherry Babcock from nutrition services, Charles Griffiths from maintenance, Susan Steckel from transportation, Sam Leonardi from grounds, Kris Hostettler from Graham Mesa Elementary and Cathy Partain from the district office.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User