Rifle City Council candidate list firmed up this week | PostIndependent.com

Rifle City Council candidate list firmed up this week

Rifle is gearing up for City Council elections this fall with four of seven seats up for voters to fill. The candidate lineup was finalized this week.

Mayor Randy Winkler, who is term-limited, will be stepping down after eight years on council. Mayor Pro-tem Barbara Clifton’s seat is up after four years, and both Dana Wood and Theresa Hamilton’s seats are up after just two years.

This year’s six candidates include Helen Artist-Rogers, Brent A. Buss, Joe R. Carpenter and Sean Strode, with Clifton and Hamilton seeking re-election. Wood decided she didn’t have adequate time to continue serving on the council.

Based on a drawing from City Clerk Kristy Christensen, the candidates will appear on the ballot in this order: Strode, Hamilton, Buss, Clifton, Artist-Rogers and Carpenter.

2015 was an unusual year for Rifle council elections. The death of one council member and the move of another created a total of five vacated seats. In order to ensure that Rifle elections would continue to be held on odd years and that the total number of seats up would stay at three and four every other year, it was determined that three of the five seats up for re-election would be to four-year terms with the other two serving just two years.

In 2015, Annick Pruett, Joe Elliot, Ed Green, Hamilton and Wood were all elected, but because Pruett, Elliot and Green received the most votes, they were elected to four-year terms, while Hamilton and Wood were elected to two-year terms, completing the vacated seats’ terms.

Rifle City Council members are term-limited to serve two four-year terms consecutively, and, according to the Rifle Charter, council members who serve at least one half of a term will be considered to have served a full term in office, so if Hamilton were to win in September, after that four-year term she would reach her term limit.

Municipal elections will be held Sept. 12, and the four candidates receiving the most votes will be elected for four-year terms until September 2021.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User