Smith and Smith win titles at Rifle Creek golf tournament |

Smith and Smith win titles at Rifle Creek golf tournament


Following are results from the two-day, 36-hole Rifle Creek Labor Day Tournament, held Aug. 30 and 31 at Rifle Creek Golf Course.


Gross: 1. Kyler Smith; 2. Scott Sullivan; 3. Roger Walters. Net: 1. Michael Smith; 2. Kirk Blaszyk; 3. Cory Nolan; 4. Marc Caldwell.


Gross: 1. Tod Smith; 2. Doug Jones; 3. Scott Holland. Net: 1. (tie) Marc Barlau and Jeff Hauer; 3. Scott Marsh; 4. Ned Carey.


Gross: 1. Jim Grabe; 2. Scott Gordon; 3. Dave Jeffers; 4. Steve Stanek. Net: 1. (tie) Pat Hayes and Mike Higginbotham; 3. Keith Forney; 4. JR Wolff.


Gross: 1. Dustin Mannon; 2. Casey Bates; 3. Troy Mannon; 4. Bill Stewart. Net: 1. (tie) Mike Smith and Mike Stickler; 3. Red Woolley; 4. (tie) Al Wizer and Clint Chappell.


Gross: 1. Pat Antonelli; 2. Fred Frei; 3. Bob Dils; 4. (tie) Steve Jensen and David Suminski. Net: 1. Craig Teter; 2. Jay Denton; 3. (tie) Bob Hawkins and Jerry Ardueser.

Kyler Smith won the gross-scoring title in the championship flight and Michael Smith finished first in net scoring at the 50th-annual Rifle Creek Golf Course Labor Day Tournament, which took place Aug. 30-31.

Kyler Smith claimed the top flight’s title by carding a 1-over 73 on the first day and a 3-under 69 on the second. Michael Smith finished with a 74 on the first day and a 70 on the second day, but his net score dropped him to 72 and 68 for the tournament and give him the net-scoring championship.

Michael Smith earned his second big tournament victory of the year. Back in June, he won a four-hole playoff with Lamar Carlisle of Denver to win the Glenwood Open at Glenwood Springs Golf Course.

The Labor Day tournament, which has been going since 1964, drew 86 golfers from around Colorado for the two-day tournament.

Finishing behind Kyler Smith in the championship flight was Scott Sullifan, who finished second, and Roger Walters, who finished third.

Kirk Blaszyk finished second behind Michael Smith in the net scoring championship flight, with Cory Nolan finishing third and Marc Caldwell taking fourth.

Tod Smith finished first in the first flight, with Marc Barlau and Jeff Hauer finishing tied for first place in first-flight net scoring. In the second flight, Jim Grabe was the winner in gross scoring, with Pat Hayes and Mike Higginbotham tying for first place in net scoring.

The tournament also featured a Pro-Am tournament prior to the two-round stroke-play event. The winning team in the Pro-Am included Chance Semones, Jeb Savage, JR Wolff, Curtis Smith and Glen Sykes.

Second place went to Kyle Daniell, Brandyn Bair, Dave Kotz, John Elmer and Delwyn Fletcher.

Third place went to Jerrad Brown, Joe Elliott, Scott Bowman, Fred Frei and Eric Brown.

Daniell had the Pro-Am’s best score out of all professionals playing at the tournament with a score of 7-under 65.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User