Yankees win Colorado River Valley Minors league championship

Staff Report
Adam Booth of the Yankees makes contact with the ball in front of Beavers catcher Broderick Tollefson as Yankees coach Josh Wright looks on from the third-base coaching box during the Colorado River Valley Little League Minors title game on June 6 at Deerfield Park in Rifle. The Yankees went on to win the game, 12-0, to win the league championship.
Emily Hisel / COURTESY PHOTO |

In a tournament that had been delayed a week due to weather, five Colorado River Valley Little League teams competed for the league championship in the Minors division for kids 7 to 11 years old. Games of the double-elimination tournament began on Thursday night, June 4, continued after a slight rain delay on Friday night, and finished on Saturday at Deerfield Park in Rifle.

The Beavers team won their first game 8-7 against the Huskers on June 4. The Yankees team also won their first game that Thursday night, 13-8, against the Diamondbacks.

The Yankees continued winning against the Wolverines the following Friday night and against the Beavers on Saturday morning, earning them a place in the championship game. The Beavers rebounded from their loss to the Yankees earlier in the day Saturday to beat the Wolverines and earn their own ticket to the championship game.

In the title game, the Yankees pulled ahead of the Beavers early, and went on to win the 2015 championship 12-0.

Yankee coach Josh Wright said: “I could not be prouder of the bunch of kids who put 100 percent of themselves into the tournament. In every game they played as a team.”

Colorado River Valley Little League is made up of players from Rifle, Silt, New Castle, Meeker, Rangely, Craig and Parachute.

This week, the Majors (ages 10-12) end-of-season tournament will be held in Rifle and Silt with all seven Colorado River Valley teams.

Members of the winning Yankees squad included Kyler Truitt, Logan Gross, Colton Hale, Dakota Hale, Bryce Jackson, Robert Magnuson, Parker Miller, Wyatt Powers, Kyle Snyder, Josh Wright, Adam Booth, Levi Miller and Colton Smith. The coaches were Josh Wright, Matt Magnuson and Brandon Gross.

Beavers team members included Findlay Deming, Tyler Arnold, Skylar Browning, Jonathan Fitzgibbons, Spencer Gates, Ethan Quinn, Dayton Ridgeway, Elliot Steinacher, Ryan Sullivan, Porter Hossack and Zachary Simonsen.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.