3A players named to all WSL team | PostIndependent.com

3A players named to all WSL team

Kelley Cox Post Independent

CARBONDALE ” All four seniors on the Roaring Fork boys basketball team will exit their high school careers with honors, as three were selected to the Class 3A Western Slope All-League team and one received honorable mention.

Guards Matthias Weissl and Alex Hernandez, as well as post Torrey Udall were named to the WSL squad while Oscar Olvarado was handed honorable mention.

Junior Ram Walker Abrahamovich was also named to the honorable mention list.

Roaring Fork (19-7) went to its fifth straight state tournament this season despite breaking its four-year WSL, district and regional championships streak.

Coal Ridge was represented by two players on the all-league squad as both Alex Klein, a junior, and Andy Smedra, a sophomore, were selected. Smedra, who ran the point for Coal Ridge, was the only sophomore to make the team. Fellow Titans Evan Wagstrom, a junior, and Braxton Jackson, a senior, both received honorable mention.

The Titans finished the season with a 14-9 record and made it to regionals for the first time in its three-year history.

The Aspen boys, who finished fourth at the state tournament after winning the WSL, districts and regionals, took home top honors as Cory Parker was selected as the Senior of the Year and Steve Ketchum was awarded Coach of the Year.

Three area players earned spots on the All-WSL girls team in Roaring Fork seniors Celeste Comings and Rebecca Roeber as well as Coal Ridge junior Morgan Jessup.

Heather Seabald and Nikki Smeins, who are both seniors with the Rams, and Matraisa Beecraft and Kaitlin Moeller, who are both juniors with the Titans, all notched honorable mention selections.

Coal Ridge, which went 12-11 this year, finished with its first winning season and first regional playoff appearance in team history. The Rams went 10-5 and had their season cut short by Olathe who upset them in the first round of districts.

The Basalt girls, who were the only team to represent the WSL in the state tournament and won the consolation championship, also raked in the top nods with Katheryne Fitzpatrick being named Senior of the Year and Carolyn Compton getting Coach of the Year.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


See more