Bears, Demons place four each on all-conference team |

Bears, Demons place four each on all-conference team

The Rifle and Glenwood Springs high school football teams were both filled with seniors this season, and it showed on the field. The Bears won their first state football title in 31 years, and Glenwood made its first trip to the playoffs since 1990.It also showed when the Class 3A Western Slope all-conference teams were announced this week.The Demons and Bears each put four players on the first team, all of whom were seniors.A pair of Glenwood linebackers earned first-team honors in Jake Greer and Ryan Wycoff. Greer and Wycoff were also the team captains. Greer, who was a solid tight end on the offensive side of the ball, finished ranked fourth in Class 3A in tackles by RockyPreps with 148 total tackles (57 solo), 22 tackles for loss and five sacks. Wycoff, a guard on offense, was ranked 11th in 3A with 116 tackles and led the team with seven sacks.Teammates joining the two linebackers were lineman Marcos Muñoz and running back/defensive back Adam Vincent. Vincent was the Demons’ most potent offensive threat, leading the team in receiving with a per-catch average of more than 22 yards and a rushing average of 6.77 yards per carry.Rifle earned its state title with running and defense this season, and the all-conference selections followed suit. Running backs/linebackers Rocky Rauman and Casie Dunlap were both picked for the first team along with linemen Travis Jensen and Jeff Zimmerman.Rauman rushed for almost 1,200 yards and was also third on the team in tackles. Dunlap spent much of the season lead blocking for Rauman and was fifth on the team in tackles.Jensen and Zimmerman provided the push up front on the offensive side and could be found most games harassing opponents in the backfield on the defensive side of the ball.Rifle and Glenwood also had three players each capture honorable-mention accolades. Senior lineman Jess Beckius was joined by a pair of juniors in Jeremy Christner (running back/defensive back) and Matt Miller (running back/linebacker).all-conference: see page 21all-conference: from page 20Rifle seniors Kyle Sanderson (quarterback) and Zach LaCount (tight end/defensive end) also captured honorable-mention kudos. Junior Mitch Kosht (offensive line/linebacker) was the only non-senior from Rifle to earn individual postseason honors.League champion Palisade dominated the position awards. Senior Kyle Britton and Mike Coringrato were named back of the year and lineman of the year, respectively, and Todd Casebier was the coach of the year.Ryan Weber of Montezuma-Cortez was the special team player of the year.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User