Booth Memorial baseball tourney concludes; 4A All-Conference selections made |

Booth Memorial baseball tourney concludes; 4A All-Conference selections made

Glenwood Springs Demon Abner Mangeot slides to score at home during Monday's game against the Rifle Bears.
Chelsea Self / Post Independent

The annual Austin Booth Memorial Wood Bat Tournament took place in Rifle Thursday, Friday and Saturday, with high school teams from Rifle, Coal Ridge, Glenwood Springs, Battle Mountain, Fruita and Canon City participating.

Rifle won the tournament with a 4-0 record, defeating Canon City 11-1, Coal Ridge 10-3, Battle Mountain 13-3 and Fruita 6-4 Saturday night in what amounted to the championship game, coach Troy Phillips said.

“Fruita’s high school team was coming off a great high school season in which they were the No. 2 seeded team in the state tournament for 5A,” Phillips noted.

Austin Booth was a former Rifle player who died from complications as a result of the flu about 10 years ago. The tournament was named in his honor.

Day 1 scores: Glenwood Springs 10, Coal Ridge 3; Fruita 7, Glenwood Springs 1; Fruita 11, Battle Mountain 10 (8 innings); Rifle 11, Canon City 1

Day 2 scores: Glenwood Springs 10, Battle Mountain 2; Canon City 10, Fruita 7; Canon City 5, Coal Ridge 2; Rifle 10, Coal Ridge 3

Day 3 scores: Canon City 6, Glenwood Springs 2; Coal Ridge 8, Battle Mountain 6; Rifle 13, Battle Mountain 3; Rifle 6, Fruita 4

4A All-Conference picks

Also recently, the 4A Western Slope League coaches made their All-Conference selections, which included several Glenwood Springs and Rifle players.

First-team picks for the Demons included seniors Wheatley Nieslanik and Garrett Dollahan, and for the Bears were freshman Logan Gross and junior Trey Caldwell.

Honorable mention went to, for Glenwood: juniors Evan Heyl and Braxton Mims and sophomore Abner Mangeot; and for Rifle: juniors Gavin Peterson and Easton Phillips and sophomore Connor Abbott.

League Player of the Year was Elijah Morales from Battle Mountain; Pitcher of the Year was Cooper Narenkivicus from Palisade; and Coach of Year was Palisade’s Nate Porter.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.