Class 2A football: Rams, Titans earn all-league honors |

Class 2A football: Rams, Titans earn all-league honors


Back of the Year: Matt Hamilton, Sr., Moffat County

Lineman of the Year: Jake Levy, Sr., Basalt

Kicker/Punter of the Year: John Heaphy, Sr., Aspen.

Co-Coaches of the Year: Kyle Sager, Coal Ridge; Ryan Treice, Aspen.


Demetrius Parrish, Jr., Battle Mountain; Riley Owen, Sr., Battle Mountain; Sam Carlson, Sr., Battle Mountain; Chase Keep, Jr., Battle Mountain; Cas Sheridan, Sr., Battle Mountain; Noah Wescott-Shamis, Jr., Battke Mountain; Matthew Hamilton, Sr., Moffat County; Joe Camilletti, Sr., Moffat County; Stelios Peroulis, Jr., Moffat County; Shandon Hadley, Jr., Moffat County; Keenen Hildebrandt, Soph., Moffat County; Brett Lloyd, Jr., Moffat County; Alex Nakagawa, Sr., Basalt; Josue Vigil, Sr., Basalt; Richie Gurrerro, Sr., Basalt; Jake Levy, Sr., Basalt; Ross Hooker, Sr., Basalt; Jared Duran, Sr., Coal Ridge; Brandon Gray, Sr., Coal Ridge; Jesse Duplesys, Soph., Coal Ridge; Max Bettle, Sr., Coal Ridge; Ryan Fitgerald, Sr., Aspen; Evan Morris, Sr., Aspen; Harry Ferguson, Sr., Aspen; Nik Morgan, Jr., Aspen; Roy Benge, Sr., Roaring Fork; Conrado Dolores, Jr., Roaring Fork; Sergio Vega, Jr., Roaring Fork.


Windham Miller, Sr., Battle Mountain; Carlos Martinez, Sr., Battle Mountain; Wyatt Hardwood, Jr., Battle Mountain; Adam Jones, Sr., Battle Mountain; Josh Williams, Sr., Battle Mountain; Arturo Macia, Soph., Battle Mountain; Keith Smith, Sr., Moffat County; Kearn Gerber, Jr., Moffat County; Edward Smercina, Soph., Moffat County; Trevor Kuhn, Jr., Moffat County; Connor Scranton, Soph., Moffat County; Zane Shipman, Fr., Moffat County; Miles Levy, Soph., Basalt; Joel Huerta, Sr., Basalt; Ian Lumnden, Soph., Basalt; Collen White, Soph., Basalt; David Flores, Jr., Basalt; Tyler Sheerin, Sr., Coal Ridge; Colton Ellis, Sr., Coal Ridge; Zen Gross, Sr., Coal Ridge; Nathan Nelson, Jr., Coal Ridge; Wyatt Young, Sr., Aspen; Nick Cottrell, Sr., Aspen; Shea Strutz, Sr., Aspen; Tristan Niskanen, Jr., Aspen; Jake Ferlisi, Jr., Aspen; Eduardo Martinez, Sr., Roaring Fork; Tanner Spence, Sr., Roaring Fork; Aldo Pinela, Soph., Roaring Fork; Max Slack, Jr., Roaring Fork; Jake Rusby, Jr., Roaring Fork, Eduardo Martinez, Sr., Roaring Fork.

Note: Athletes are listed in the order of their respective team’s finish in the final standings.

Members of the Coal Ridge and Roaring Fork high school football teams were well represented when the Class 2A Western Slope League North all-league football team was released recently.

In all, both teams each had eight players who received all-league honors. The award winners were determined by the league’s coaches following the conclusion of the regular season, then released following the completion of the season by each team in the league.

Coal Ridge also had an individual award given to head coach Kyle Sager, who was named the league’s co-Coach of the Year with Aspen’s Ryan Treice following the Titans’ 4-5 season. Coal Ridge went winless in 2013, though it did earn a victory by forfeit against Grand Valley during the offseason.

Four members of Coal Ridge’s football team received first-team honors. Among them were senior running back Jared Duran, senior offensive and defensive lineman Brandon Gray, sophomore lineman Jesse Duplesys and senior linebacker/running back Max Bettle.

The Titans had four players — Tyler Sheerin, Colton Ellis, Zen Gross and Nathan Nelson — who were second-team award winners.

Roaring Fork, which finished the season with a 2-7 overall record, had three first-team recipients. Those included junior running back and linebacker Sergio Vega, junior wide receiver and defensive end Conrado Delores and senior wide receiver and kick returner Roy Benge. The other five Roaring Fork award winners — Tanner Spence, Jake Rusby, Max Slack, Aldo Pinela and Eduardo Martinez — were named to the second team.

Battle Mountain won the league championship in its first year in the league, thus earning the most all-league award winners. Moffat County earned the league’s automatic state playoff spot, however, since the Huskies were only able to qualify for the Class 3A state playoffs.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User