CRMS students win climbing events |

CRMS students win climbing events

Special to The Post Independent

CARBONDALE ” Colorado Rocky Mountain School students were literally climbing the walls the past couple of weekends ” and brought home some top climbing-competition finishes to show for it.

Two American Bouldering Series competitions were held Nov. 8 and 15, at Colorado Mountain College’s Spring Valley campus and at the Breckenridge Recreation Center, respectively.

At the CMC Bouldering Bash competition, climbers from young kids to adults such as Climbing Magazine founder Michael Kennedy competed. “Everyone competes against everyone,” CRMS climbing coach Dave Meyer said.

At Spring Valley, CRMS students Katie Brimm and Scott Pelton were the top finishers. Pelton won among advanced men and Brimm among all women. “The fact Katie and Scott won is awesome,” said Meyer. “There were some really good climbers there.”

Twenty-four of the 39 competitors at Spring Valley were either CRMS students or faculty.

At the Breckenridge Summit Series event, the competition was even more fierce. But the CRMS team held its own in both quality and quantity of climbers. More than a third of the 62 competitors were CRMS students and teachers.

Top finishers included Levi Landsman (2nd among advanced men) and Dylan Mace, Dustin Bowers and Nick Harris, who finished 1-2-3 among intermediate men. Lily Safford Smith and Halley Keating were the top women finishers from CRMS, taking 4th and 5th place among intermediate women.

CRMS Student and Faculty Results, Nov. 8, CMC Bouldering Bash

Men’s advanced ” 1, Scott Pelton. 3, Garett Bjorkman.

Women ” 1, Katie Brimm. 2, Jen Gee (CRMS faculty). 4, Lila Hemsell. 5, Dana Loebman (CRMS faculty). 6, Halley Keating. 7, Lily Safford Smith.

Men’s intermediate ” 3, Nick Forbes. 5, Dave Meyer (CRMS faculty). 7, Dustin Bowers. 8, Levi Landsman. 9, Dylan Mace. 10, Steve Spurr. 11, Spencer Schachter.

Men’s beginner ” 2, Nick Harris. 4, Andrew Maser. 5, Chris Sibley. 6, Ethan McVoy. 7, Anderson Currie. 8, Jason Fuller. 9, Colton Miller. 11, Jeff Price. 12, Seung Won Yum.

CRMS Student and Faculty Results, Nov. 15, Summit Series, Breckenridge Recreation Center

Men’s advanced ” 2, Levi Landsman. 9, Dave Meyer (CRMS faculty). 10, Chris Sellers. 11, Nick Forbes. 14, Garett Bjorkman.

Intermediate men ” 1, Dylan Mace. 2, Dustin Bowers. 3, Nick Harris. 6, Chris Sibley. 7, Ethan McVoy. 8, Anderson Currie. 9, Jason Fuller. 10, Seung Won Yum. 12, Jeff Price.

Intermediate women ” 4, Lily Safford Smith. 5, Halley Keating. 7, Tricia Harutun. 7, Katie Brimm. 10, Lila Hemsell.

Recreational men ” 6, Colton Miller. 8, Mark Wynne.

Recreational women ” 4, Jen Gee (CRMS faculty).

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.