Demons land 6 on 3A WSL football First Team |

Demons land 6 on 3A WSL football First Team

Glenwood senior running back Gavin Olson races around left tackle during a home game against the Summit Tigers at Stubler Memorial Field.
Chelsea Self / Post Independent

In the first year under head coach Pat Engle, the Glenwood Springs Demons’ football team saw an impressive six players land on the 3A Western Slope League’s First Team All-Conference list. Palisade led the league with seven, but Glenwood finished right behind the Bulldogs to pace the league’s postseason honors.

The Demons saw senior WR/S Wyatt Ewer, senior RB/LB Luke Gair, senior RB/S Miguel Herrera, junior OL/LB Kelton McPherson, senior RB/CB Gavin Olson, and senior OL/DL Alex Rodriguez earned First Team honors after Glenwood went 5-5 (4-1 3A WSL) on the season.

Olson led the Demons in rushing with 934 yards and nine touchdowns, adding eight catches for 91 yards and two scores. Gair rushed for 852 yards and 12 touchdowns, breaking the 100-yard mark three times, while Herrera added 147 rushing yards and two touchdowns. Ewer was the Demons’ leading receiver, hauling in eight passes for 166 yards and three touchdowns, including a long of 71 yards. McPherson and Rodriguez helped the Demons rush for 2,419 yards and 31 touchdowns, averaging 6.2 yards per carry.

Glenwood also saw junior QB/S Dylan Albright, junior FB/DL Elliot Dwyer-Walz, senior QB/WR/CB Max Lemkau, and senior FB/LB Joshua Sanchez earned second team honors.

Albright threw for 211 yards and four touchdowns on the season, while Lemkau threw for 285 yards and two touchdowns, adding 64 rushing yards and one touchdown on the ground, and five receptions for 77 yards through the air. Dwyer-Walz rushed for 197 yards and three touchdowns on the ground and added five receptions for 71 yards through the air, while Sanchez rushed for 73 yards and two touchdowns.

Battle Mountain head coach Jim Schuppler won the league’s Coach of the Year award, while Palisade swept the position awards as Cameron Tucker won the Back of the Year award, Carl Cox won the Lineman of the Year award, and Jason Bruce won the Special Teams Player of the Year award.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.