Four area players voted to all-league team |

Four area players voted to all-league team

They’re all on the same team. Now, if they could only play together.

That’s the image a fan is left with after reading the list of players named to the honorary 2001-2002 Class 4A girls all-Western Slope League basketball team.

Four area athletes, two from Glenwood Springs and two from Rifle High Schools were voted to the all-WSL squad in a recent vote by the league’s coaches prior to last weekend’s District 7 tournament in Grand Junction.

Earning first-team honors from Glenwood were forward Heather Hurt and point guard Kessie Schwanebeck, both seniors.

Hurt led the Demons in rebounding with a 6.4 per-game average. Schwanebeck averaged 7.5 points and was among the team’s leaders in assists.

Rifle’s all-league selections included senior guard Autumn Hedburg and junior forward Ashley Gavito.

Gavito was one of three underclassmen to be voted on the team.

Gavito led the Bears in scoring, with a 13.0 points-per-game average.

Hedburg was right behind her teammate, with a 12.6 per-game scoring average during the regular season.

The other two juniors earning all-league honors were “Player of the Year” Laurel Mortensen of Moffat County and Steamboat’s Bayli Stillwell.

Moffat County had their entire starting five voted to the all-league squad.

Joining Mortensen on the team were fellow starters Ashleigh Gregg, Jessica Norman, Amber Sanchez and Katie Telfer.

During the regular season, Moffat County went undefeated in league play, earning it the regular season title while going undefeated in 12 league games.

The Bulldogs complied a 17-1 overall record going into the district tournament.

That left a mark with the voters, who selected Craig Mortensen, the Bulldog coach, as the WSL’s “Coach of the Year.”

Cindy Dann and Kendra Nash of Palisade rounded out the 12-member squad.

Eleven additional players earned “Honorable Mention” status from the coaches.

That list included Natalie Lancaster and Jeri Polowchena of Glenwood, along Renee Morris and Krista Wagstrom of Rifle.

Others included Krista Kedrowski and Kati Russell from Battle Mountain, Jess Buchheim and Lacey Morfitt of Delta, Anya Allen and Emily Harris from Steamboat and Kalsey Harrington of Palisade.

The boys 4A All-Western Slope League team roster will appear in Thursday’s edition of the Glenwood Springs Post Independent.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Glenwood Springs and Garfield County make the Post Independent’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User