Glenwood lands several picks in 3A WSL All-Conference selections |

Glenwood lands several picks in 3A WSL All-Conference selections

Ten Glenwood Springs High School football players and their coach, Pat Engle, were honored in the Class 3A Western Slope League All-Conference selections announced this week.

Engle was bestowed with Coach of the Year honors in voting by fellow league coaches, after coaching the Demons back from a tough 0-5 start to finish 4-6 overall and take second place in the WSL at 4-1.

Earning First Team honors for the Demons were six seniors — fullback/defensive tackle Elliot Walz; nose guard/tight end Kelton McPherson; middle linebacker Tucker Porter; running back/cornerback JP Simpson; outside linebacker/fullback/wide receiver Thor Melby; and center/defensive end Spencer Cloud.

Four Glenwood players were also given honorable mention (see separate infobox).

A trio of players from the league champion Palisade Bulldogs swept player-of-the-year honors — Cam Tucker, Carl Cox and Ben Sargent.

Glenwood Springs, under second-year coach Engle, won four of its last five games in WSL play, after opening the season with losses to Harrison, Conifer, Holy Family, Roosevelt and 2A league champion Rifle.

3A WSL All-Conference football selections

Coach of the Year — Pat Engle, Glenwood Springs

Back of the Year — Cam Tucker, Palisade

Lineman of the Year — Carl Cox, Palisade

Special Teams Player of the Year — Ben Sargent, Palisade

First Team: Elliot Walz, Kelton McPherson, Tucker Porter, JP Simpson, Thor Melby and Spencer Cloud (Glenwood Springs); Matt Lee, Lisandro Aguilar, Tyler Morrison and Will Geiman (Eagle Valley); Spencer Goldberg and Anthony Sanchez (Battle Mountain); John Slowey and River King (Steamboat Springs); Cameron Kalaf and D. Gonzalez (Summit); Cam Tucker, Carl Cox, Brandon Goff, Logan Harris, Kevin Sjogren, Caden Sparks, Matt Wethington, Ben Sargent and Julio Rodriguez (Palisade)

Honorable Mention: Blake Nieslanik, Sam Fitzwilliams, Wheatly Nieslanik and Garrett Gollahan (Glenwood Springs); Abraham Garcia, Brian Garcia, Kodi Raper and George Smirl (Eagle Valley); Elijah Moralez and Kai Haggen (Battle Mountain); Jackson Beal, Cole Gedcon and Finn Russell (Steamboat Springs); Al Espinosa, Aiden Collins, Zayden Gerry and Jack Renner (Summit); Franklin Barks and Aaron Harris (Palisade)

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.